Thank You!

14 Feb

Hi everyone reading TKE blog.
As you’ve noticed, I’ve been away from blogging again.
I guess…it’s high time I finally stopped blogging.

When I went on hiatus last time, I noticed I needed a place where I could express my joy of writing, because at that time my job was to translate something technical and inhuman written in English into Japanese…So I returned to TKE. I needed human words and I needed to feel joy from writing. But since I changed jobs, I’ve experienced joy of translation into beautiful easy-to-read Japanese. Now the theme is not something technical but it’s about marketing, sales, management, leadership, investment…business, and I like that. I can learn these themes while translating them.

What happened is that I don’t feel like doing extra PC work after I come back from work. Translation work requires PC work all day long and all I want to do at home is stay away from computer as much as possible. Yet, I have many emails to reply to everyday. OK, that’s fine. But as to blogging…I think it’s finally incompatible.

I’ve never imagined the day will come like this when I say I will quit TKE forever. This is not a free blog. When I don’t update it frequently, it doesn’t earn from advertisement and thus it can’t afford hosting eventually. It’s not happening now, but I can easily imagine that. Sadly I don’t feel sad so much, which is because my interests are not for TKE any longer. I miss those days when I was a lot more enthusiastic about running TKE. But things change. My job or life changes as well. So I’d rather take it as a natural change.

The asset I made through TKE is definitely FRIENDS!
I wanted to write a post about visiting them on TKE but without waiting for such days, TKE may be closed down.
Too much PC work makes me tired. From now on, I’d continue email correspondences with some friends rather than exchanging comments with many readers.

I have no other choice. I want to focus on my translation work. I totally enjoy the process of creating and writing Japanese from what I get in English. I never experienced this before. Writing has always given a special experience to me since I was a kid. Now I feel something similar from translation when the script is something spoken by human not like a technical manual or something.

It doesn’t mean I close down TKE next morning or within this month. But in a few months, it’s possible.
(When TKE is closed, TKE email address is also disabled. And I have already closed my facebook and twitter accounts too. I may continue Youtube only but I’m not sure that either.)

Finally, thank you for reading TKE and allowing me to experience it.
It was a great experience! πŸ˜€
Keep in touch via email if you stay as my friend.

Love,
Kirin

38 Responses to “Thank You!”

  1. Sharon February 14, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Hi Kirin. I am a long time reader of your blog and really enjoy the insights you provide on Japan.
    I am sad to see you go but I wish you the best of luck. I hope you will consider starting another blog
    someday. I think your a very good writer. Thanks for all your hard work and effort into giving us a
    really good resource for Japanese culture.:)

    • kirin February 15, 2013 at 11:53 am #

      Thank you Sharon for having read TKE for a long time.
      I really enjoyed writing for TKE for the past few…4 years! For a moment I don't have any plan to start up a new blog but if I do, the theme will be something very different from Japanese culture. ^ ^;;

      I'd like to say thank you for all who have supported TKE as a loyal reader.
      I wish you the best of luck too!
      Kirin

  2. Patty February 14, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    I'm sad to see you quit the blog, because I really enjoy reading it. I learned alot in the past years, and enjoyed you taking the time and showing off Japan and Pi-chan. Wish you the best in the future!

    • kirin February 15, 2013 at 11:57 am #

      Hi Patty,
      You are also one of the long-time reader and I really appreciated your comments.
      It's nice to know the fact that some people enjoyed TKE. People found something from what I put my energy and soul into.
      I have something else now to put my energy in. What a great experience I had with TKE and its readers. You guys have been very nice to me, which is one of the main reasons I could continue it.

      Thank you again for following TKE, and all the best for you too!
      Kirin

  3. Maria February 14, 2013 at 6:48 pm #

    Aw, Kirin, your blog has been very valuable for me and other people who wanted to learn about Japanese culture, from a Japanese perspective. It's hard to find blogs written in English written by a Japanese person, and I appreciated everything you offered. If I may offer a suggestion, maybe in the future, you can put your old blog posts , (like copy/paste) to a free blog server? (Like Google's blogspot for example.) That way, even if you take down this site, at least people can see all the old posts? I find what you wrote very valuable, because for example if I needed to do an essay or something on Japanese culture, your one of the very few direct sources I could use to write about.

