TKE on hiatus…was it a bad idea?

28 Oct

Hey TKE readers! šŸ˜€
I don’t know if you are still following this blog since last post that notified you all the hiatus of blogging…:p
Anyway, as you may imagine, many TKE readers have contacted me via comment or email that it’s just so sad to see how TKE is going hiatus. At first I didn’t feel it was so sad, I was rather tired. So I had a kind of thought that I did all I wanted and it’s high time I forgot about outputting and simply relax myself.

Spending days without updating TKE was easy. I didn’t have to spare extra time and effort to write a new post, reply to emails and comments, and above all, pay attention to the topics for TKE everyday. However, at the same time, I was losing the opportunity to express my thoughts and feelings by sharing them with you on TKE. Writing has always been the best method for me to express myself. Even if the language is in English, and not in Japanese, I guess I still enjoyed it a lot.

Now I’m questioning myself: Is it really OK that I do without writing? Writing has always been one of the most exciting activities to me. Honestly speaking, I’ve missed writing experience since hiatus of TKE. I work as a translator and interpreter at work, and that was another factor that made me miss writing my own thought desperately. When it comes to translation, translating a technical bug report such as “press X button to display XXX” is so unhuman that I miss expressing human words and emotions. lol

I’m thinking and wondering between 2 options:

option 1) To come back to TKE with new type of posts that will be likely to be “product (book) review” and “my day” or “my thought” instead of the topics such as Learn Japanese, Japanese Foods or Kawaii Shop or whatever you see under the title banner.

option 2) To start up a new blog with the topics mentioned above.

In either way, my posts will be more like a personal diary or a record of book review or products review, although in the near future it may be mixed up with other tastes of posts as time passes.

I hope TKE readers are still available today. lol
BTW, sorry if you have not received my replies in email. I’ll never ignore them, but just needing time to get back to you. šŸ˜‰

LOVE
Kirin

20 Responses to “TKE on hiatus…was it a bad idea?”

  1. Shimin October 28, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    I'm always subscribed to TKE! ^^
    It's been an amazing journey following TKE, so no matter what choice you make, I'd still subscribe! ^^
    I think it's more important that you do what you feel like doing~
    I do understand the feeling of "having to update"!
    It's like, once in a while, you'd like to have a break or have a change?

  2. Jam@icoSnap October 28, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    Please keep it! I enjoy reading lots of helpful information about Kawaii – and wouldn't mind contributing too šŸ™‚

  3. jessycampos October 28, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    maybe it's time to change your blog theme and blend it with your new ideas?
    Don't go. TT_TT
    You're posts are so lovely and cheerful.

  4. shiva October 28, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Hi! I think TKE should be kept alive even though the topics would be new. TKE have been such a big help for me in many ways so it would be sad to see the end of it šŸ˜¦

  5. Sedonia Guillone October 28, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Hi Kirin – You should write what rises in you naturally to express. I would say not to put any feeling of "shoul" on yourself, as in, "I should just do TKE style posts" or "I should just do a more personal blog". Do both if you desire. I know that I've enjoyed both kinds of posts but I do tend to enjoy the more personal, thoughtful posts better because I feel like I'm getting to know you better (and I lvoe the posts about Pi=chan šŸ™‚ ) . I get the sense you enjoy sharing your thoughts and insights into your daily life and if that's true, definitely go for it! Whatever you do, I'll read and enjoy it. Love, Sedonia

    • Apple October 31, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      i agree with Sedonia!!! just do both Kirin! omg i'm so happy to read this post you can't imagine! haha! ^^ just write what you want!

  6. XavierB October 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Welcome back, Kirin!

    I hoped you would start blogging again, but I'm a little bit suprised that you changed your mind so quickly šŸ˜‰ Here are my 0,02 € for your blogging options:

    Option 1) The positive about it is that you already build a readership around your current blog. Moving to another one will always comes with a lost of some readers. (Although, if they aren't paying attention it's more their fault.) And new visitors will always have something to explore in your past articles.
    That your new approach doesn't get reflected in your blog's name is probably not that important. Ever heard of GOG? They started as Good Old Games, but now they are just GOG.com, to emphasize on their new approach. I believe that content is more important than a name.

