Weekday Lunch Pictures 2

24 Jun

Continuing from the last food post, I’ll share with you variety of lunch sample pictures here. The only good thing about eating out around my work is to be able to try various kind of foods and restaurants, although lunch time is limited to 60 minutes. 😀

lunch sample 6: Udon from a food court
Cold Udon with grated Japanese radish and 2 small pieces of fried chicken in Japanese style…570yen

I like to eat cold Udon or Soba during summer. But this Udon was too cold for me to taste it well. 😦 The fried chicken in Japanese style was not so good either.

lunch sample 7: Gonbei onigiri (rice ball)
Chicken mayo onigiri + green perilla and chirimenjako (tiny dried young sardines) onigiri + miso soup…490yen

I like to eat some rice balls and miso soup for a light lunch. It’s not too heavy and I believe it won’t make me feel sleepy at work. 🙂

lunch sample 8: Antendo breads
Calzone with butter chicken curry sauce inside, pancake bread, and cafe latte…760yen

The calzone bread had a very small filling of curry inside. There was a lot of room inside that was only an air. ^ ^;; I still felt like eating more after finishing all. I may try other kind of breads next time.

lunch sample 9: Omurice from a food court
Omurice and iced coffee…690yen

I could put some different kind of vegetables inside the ketchup rice, if I were to cook it by myself at home. After I ate it, I thought I had to eat a lot of vegetables at dinner. Most of the meals taken outside do not have enough vegetables. The rice was seasoned too salty to me. 😦

lunch sample 10: bento from eashion and etc.
Bento (Fried sliced scad seasoned with sweet/sour sauce and etc.)…600yen

This was good! I found some sliced vegetables underneath of the fried fish. The volume was not too small, not too much, and the bento carried so many different dishes inside the box. I’m now preferring bento to meals like lunch sample 6 or 9.

Bento (vegetable bento, no meat or fish inside the box)…500yen

The upper left fried food is not meat but lotus. I’m a person who likes to eat meat, but surprisingly I was quite satisfied with this vege bento! 😀

You may expect that I make a bento by myself to eat for lunch, but unfortunately I don’t like to. I’d love to eat a bento if my husband prepares for me, though. :p

11 Responses to “Weekday Lunch Pictures 2”

  1. Laura Autón García June 24, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    It is very interesting how variety of foods you can choose from when going to eat. Well, I don't have experience having lunch in town, but in the University campus, and they are usually the same every week. Both bento look so yummy!

    • kirin June 27, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      When I was studying at a college in the U.S, I was fed up with the options from same type of dishes everyday and I missed what Japan could have offered then. :p

  2. sedonia2 June 24, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    OMG – it all looks so good!

  3. Walter June 24, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

    Hi Kirin : the bento 's from nr 10 look OK . But sure , there's not much vegetables. I'd definitely get a salad as a side dish if I had to eat those 🙂

    • kirin June 27, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      That had thinly sliced carrot and pumpkin under the fish. But I recognize most of the food from outside do not have enough vegetables. I can eat much healthier at home….-__-

  4. cinnamon June 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    I'm a relatively new fan of your blog, and let me start by sayin THANK YOU for this blog! It's truly great:) and I especially enjoyed your koto-clips. But, all the rest as well, so, please, keep posting:) BTW, your new fan is from the far-away country of Estonia.

    • kirin June 27, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Oh! Welcome to TKE blog. ^ ^
      Thank you for reading it. Although I'm pretty busy these days and it's very difficult to spare some time for blogging, it doesn't mean I'll quit it. ^ ^;; I'm also planning to travel to Okayama – Hiroshima this summer so I'm looking forward to my blogging about the trip later.

  5. hellobunnies June 26, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    How lucky that you have so much to choose from for reasonable prices! Lunch must be a highlight of the day to be able to try new things.

    • kirin June 27, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      At first, I tried not to spend more than 700yen for lunch. Also I tried to eat less, but it's getting difficult because right now it's almost only lunch that I can enjoy a day. To explore variety of food is the only pleasure at this time. After working over-time hours, there's not much time for myself.

      While I was staying at home and working from there, I didn't have to stick to what I was going to eat, because the work was not that stressful I guess. I could easily go to my dog to kiss or hug, which was one of the ways to decrease stress. But now working outside being away from my dog, eating is the only pastime. I know it's not good though. -__-

  6. Selvinas July 1, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I think the bento meals are definitely the better options here! It's varied and probably a lot healthier and lower in calories.
    Here at my university we do have good meals. There's always soup, salad, something containing dairy, vegetable high meal.
    But lately the food has become more expensive because of change in ownership…

    • kirin July 1, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

      Such set meals sound good and healthier. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

