Pi-chan sleeping like a human :)

13 Nov

Of course, she didn’t go to sleep like this, my hubby did that. *giggle*

Finally I found some free time to write for TKE! Ideally speaking, I wanted to change some design of this blog but my free time is so limited that I can’t spare it for that. If I have 30 minutes, I’d prefer writing a post! I’m poor at technical stuff and some changes that seem to be not-a-big-deal to some people really are big deal to me. I can’t have time to do that, and I also don’t want to wait for writing until everything becomes better and perfect. So, forgive me for having to provide you poor user experience or irritation or boredom from same design and etc. I wish to change that a bit in New Year or something when I don’t have to work. (But no guarantee, tee hee :p)

Let me write some human words, which is totally different from what I’m writing at work. That’s what I’ve missed since I went on hiatus of TKE.
Anyway, many TKE readers have missed Pi-chan right? Many have asked if she’s doing well and that they look forward to a post about her. So my first post after a short break is about Pi-chan. I’m not sure how often I can write but there are some things that I want to write about. Kotsuban Makura diet is one of them. Many people asked me how to purchase it, and I have news to update about that. All that matters to me is that I have limited time. ^ ^;; This free time is finally created thanks to reduced working hours I asked at my work. I’m working 6 hours everyday now, but instead, I have to work either on Saturday or Sunday to cover my workload. But this is not going to be lasting as my work was supposed to be something temporary, but it just happened that I stayed there longer because I found some coworkers were really fun to work with after all. 😀

So while I’m working at an office, Pi-chan is playing with other dogs at a dog daycare just in front of our apartment. It costs about 40,000yen per month to have her taken care of at a daycare center from 9am to 6pm. (You see, that’s the main reason of my reduced working hours. I have to bring/pick up her while the daycare is open.) It’s even more expensive than a child care (lol) although it was discounted because Pi-chan is such a good customer to the daycare facility. (That has a VET and a grooming salon and a dog hotel as well. It’s a comprehensive place for dog. 🙂 ) This makes me feel much better when I can’t fully take care of her.

Pi-chan was at the mercy of whatever my husband did to her, because she was so tired from playing with other dogs all day long. There is a house dog run in the dog daycare, where Pi-chan can play with her friends. 😀

Now it’s high time I went to bed as well!
Good night (Oyasumi in Japanese) ^___^
Till next post!!
Kirin

19 Responses to “Pi-chan sleeping like a human :)”

  1. XavierB November 13, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    My parents' dog also likes to sleep on his back, preferable on their bed.. 🙂 He even snorts sometimes! 😄

    And with that, welcome back, Kirin. (I think it's official now. ;)) Glad to see, that this window into the quotidian Japanese live isn't closing.

    • kirin November 17, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      Haha, that's cute! ^_^

      Yes, this is official, although updates will not be so frequently as before. :p
      Thank you for reading TKE!

  2. winnie November 14, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Hi Kirin,
    Pi-chan is still as cute!! Miss her so much!
    I like all the pictures of her.

    Do take care and stay happy!

    • kirin November 17, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you for your comment. Today I spent most of my time with Pi-chan because I feel sorry not being able to stay with her during weekdays while I'm working. ^ ^;;

  3. Shimin November 14, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Welcome back! ^^

    I see you're much genki now! 😀

    Oyasuminasai~

    • kirin November 17, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

      Hi Shimin,

      Thank you. Yes, I'm genki but it's just that I'm busy~~~ ^ ^;;;;
      I have some things that I want to try and do, but they are not just compatible one another, so I'm having a hard time settling down myself with best decision. Oh this sounds a bit abstract?? Never mind, hehe :p

      Thank you for coming back to write a comment again. 😉

      • Shimin November 17, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

        You're welcome! ^^
        I hope you get to do them all!

        Lately I've been feeling this urge to go all out! 😄
        It's always wonderful to do what you want to do ^^

  4. PhilH November 14, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Hi, Kirin! I was glad to see a posting from you after your "short" break (it seemed long to me!). I don't think you should worry much about how TKE looks; I like it for your posts and I bet other readers would say the same. For me, it continues to be a very engaging and personal way to learn Japan and daily life there. So I look forward to more frequent posts in the future.