    Option 2) New name, new design and a technical overhaul.
    My scriptblocker counts (with ads enabled) 108 scripts on this page, and some are still blocked. Maybe it would be a good time to analysize which elements on your blog are used actively by your readership and which ads programms do work. You could check if ads on your new blog are even necessary, making it more a tool for connecting with potential new customers, besides conveying your thoughts.
    By realeasing your new blog from this (probably unnessary) overhead you could make it load faster and make it more accessible for the new devices on the market (Android phones and tablets, the whole range of Apple's iOS devices).
    Maybe a simple, standard WordPress template could do the job, instead of this (heavily?) customized one.
    And please, if you need comment moderation system start with Disqus right away. Intensedebate never really worked without flaws in my case (neither with RSS nor with email).

    If you haven't guessed it by now, I prefer option 2… šŸ™‚

    But whatever your decision will be, I'm looking forward to your new articles! šŸ™‚

  7. Sabrina October 29, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    Yes I miss TKE. I think option 2 would be great and new šŸ™‚

  8. corey October 29, 2012 at 6:27 am #

    HI kirin, i have been a subscriber for awhile now, and enjoy all your posts, ( i especially loved the studio ghibi post) since im a huge fan). I completly understand how your feeling. I have a small blog, and it focuses on one main theme. And it was fun at the start, but after awhile, i started felling more like it was a chore then something enjoyable. I love blogging but i want to do a different topic. so i kind of did the same thing you did, and put a post saying how Im not stoping the blog i just need to rethink everything. I think blogs should be fun, and not something you dread, if you feel this is something you should/want to do then go ahead, i myself, and many other people would love to read what you write. your blog is a huge inspiration for me and i look foward to whatever you choose to do next :p

  9. Apple October 31, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Hi Kirin!!!

    As you can tell, I'm very excited and happy to see this post! I love reading anything you write about!!! Actually, to me, your personal thoughts and opinions about various things are the best! Yes, even thoughts about your life etc! You are a very talented writer, so I think you should continue writing!

    Anyway, I'd actually prefer you staying over here writing anything you want! But of course it's all up to you!

    I realise you have very loyal readers! Look at all these people leaving comments! Half of them leave their comments in almost every of your posts!! It's so nice! ^^

  10. kirin October 31, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    I will take time to read all your comments in this weekend and will make a decision about next blogging.
    Thank you for your suggestions and honest opinions.

    When I opened TKE, I thought I had to follow the proper way for successful blogging, even though I'm so poor at technical things. I guess it's true that there are many parts in this blog that need modification for better looking or usage. But I just don't know how to and I can't spare enough time for that.

    I thought of opening up a new simple blog from Blogger or something but I can't think of a good title.
    What I feel most possible is to change a title banner and some parts of this blog and add whatever I like to write on it.

    Anyway…I have to go to bed now :p
    Love you all,
    Kirin

    • XavierB October 31, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      Many times, when you are stuck or unsure about a design element of your blog, like the title for a new blog, you can just ask YOUR on-line community for suggestions šŸ™‚ Either with the help of a poll or by doing a little contest with small prices (and I mean cheap and small BUT original Japanese XD) This would also get the word out that you´re actively blogging again.

      The good thing about Blogger is that it comes with everything you will ever need: a wide variety of templates, comment management, free online storage for pictures, integration of many others Google services like Youtube, statistics about your visitors and Adsense integration.

      The very big downside is that they have started (and more or less completed) to bind all Google services to a singular Google account. As soon as you wish to start using Google+ they also would like to have your real name. If you are actively using the Adsense program there is no way of escape.

      WordPress.com has similar features and I would consider their mobile support superior to the one of blogger. And it has a better Twitter and Facebook integration. But should you use an external comment management like Disqus that wouldn't matter much.

