5 Reasons why I love shopping in Harajuku

24 Nov

This article is a contributed guest post by Jam of icoSnap.com; a cute travel blog around the world in search for cute places, food, events and more.

===Guest Post starts from here===

5 Reasons why I love shopping in Harajuku:

If you’re like me, Japanese pop culture obsessed then, there’s no reason that Harajuku is probably on your top places to go for shopping or maybe even visit. I have been in Harajuku probably 5 times since 2007. It is like the dreamland for all things Kawaii and there’s no doubt that it is the leading place for fashion in the future.

1. Clothes and accessories are unique. From the tulle dress skirts to polka-dot sarouel pants, when you buy clothes in Harajuku, most likely you’ll never see it anywhere else in the world (well, except if you wear it in Harajuku too).

2. Apparel and shoes are also cheap. Most items that you see other than the brand name stores like Liz Lisa, h.NAOTO, Angelic Pretty, etc. Side street shops are quite cheap you can get tops from 500 Yen and shoes from 1000 Yen – the quality is quite good too.

3. They have a huge Daiso – a 100 Yen (similar to Dollar store but better). They offer a wide variety of home goods, stationary, clothing, food, etc. A great place to buy souvenirs and gifts to your friends back at home.

4. The location is in the heart of Tokyo – it can be accessed easily in the Yamanote green line, its in between Shibuya and Yoyogi.

5. The fashion scene – youngsters dress in Lolita, Gyaru, Mori, Gothic, Punk, etc., in a way that expresses their personality. It brings out the spirit of shopping for uniqueness and individuality.

Have you been to Harajuku before? Let us know your experience.
===end of the post===

Kirin’s opinion:
Thank you Jam for your guest post. πŸ™‚ As for myself, it’s been a long time since I visited Harajuku last time. Yeah, I guess I can get something nice there, although I’m not dressing Gothic Lolita or punk or whatever unique. Actually I’ve been looking for some winter clothing but nothing looks intriguing to me. I checked out some shopping malls but nothing really looked appealing to me. I guess I could check out Harajuku. (Will post about it if I get something there!)^^

***If you are interested in writing a guest post, please feel free to contact Kirin. I’ll be open for the opportunity again. (Sorry I declined many offers during hiatus, because I wanted to avoid TKE being full of guest posts without my own posts.) The post must be unique, the theme must be related with Japan or Japanese culture, and it must be contributed to TKE for free in exchange for 1 back link to your website.***

7 Responses to “5 Reasons why I love shopping in Harajuku”

  1. Alberto November 24, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    I want to go to that place!!! In fact, when I go visit you and hubby some day that is the FIRST place I want to go!!!!

    I didn't know that place exists in Tokyo.

    After reading the post I was guessing what "Harajuku" is so I searched in Google, and the fourth result in Spanish google says (I translate to English):
    "Harajuku: the most extravagant and freak district in Tokyo"

    So after reading the post, I know it is true.
    I love that kind of districts or boulevards, always with a lot of people, with snack bars, restaurants and so much things to do and to see… Even when I don't go buy something to shops, only taking a walk is enough for me.

    Please Kirin go there and take some photos to show us and tell us about that great place in your beautiful city… pleaseeee

    There are so many things interesting in Japan and in a Japanese person's life that I would need my whole life to see and understand them all. :$

    Muchas gracias por enseñarnos todas esas cosas interesantes, Kirin!!!!! Eres la mejor!!!! πŸ˜€

    Un saludo a ti y a todos. Unas galletitas para tu marido y un abrazo para Pi-chan.

    P.S: The advertisement in the bottom part of the page says "Russian Caviar". Kirin, we are not so rich LoL
    P.S2: How about your Koto and your Kimono?

    Hell I was going to write you an email but now I ran out of time. πŸ˜₯
    Maybe tomorrow Sunday I have more time.

    • kirin November 25, 2012 at 1:11 am #

      Hi Alberto,

      Let me know when you come to Tokyo. I can invite you to our apartment so that we can have a Japanese dinner, you can play with Pi-chan, and you will have to talk with my hubby in Japanese. (lol)

      Thanks to Jam, a guest post writer, I'm also feeling like to visiting Harajuku and you also got to know such place exists in Tokyo. ^_^

      As for Koto and Kimono, no I have no time to enjoy them now, unfortunately. I wish to play koto again but I tend to prefer seeing my friends for chat or language exchange. Then there's always no time left for koto…

      • kirin November 25, 2012 at 1:20 am #

        Hola Alberto, gracias por tu mensaje en español. Aprendo una nueva palabra que es "enseñar". Es algo pequeño pero significa para mí. Poco a poco aprendo el idioma como éste.

        Tengo que ir ya. Voy a ver mi amiga. Sí otra amiga y no tengo tiempo para practicar koto, otra vez. ^ ^;;;;

  2. Kaja November 24, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    First, I'm so glad you're back!

    Wow, I opened that link and what I see? Prague! It's in my country.

    Thank you, Kirin! ^^

    • kirin November 25, 2012 at 1:22 am #

      Hi Kaja,

      Oh, you thank Jam, a guest writer of this post. Please take a deep look at her website as well. πŸ™‚
      BTW I've been to Prague 2 times and I loved it, too!!! ^___^

  3. Jam@icoSnap November 26, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    Hi Everyone! I'm glad you guys love the article. Harajuku is my favorite shopping place in the world – the trends are just so unique and I love the atmosphere, the young trendy vibe. And thank you Kirin for letting me do a guest post. I may do some more soon πŸ™‚ I didn't know you went to Prague too – its such a beautiful city… and the food is amazing.

    • kirin November 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

      Hi Jam,

      Thank you for your contribution! πŸ™‚
      Yes, I visited Prague several years ago….well for one time it was already 14 years ago and second time was like about 10 years ago…well…both seem to be long time ago, hahaha! ^ ^;;;;

Leave a Reply