    • kirin February 15, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

      Thank you Maria for understanding the very point that what TKE makes it special about. It's a blog from a Japanese perspective. It was a uniqueness of TKE, but I no longer have time and energy to keep it unique.

      I found your suggestion interesting. Actually I've thought of that. It will for sure make me sad to see all my old posts gone. I'll think about that. Maybe on a free blog, I can keep TKE library, with no new post added though. :p

  4. Elle February 14, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Oh! this is really sad and the blog will be closed down too πŸ˜₯ But it's understandable. It's funny that when you are closing everything on internet, I started to blog more frequently and even use twitter… when I've never liked it before lol. But life is like this, like waves in the ocean, and when one needs to do something, that's unstoppable.

    Thanks for all what you have shared and even if we don't know each other, and I'm just a mere reader, I really appreciate what you shared of your world here in this space. Thanks so much for that!!.

    Love
    Elle

    PS: I'd really like to keep in contact, but your email will be disable?.

    • kirin February 15, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      Hi Elle,

      To have a contact with me, you can use the contact form (at the very top of the TKE blog, you'll see a link of "contact"). http://tokyokawaiietc.com/contact

      But it's an email address tied up with TKE, which means it goes useless when TKE is closed down. But if you are interested in, I could give you my free email address such as gmail after a while before TKE address goes invalid. πŸ˜‰

  5. XavierB February 15, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    It's sad to hear that you'll stop blogging, but I'm happy for you that you are enjoying your translation work. And it's absolutely understandable that you don't want to stare on a screen the entire day.

    Thank you for everything.

    For the next time (yeah, I'm a optimist ;-)) you should try a free blog hosting service like Blogger.

    • kirin February 15, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

      Hi XavierB,

      When I started TKE, I thought I'd want to switch to a self-hosted blog in the future if I used Blogger or something, because self-hosting blog has more freedom. When we start something, we normally don't think of the day of quitting…haha.
      But yes, if I ever feel like blogging again in the future, I will go for a free blog.

      I also think of the idea that Maria kindly suggested above. I mean to have a free blog that stores TKE posts.

      Thank you!

  6. cinnamon February 15, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    This is indeed a sad news. It has been a blog full of amazing and delicate insight to Japan, and being an adoring fan of the culture I have immensly enjoyed the blog and its amazing writer. I'm very sad to see it go, but I wish all the very best and thanks again for everything. I second to the hopes above you might give it a try some time in future!:)

    Arigato!

    Fan from Estonia.

    • kirin February 15, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      Hi cinnamon,

      Every time I read comment like yours, I feel that I made a big mistake but every time I come back from work, I feel there's no other way. 😦 My father says I like black and white too much, inflexibly with never settling down at gray, or something in-between.

      Anyway, I'm always just surprised at how my readers have been nice. I've been happy with TKE and its readers. I enjoyed writing and you enjoyed reading. We enjoyed communication via exchanging comments and emails.

      It was a great experience in my life.
      I thought I could continue this 10 years or so, but it's still before 5 years and this is happening.

      I'll miss TKE someday…when I think of "Oh, this is a great place to let my readers know"…you know I tend to think of TKE readers whenever I come across something that I may want to write about in TKE. But then I would feel "Oh no, no more TKE, no more readers, no need to report anything". I'm not sure if this makes me relieved or empty.

      Arigato for reading TKE and supporting what I did.
      I had a good time at TKE with wonderful readers like you.

      Love,
      Kirin

      • Maria February 18, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

        Hey Kirin, one more request; when you go and move the posts, would it be possibile to also
        save the comments? Alot of these old posts had good discussions too, and it'd be a shame for it to go.

  7. Sabina February 15, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    I have been reading your blog for a long time, even tough I haven't been commenting. I have really been enjoying your intersting posts about Japan and Japanese culture and it's sad that you now are going to stop blogging. However, I understand why you are doing it and I wish you the best. And if you decide to start blogging again in the future I'd love to read it! ^^

    • kirin February 18, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

      Thank you Sabina!
      I'm thinking of moving the TKE contents into Blogger or WordPress.com so at least I can leave my work online.
      Will announce it if I do that. πŸ™‚

  8. L.L February 15, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    Sorry to see your blog go as I have enjoyed reading it for a long time now.

