Daichu -Asian zakka + panda goods?!-

21 Jul

Asian zakka shop
Daichu (大中)
store locations: several locations in Kanto, 1 shop in Niigata, 3 shops in Kinki and Tokai, and 1 shop in Kyushu.
(The pictures for this post were taken at the store in Kawasaki atre.)

The other day after work, I found such kawaii panda goods sold at Daichu. Daichu is a shop that basically sells Asian zakka. It was a bit surprising to find them selling so many panda goods there. Speaking of panda however, Shin Shin, the giant panda at Ueno zoo just got a baby sometime ago but unfortunately the baby died only on the 6th day. I have no idea if the Shin Shin’s delivering her baby had anything to do with so many panda zakka. Or, they sell panda goods all the time because panda is from China and it’s an Asican zakka store and it’s natural they have Chinese themed goods…

Whatever…I found they are so cute! 🙂


BTW, Pi-chan looks like a little panda dog to me. ^ ^;; Don’t you think so??

mini panda towels

so cute! ❤ Writing this now, I wonder why I didn't buy anything there. I was only thinking of writing this post then. lol

panda band-aids

What’s this? Clothes pegs?

Some strawberry goods too, but panda goods are much more kawaii to me. :p

Lately Kobito Zukan (Kobito Dukan) seems to be popular, although I personally don’t think it’s kawaii at all…It’s rather kimo kawaii, if I should consider them cute, but otherwise it’s simply ugly to me. Anyway, there were some character goods in the Daichu, unexpectedly.

Speaking of Asian zakka, Uchu Hyakka (宇宙百貨) was also very popular, and I was also going to refer to the shop at the end of the post. However I just learned that they closed down all the stores in 2010! (So no link to their website.) Uchu Hyakka was one of the zakka shops I frequented when I was a teenager. It’s kind of sad they are no longer available…

From next post, I’ll be writing about my trip to Okayama and Hiroshima. Stay tuned! 😀

12 Responses to “Daichu -Asian zakka + panda goods?!-”

  1. Lisa July 22, 2012 at 3:00 am #

    Yes, your little dog looks like a cute baby panda!

  2. Rozen July 22, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Oh my god, there is too much cuteness in this shop ! ><
    I love pandas, they are so beautiful! So cute when they're eating. Kyaaa!!
    There's a red panda at the Jardin des Plantes which is near my university. My friend and I would sometimes visit him during lunch discreetly but most of the time, he's only sleeping! (and we can't even see him well from the outside because of all the vegetation around :D)

    Poor Shin Shin ;_; I hope she's recovering well. Do you know why the baby died?
    RIP baby panda.

    And what does Zakka mean? ^^'

    • kirin August 2, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      I hear the baby panda died of pneumonia, which is not rare. But it's a shame. It was only a few days ago that we got excited about the birth of the baby panda, and so it was so very shocking to hear that it died so soon. (T_T)

      About the term zakka, it means general goods. ^ ^;; Sorry I should've explained it in the post.

  3. Alberto July 22, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Oh! this kind of markets, or shops, if you prefer… There are plenty of them here. 99% of them lead by chinese people. We don't call them "zakka" of course. We call them "los chinos" (the chinese in english, plural), because as I told, they are lead by chinese.
    They are basically full of weird things with low quality matherials. I can't say if this zakka you show us is the same, but they look here exactly like in your images: stands full of "useless" things, without any apparent order and a thin layer of dust over the boxes. Of course, price is as low as the object quality LoL
    There is one near my house, 10 or 15 minutes walking, that is basically a huge industrial warehouse. I'm sure you will find kawaii things there. It's called "MerkAsia" (Merk comes from market, or from galician word "mercar", that means "to buy")
    Here people usually says: "Hey, i need to buy a …….., but i think it's so expensive…". Then a friend says "Did you look in a chinese shop?".

    But in your third image, that "Panda Burger" thing (what's it?) looks so kawaii. It pulled me a smile when I saw it. ^_^ I want one of those!!!

    Pi-Chan like a minipanda? Uhmmm Yeah, almost, but she still needs black ears and legs.
    As far as I know, pandas are quite lazy animals, but i guess what's more lazy: Pi-chan panda dog or her owner, lying in that sofa with that blue-striped piyama letting Pi-chan to gnaw i-don't-know-what. Hahaha (It's a joke, don't get angry, we all know you work a lot :D)

    Matane!!

    • kirin August 2, 2012 at 6:26 am #

      lol

      I guess nowadays most of the zakka are made in China, but designed or planned in Japan, when they are sold in Japan. Some are in poor quality but not all of them. I believe our zakka (should I call it las japonesas in this case?) is not so bad. :p

  4. Christine July 23, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    Cuteness overload!! 😀

  5. Angel July 24, 2012 at 1:35 am #

    This shop is adorable!!! I want to go! I love that strawberry stuff!! ❤

  6. winnie July 24, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    Hi Kirin,

    Panda is cute but Pi-chan is so much cuter!! Love her pictures!!

    Uchu Hyakka seem interesting to me. I wonder what is their stuffs look like!! Many planets, moon accessories? But Why no more? I think Kobito Zukan looks very normal which I could not think that they are cute.

    • kirin August 2, 2012 at 6:29 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you for your comment to Pi-chan.
      Uchu Hyakka, in spite of its name, it has nothing to do with universe or moon or planets, but it was selling mostly Chinese styled (themed) zakka (general goods and stationery) at a reasonable price. I didn't know it closed down all the shops until I write this post…

  7. Sanaa July 27, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Hi Dear Kirin 🙂
    Thanks for ur Amazing post 🙂
    Thanks for these very beautiful pictures about Panda. It's really a Kawaii Panda 🙂
    I find that Panda symbole iss in many Japanese products. It's really so nice :
    Yeah! I think that Pi-chan looks like a Panda. Especailly her beautiful eyes 🙂

    Have a nice day dear 🙂

    Sanaa.

    • kirin August 2, 2012 at 6:31 am #

      Hi Sanaa!

      Thank you for your comment.
      Hope you are doing well. ^_^ (I'll email you later~~)

      Kirin

Leave a Reply