      So it's down to your personal taste. I don't know the inner workings of your blog (you have soooo many external services added to it), but changing key parts of it (I'm not talking about the banner…) is probably as funny and time consuming like an operation on an open heart XD

  11. Runi November 1, 2012 at 2:55 am #

    I think for the sake of keeping things simple, just keep writing at TKE. That way old and new readers can just stay in one place. šŸ™‚ At least that is what I think. And you might want to write a cute japanese review or something now and then too.
    Good luck ā¤

  12. Elle November 1, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Yeah… I know how you feel. I've started many blogs and lost interest on many of them over the years. But the urge to express myself somehow, someway it's always there… it's something extremely important to me even if nobody reads me lol. I'm not fond of FB, twitter and etc. either… they are too impersonal and I'm the sort of person that treasure each interaction (although I've recently opened a twitter account just to subscribe to some few stuff I'm interested nothing else, it's hard for me to use it lol).

    So… take this as an exploration. I guess you may open a new blog and somehow merge both of them by linking both or include a new section here which it'd be easier 'cause starting from zero consumes a lot of time and energy and you already have a good platform here, just need to fix tiny things to make it more flexible to your needs and add the new parts you feel like exploring. It's good to have different options 'cause we're not the same all the time… sometimes we have the urge to talk about or express different things in a different manner.

    Either way, whatever you choose (and I hope you choose to keep writing šŸ˜€ please please! ), I'll be reading you.

    Thank you! šŸ™‚

  13. Salma November 6, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Oh, dearest Kirin šŸ™‚
    I'm so sorry for noticing your post TOO LATE!
    I admit forgetting to check your blog for a while until a few moments ago when you and TKE came into my mind and decided to check your blog. All happened by chance!
    I love TKE so much! ā¤
    But…I'm confused whether to choose (1) or (2). O_o
    Whatever you choose to do, do what you find suitable.
    What matters for me is not making a new blog or continuing in TKE, what matters is that I miss is YOUR posts! They always make my day.
    Take care with best regard & wishes ^_^

  14. Alberto November 11, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    Damn, I didn't noticed this new post before… I was missing TKE a lot.

    I'm not Japanese, but I think I need to give you a lesson (don't get angry it's just a saying):

    I would follow your blog and your writings because I'm fascinated about Japanese day-to-day life. I find more kawaii those posts about the Onsen you went XXXXX day, about your daylife in Hiroshima with your hubby and about the Tofu street vendor you met that day and all that kind of posts that are mostly Japanese-exclusive. And reading about you, your daily life and your thoughts and problems is so nice and interesting and I would read them all… if my days were 50 hours instead 24 Because there are so much kawaii things in your life…

    I can't really say you which option to choose 1) or 2). It would be very hard for me to choose. I couldn't really give you an answer I'm sorry. :$
    Just choose what you really want and desire. Every follower of TKE will follow you to whatever place you go or will support any of your decisions because we are not TKE followers, we are Kirin's followers (and Pichan followers too) šŸ˜€

    How is Pichan? And Kirin's hubby?

    P.S. Yes, yes, I shaved my beard after preparing the Filloas ^_^
    P.S.2. I understand what you feel in your work. I worked some years ago as telephonist for a technical service. It' was so inhuman and boring that I really needed to talk a lot with friends or any other person… Just keep going, you have a job and a great family and followers that will support you for ever!!!!

  15. Tinny November 13, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    I'm glad to see you back, Kirin!

    The blog is already called Tokyo Kawaii etc, so basically, anything you want could be the "et cetera" part šŸ˜€ Your posts are always interesting, no matter how closely they relate to kawaii (or don't relate to it), so I would not mind seeing the focus of the blog shifting towards something else. Therefore, I vote option 1 (even though I am very late in writing this…)

  16. kirin November 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Yay, I've got more comments! šŸ˜€ Thank you for your sweet comments. ā¤ ā¤ ā¤
    I'm always thinking about TKE. I wanted to change design a bit but time is so limited. Some readers may find it boring if I didn't change design but when time is limited, most important thing for me is to WRITE UP A POST anyway! Right?????

  17. Pao November 16, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Hi Kirin.
    You're back! Yaaay!!! …. please keep TKE. Just write about whatever you want… šŸ™‚ Keep it! Keep it!! ^^

  18. omi November 20, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Yay! im so happy , i really enjoy all your posts, even the ones about your own personal thoughts!
    i think everyone does because your such a good person! šŸ™‚ i choose option !
    ganbatte tke!

Leave a Reply

