Kurashiki Bikan-Chiku historical area

3 Aug

My husband and I’m back from the trip and I finally start writing a blogpost about my trip to Okayama and Hiroshima! 😀
It was actually a little bit disappointing to see how the local people (Japanese people) reacted to hear that I was going to Okayama and Hiroshima, as most of them probably prefer visiting Hokkaido or Okinawa, if they don’t go abroad. But I have so many locations in my own country that I have never visited in my life, and it’s not a bad idea at all to visit such places no matter how uncool they are. ^ ^;;

Anyway…these are the pictures taken at Kurashiki historical area.
It’s 300yen to ride on a gondola styled boat on Kurashiki river. You can reserve your boat and buy your ticket at Kurashiki Kankou Annaijo, the building that is facing the gondola starting point across the river (canal).


It’s so tranquil and peaceful to have a ride on this small river. I think canal is more appropriate to describe such a small river. Anyway, it’s called Kurashiki river.

Some of the readers may need extra time to download some big photos, so I’ll downsize pictures…sorry!

I also took a video from the boat. ^ ^

It was good the weather had been so good while we were travelling in 10 days, although it was very hot everyday.

Some cafes…we didn’t have a chance to rest there, though.

A real estate agency with its appearances being suited for the area. I wanted to go in to check the interior but somehow there was a heavy air that didn’t seem to allow us to open the sliding door for no actual need of searching a land or property to buy, rent or invest. lol

There is a backpacker hostel in the area so you can stay in this house at a reasonable price. (3500yen per person for a shared dorm room)

I will never forget about finding something kawaii while travelling. ^ ^ I found a chopsticks store that had many different chopsticks and kawaii chopstick rests. Being more practical myself, I don’t shop chopsticks that can’t be washed in a dish washer, there were nothing I could buy from a store like this.

I personally found it so kawaii…It’s a Tai (sea bream) shaped chopstick rest that costs 1470yen. Well…I don’t feel like paying as much as 1500yen for a tiny chopstick rest though. :p

Some more nice and cute chopstick rests…250yen is reasonable.

These chopstick rests look like Japanese sweets (wagashi). ^ ^ I thought each was priced at 300yen or so. Sounds good. I should’ve purchased some of them as a souvenir. Sometimes I feel satisfied with taking pictures and completely forget about shopping. lol

It’s so hot and fatiguing to walk around in the sun. We needed to rest for early dinner. We settled in Tsuneya, an Izakaya in the Bikan-Chiku historical area.

There was a Japanese garden seen from the connecting room that is open for a group for their private use. I thought it’d be great if I can eat and drink in the private room with close friends watching the Japanese garden being lighted up nicely…I only knew that there was a small Japanese garden when I had to go to a washroom outside the building. It was kind of embarrassing to cross the small garden in front of the group of people in the private room to go to a toilet. haha!

We’ve wanted to try this fish called Mamakari in Okayama, as it’s so local and unique there. This is a pickled raw Mamakari fish. (I don’t know Mamakari’s English name.) People call this fish Mamakari because they feel like asking for more rice (mama = manma meaning rice, kari meaning kariru = to borrow) because the fish tastes so good, according to what I read. The raw Mamakari fish dish was great but I didn’t think it makes me feel like craving for more rice. It rather makes me crave for more alcohol. lol

We also tried a baked and pickled Mamakari dish, and then I got the feeling of craving for more rice! lol

Both dishes tasted great and I wish we can have them in Tokyo as casually as we did in Okayama…
It was already dark outside when we finished dinner and so we enjoyed strolling in the Bikan-Chiku historical area. (To tell you the truth, we were waiting for getting darker as we wanted to see some night view. :p )

Actually this is the building in which we bought the boat tickets.

It was quiet but safe to walk around the area in the evening. 🙂

Some people were walking a dog, some people were strolling and tourists like us were still taking pictures. ^ ^;; It was a relaxing evening, but the photos I took are not as good as what I’ve seen there, as you can imagine. :p But I hope you enjoy reading part of my journey!

I’ll continue to write more posts on my trip to Okayama and Hiroshima.
Stay tuned!

Kirin 😀

19 Responses to “Kurashiki Bikan-Chiku historical area”

  1. Magali August 3, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Hello Kirin ! The photos are beautiful ! And the boat trip looks to be wonderful. it makes me want ! kiss ❤

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 4:44 am #

      Hi Magali,

      Thank you! I hope you also had a nice trip. ^ ^

  2. Frida August 3, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Hi Kirin!
    Your posts are always very interesting! I loved this one about your holidays!
    Each time I read you, I think how much I love Japan and how much I miss it!
    I hope my "finances" can soon allow me to come back for holiday! 🙂
    In the meanwhile, I keep dreaming …reading TWE!