    I wish you the best in everything. πŸ™‚

    • kirin February 18, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

      Thank you L.L!
      I wish you the best too! πŸ™‚

  9. Salma February 18, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    So sad when I've just read this update a few moments ago…again too late! 😦 Work has taken my time too!
    I'll miss you so much, but I wish I could find a means to keep in touch with you.
    I'll miss your updates so much, Kirin. ❀

    • kirin February 18, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

      Salma, I already consider you are my good friend from Egypt.
      Please email me so we can discuss more there. πŸ™‚

  10. Troo February 19, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Hi Kirin-san,

    Of course I'm sorry to hear this, but you absolutely must do what's right for you, and it's a hard decision to make.

    Perhaps TKE's guest bloggers could come together and build a blog in which you could participate as and when you would like to? Like a phoenix from the ashes, so to speak πŸ™‚

    If you do choose to move the content, I'd suggest WordPress.com, as Blogger isn't so easy to organise and let people find your content. WordPress.com would also import all your existing posts in full chronological order, preserve your tags and categories, and is very easy to use.

    A WordPress.com solution would also then allow the blog to continue with guest bloggers posting to it (perhaps you can control the blog and who is a guest blogger, but then simply leave the team to do the work themselves?). It could continue with the community who already love it being the ones to support it and take it forward?

    Regardless of what happens, thank you very much for producing such an excellent blog that I've been coming back to for years.

    • kirin February 21, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Hi Troo,

      Thank you for having read and commented to TKE for years. It's such an honor to know that my readers really enjoyed what TKE had to offer. It also allowed me to have a sort of confidence that I can entertain people even in English.^ ^;; TKE was a substantial blog that I have worked on for over 4 years. I thought I could do it decades but unfortunately or fortunately situations are changing at some points of one's life.

      Thank you for your suggestion about WordPress dot com. As this TKE is based on WordPress dot org, I think the structure may be similar and so it's easier to transfer to it. I'll check it out. (Such task itself will take me a long time. :p)

      Thank you for calling TKE an excellent blog. I feel quite complicated with mixed thoughts, but as you say, I absolutely must do what's right for me. ^__^

      • Troo February 21, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

        If you would like, I'd be more than happy to help with the migration. It's very easy, and doesn't take long at all πŸ™‚

      • kirin February 22, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

        Thank you for your kindness. I think I can ask my husband first as he is very good at computer stuff. ^ ^
        I guess this page tells me how to. ^ ^ http://en.support.wordpress.com/moving-a-blog/

      • Troo February 22, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

        Ah yes, I forgot that your hubby is great at this stuff! πŸ™‚

        That's exactly the page you need. Awesome *Hugs*.

  11. Tinny February 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    I completely understand your reasons, but am still so sad to see TKE go. I've spent lots and lots of fun moments reading this blog, thank you, Kirin for all of them! It's been many years of interesting updates.

    And if you ever come to Finland, feel free to contact me for travel tips πŸ™‚

    • kirin February 21, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      Thank you, Tinny.
      I have never ever had a chance to visit Finland…I want to play the kantele since I saw it for the first time…was it you that showed it to me via Youtube? I'm in love with kantele's sound. It was very impressive…

      "lots and lots of fun moments"….wow….Thank you! I'm truly happy to learn someone can feel fun from what I wrote.
      I think this experience with TKE has left me something intangible inside my heart.
      I still feel quite complicated every time I read a new comment to this post. ^ ^;;
      But I'm seriously considering to transfer the content to WordPress.com or some free blog structure.

      ^___^

      • Tinny February 21, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

        Yes, it was me ^ ^

        Your blog was very helpful many times when I was studying japanese. Not just the posts about language, but things about food, shops and everything, it helps to see what things look like in real life when you're studying new words and such. And with the tv programmes I used to check how much I could understand from regular spoken japanese.

        For some reason I also remember that mushroom song you posted a couple of years ago, some mornings I wake up and its playing in my head πŸ˜€

      • kirin February 22, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

        Oh it was you! If I ever have a chance to visit Finland, I'd love to join a kantele class. ^ ^
        I also asked my friend who had a chance to travel to Finland to buy me a kantele music CD but she was too busy to buy it. So I'm also thinking about that. I like to shop music CD in which local music is recorded, every time I travel to an unfamiliar country.