    Wow, Pi-chan is a very lucky dog getting to go to doggy day-care. The cost seems…well, pretty high to me. But I understand the desire to do whatever you can for your pet. After all, pets are family!

    • kirin November 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

      Yeah, dog daycare costs a bit too much even though it's already discounted. Also, I work less hours, which mean my salary is also reduced. haha! So my husband and I just had a talk this evening that it could be cheaper to have another dog to stay with Pi-chan so they should not feel lonely during a daytime.

      Another dog will require another vaccine, another monthly grooming (6500 yen) , another food, another flea control, and etc. everything goes double…yet it should be cheaper than daycare. Dogs are not used to being isolated from their pack. That's why we want to avoid letting Pi-chan completely alone for hours everyday.

      When we decided to live with her, I was working from home. Things have changed since then. (*~*)

  5. Magali November 15, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Welcome back !!! ❤

    I love Pi-Chan ! ^^

    • kirin November 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you Magali! ❤
      After all, I missed writing to TKE a lot~~~ ^ ^;;;;

  6. Apple November 19, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    Haha poor Pi-chan has to miss you for 6 hours a day now!

    You sound refreshed actually! That's great! ^^

    • kirin November 22, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

      Thank you Apple. ^ ^
      Pi-chan actually enjoys playing with other dogs in a dog run of the day care.
      Also she likes the staff working there. That makes me feel not guilty when I have to separate from her every morning. ^ ^;;

  7. Salma November 19, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Oh wow, Pi-chan! I miss her so much! ❤
    Dearest Kirin, I'm so glad that you'll be posting here again whenever you have time. And take your time in doing any changes in TKE design. Its design never makes me bored. I love it in all ways. 🙂
    I'm very happy that I saw your post now, although I noticed it too late again (I'm so sorry), but I'm living very sad days nowadays and your post made me cheerful. ^_^

    • kirin November 22, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

      Oh Salma, it's OK it's never too late to comment to any posts in TKE. ^ ^
      I hope you feel better with Pi-chan pictures.
      Cheer up and keep in touch with me. ^ ^

  8. Elle November 20, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Awww!!! Suuuuper super cute!!!. I shouldn't show those pics to my dogs 'cause as soon as they see that they would demand the same treatment!!! lol

    Many many kisses and hugs to Pi-chan! 🙂

    PS: I like the dog daycare idea, we don't have that one here… it's important, 'cause they get really sad and depressed when I leave them alone and I can't do my stuff without being so worried that something is happening at home when I'm away, but at least they are 4 and they keep company to each other and I always return with a little gift (food, something called 'empanadas' that are they favorite, I don't eat them 'cause I'm veggie so they take all lol I don't know the English translation for it but here I've found some recipes http://latinfood.about.com/od/appetizersandsnacks… ). The other option would be to hire a nanny but… I would probably be laughed at if I start looking for one. A friend of mine told me once that I'm like this with my dogs 'cause I don't have children… it's difficult to explain that it's not like that at all even if I have them I'd be just the same with the dogs, and even if they aren't humans they deserve, just like anyone else, to be treated well.

    • kirin November 22, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      Hi Elle,

      LOL Thank you for your comment. I liked that you said you shouldn't show those pics to your dogs. haha! 😀
      Over here, we can hire a dog sitter too but I feel day care is easier because they have a dog run inside the facility where all the other dogs are playing. Also I feel insecure about a sitter coming to our apartment while we are not there. In the dog daycare, the staff watch chemistry of each dog to avoid some accidents. Moreover, the day care is just in front of our apartment. That's pretty handy. ^ ^

      In your case, it's a relief that you have 4 dogs. If it's only 1, the dog would feel much stress, because they are used to living in groups. I thought of other option that is to have another dog besides Pi-chan, but not sure if I really do that. :p

  9. Alberto November 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Poor Pi-chan. ^ _ ^

    She is looking at you with a face like "Oh at last Kirin come and rescue me please"

    Saludos 😀

    • kirin November 28, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      😀 My husband likes to put her like that.

Leave a Reply