  3. Salma August 3, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Welcome back, dear Kirin 🙂
    I hope you enjoyed your trip to Okayama & Hiroshima.
    The photos are great, and they really made my day. I also loved the kawaii candy and chopsticks. ^_^
    It's interesting to know more about places in Okayama because I have never been to there. 😉

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 4:53 am #

      Hi Salma,

      Okayama may not be so popular as Kyoto or Hiroshima but I saw some foreign tourists there too. Ah, those look like candy are actually chopstick rests on which we place chopsticks. ^ ^;; I finally got a chance to visit Hiroshima this time.

      My father used to live in Okayama by himself as he was transferred from the company he was working. (In Japan, it's not rare to have a father transferred alone without his whole family) I was sad seeing him going back to Okayama after he spent weekends with his family, but I once visited him in Okayama when I was 11 or 12. Since then I've never returned there but I enjoyed this trip with my husband this time.

      It's 3 hours by Shinkansen (bullet train) and 1.5 hours by air from Tokyo or Yokohama to Okayama. Not so far. ^ ^

  4. sedonia2 August 3, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    What a beautiful spot. Looks like time practically stood still there. I expected to see samurai walking around. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 4:54 am #

      "Time practically stood still there"…exactly! ^_^
      It was quite nice to walk around the area in the evening when it's not too hot any more.

  5. thimbledore August 3, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Kirin, these pictures are so wonderful! That lovely gondola~ ❤ I really want to visit Okayama now.

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 4:55 am #

      Thank you! ^_^

  6. Cath August 4, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Hello Kirin! It's been so long since I came to your blog! I'm so sorry that I couldn't meet you in June. The trip was really exhausting and half the time, everyone just felt like killing each other! Hahaha… I'm glad you went on a holiday within your own lovely country. Sounds like a wonderful 'honeymoon' to me! My friend (a Singaporean) taught in Hiroshima for two years!

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 5:01 am #

      Hi Cath,

      I knew you were going to come to Japan then but I also started to work on full-time and that job even required me to come on Saturday or Sunday so I couldn't fix my schedule either.

      Sometimes it could be more expensive to travel inside Japan than to travel to other countries in Asia, which is one of the reasons I've avoided travelling inside my own country. But on the other hand I thought I wished to explore more different parts of my own country and so my husband and I decided to go to Okayama and Hiroshima this summer. ^ ^

      Please let me know next time if you are coming to Japan, I don't know if I'm available or not but it'd be nice to see you in person again. ^ ^

  7. archinida August 4, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I want those chopstick too

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 5:02 am #

      You mean the chopstick rests? There were many more of them…I should've purchased some as a souvenir for TKE readers. >__<

  8. Walter August 4, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    Hello Kirin. Thank you so much for sharing this ! Okayama looks like a very nice place to visit. The video makes me feel like I'm there ^^ . Nice night time pictures too ! The mamakari looks very much like small sardines . Very tasty !

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 5:09 am #

      Hi Walter,

      Thank you for your comment. I'm back. ^ ^ This place in Okayama (Kurashiki) is so relaxing and peaceful. I'm sure you'll love this place too. Mamakari is like small sardine, exactly! But it didn't smell as much as sardine. I may ask my husband to make pickled sardine to make it taste like the pickled mamakari we enjoyed in Okayama. lol

      He enjoys cooking much more than I do. ^ ^;;

  9. Apple August 6, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    I really enjoyed reading this Kirin! Okayama looks relaxing and interesting and I really want to eat that fish! haha!

    • kirin August 6, 2012 at 3:10 am #

      Hi Apple!

      Thank you for reading this post. There should be so many wonderful places in Japan that are worth visited. ^ ^

  10. Lore August 7, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    It's looks beautiful and peaceful place also it looks like if you had traveled to the past hahaha.
    I wonder if there wasn't risk of fall into the river at the night Oo.
    Last week I was on holiday and I went to visit my family in The Canary Islands ^^

    • kirin August 8, 2012 at 1:23 am #

      Haha, if you were not badly drunk, while walking on the very edge of the river you would be OK.
      ^ ^;; My husband and I was unable to go to Spain in this year, because we didn't save enough money. -_-
      Good to hear that you had your holiday there!

Leave a Reply