        Oh, the mushroom song! I even forgot it until you mentioned it. ^ ^;;
        Arigatou ^__^

  12. Jam @icoSnap February 27, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    Oh no, I do love reading your blog a lot. Like the commenters above, maybe a wordpress.com solution might wok?

    • kirin February 28, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

      Sorry, Jam. You were kind enough to offer a guest post. But yes, I hope I can migrate TKE to wordpress.com when I have some free time. ^ ^;

  13. brendan March 18, 2013 at 12:05 am #

    Well, I hope you will still reply. How do you get into the translation business.

    • kirin March 21, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

      While I was running TKE blog, I had many opportunities to receive translation job offers from those who were browsing TKE. I didn't go to any vocational school or something where I can specifically learn the translation skills and stuff, but now I say I had such and such specific experience of translation through TKE, I get translation jobs from recruiting agencies. That's how I get to do translation work. It's not something that I own a translation company where I have employees to do translation for my company. Is this answering your question?

  14. PeiQing March 25, 2013 at 5:03 am #

    Hi, I only discovered your website very recently, but I find it very interesting. It's sad that you are going to stop this permanently (I really hope not… but I also wish for you to enjoy what you do rather than do for the sake of doing). Whatever it is, I wish you the best of your efforts in other areas of life – may you find new fulfillments and joy!

    • kirin March 26, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

      Thank you!!! ^___^
      I'll probably transfer the content of TKE to a wordpress dot com in the near future. I have no idea when I can. I'm just too busy. ^ ^;;;

  15. Alberto April 12, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    こんにけは γγ‚Šγ‚“γ•γ‚“
    (I'm not sure, if I use さん with your name is correct or not… Just excuse my ignorance, but as far as I know, it is the respect suffix. Isn't it? Or should I use けゃん instead?)

    This is really bad news for us…

    But you should do whatever is better for you.
    I really enjoyed a lot TKE, reading your adventures, your food recipes, your Japanese classes, your Koto songs, and the bored face of your hubby when you both go shopping ^_^
    Oh… and also Apple's stories and travellings are so interesting and funny…

    I hope we can keep in touch via e-mail because even when I never met you in person I think you are a good and funny person, and I love to have friends like that πŸ˜€ I hope some day I can travel to Japan, which is one of my dreams!!!

    Also it makes me happy that you found a better job. That is a great new, so I'm not sad anymore… I hope to hear good news from you in time to time.

    I hope that thing with Kim Jong-un in North Korea is finished soon because I cannot sleep while knowing that anyone in Japan could be harmed due to that crazy guy. =/ I really worries and sad.

    Now it's time for me to go prepare lunch.
    Just give a kiss to ぴけゃん and a cookie to your hubby!!!! πŸ˜€

    I wish you the best!!!

    またね

    • kirin April 15, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      Hi Alberto,

      Thank you for your kind message!
      さん is more polite and けゃん is more friendly. In this case either ways are fine, but you can call me with けゃん. ^ ^

      Thank you for leaving comments to TKE so many times. We've exchanged comments so often. I'd miss those days.
      Now I'm trying to export this content to WordPress.com free blog, but file size is exceeding its maximum. lol

      North Korea has been threatening us and South Korean people as well as U.S this time. There are too much of worry in this country…There was another rather big earthquake (but nobody died) in Kansai the other day. 😦

      Pi-chan may seem to be ぴけゃん but I didn't know how to describe ぴーけゃん properly in English. It's like peace(ピース)γ€€instead of piss(ピス). Does this make sense? I wonder how in English I was supposed to make difference between ぴーけゃん(pronunciation is like peachan) and ぴけゃん(pichan). Never mind. lol

      Email me, we can keep in touch! ^ ^
      Kirin

  16. edith April 29, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    thank you very much for your blog, it was very interesting to read your posts.
    thank you.

  17. Alberto July 26, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    Hi there, just say hello. BTW I’m still alive hehe

    I hope to read more about you, Japan and everything that made TKE so amazing.
    How is it going with Apple? Is she still around? I miss her travels around Japan!!!

    Bye πŸ˜€

    P.S. OMG there it is so much hot here at Spain. If I don’t write you soon you will know that I melted!!!

Leave a Reply

