Healthy Teishoku restaurant

27 Jun

Sunroom

various locations in Japan
Sunroom is a Teishoku (set meal from rice, miso soup, main dish and side dish) restaurant that is collaborated with F&F natural food and organic food store.

It says something like this: We use ingredients that are good for health. We choose agricultural products made in Japan, that are organic or free from agricultural chemicals, or less agricultural chemicals, and no artificial coloring, flavors or preservatives added. We severely select food and ingredients to provide our customers healthy and safe meals.

That sounds good. šŸ˜€ As a matter of fact, Sunroom is a casual Teishoku restaurant but the price setting is more expensive than other Teishoku restaurants such as Ootoya or Yayoiken, because they use more natural foods.

I think Sunroom targets female customers who like to eat healthy food. (Most of the customers at Sunroom are women.) Male customers will enjoy Yayoiken a lot more, because they can have free refill of rice and miso soup as many times as they like! Speaking of free refill, Sakurasuisan is another option. Sakurasuisan is an Izakaya but they also open for lunch hour. (Most of the customers at Yayoiken and Sakurasuisan are men.)

BTW, I personally like Ootoya, in terms of taste, price, service, and etc. Ootoya does not offer free refill but I think that’s fair. I feel as if I paid extra when I don’t have my second serving of rice at Yayoiken, even though their price setting is not so expensive anyway. Ootoya even deducts 50yen or something for a smaller bowl of rice. I like that! šŸ˜€ That’s fair!!


Beautiful food samples. ^ ^

Menu is also easy to read thanks to the detailed picture and even a total calorie intake is provided for your information. ^ ^;;

Inside picture of one of Sunroom restaurants I went to. Well, I saw some men too. ^ ^

I ordered cabbage rolls Teishoku that is a set meal from cabbage rolls, rice and Kenchinjiru, a sort of vege soup based on soy sauce. (1080yen)

The cabbage rolls tasted so mild and I liked that the dish had more cabbage than meat. Meals provided by this restaurant is something like we may be able to eat at home. There’s not something very special except that they use good ingredients. (But who knows that from outside of kitchen?) ^ ^;;

But when we have to eat outside too often, we miss homemade dish. Most of the restaurants like to use a little too much oil and salt to make the dish taste better. But sometimes we are tired of such taste… So I totally understand a restaurant like Sunroom can be supported by some people. šŸ™‚

The rice was mixed with some grains, which is healthier than simple white rice.

I guess I’ve already started to miss home cuisine. While I was working from home, I was thinking that it was too boring to eat self-cooked food everyday but now that I eat outside more often, because of work, I feel I like homemade food after all…especially the dishes that my husband cooks. ^ ^;; Teishokuya often carry homemade type of meals and that’s why I started to come to such place for lunch, I guess.

If you have a chance, please try Teishokuya, regardless of Sunroom or Ootoya or whatever, to explore a homemade like meal set in Japan. šŸ˜€

8 Responses to “Healthy Teishoku restaurant”

  1. sedonia2 June 27, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Looks great. I wish we had restaurants like that here. Maybe in the big cities they have them but not where we are. We're surrounded by a million restaurants and most of them are crappy. lol

    • kirin June 30, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      Really? So many restaurants are just crappy?! lol

  2. Salma June 28, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Thank you, dear Kirin, for this post. Actually, it's the first time for me to know about restaurants presenting healthy foods. I also like the restaurants sunny hall, and the food samples are appetizing! šŸ™‚

    • kirin June 30, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      The food samples were so beautifully made. I have not paid much attention to such things until I visited Kappabashi, where food samples are sold for business and as a souvenirs for foreign tourists. ^ ^ (Kappabashi is in Tokyo.)

  3. Joan June 29, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    I haven't seen menus that indicate calorie intake in their food! Japanese restos here don't have that. šŸ˜€ But I guess I haven't really been to any restaurants that advocate healthy, organic ingredients, lol.

  4. Rachel S June 29, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I wanna go there! Everything looks so yummy!!!

  5. Walter June 30, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Such an interesting post. Thank you ! The prices are so reasonable where you live. Here in Belgium the food is excellent , but restaurants are expensive. That's why I eat at home as much as possible.

    • kirin July 1, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

      It's quite reasonable to eat out in Japan. ^ ^ But as you've seen in my lunch posts, it is very difficult to have enough amount of vegetables and fruits when we eat outside. We could order an extra bowl of salad but it's not as good as the one we eat at home. I'm talking about casual restaurants, by the way. ^ ^

      So I concluded that I would like to eat at home as much as possible and when I eat out, that's when I eat Yakiniku, Unagi, or a French course meal or something that costs 5000yen or so per person. For ordinary meal, I'd like to eat at home as much as possible, after I finish this job.

Leave a Reply

