Mirai Nikki

19 Jun

Apple shares a review on Mirai Nikki (JP anime). 🙂
===Apple’s post starts from here===

I have never written about any anime before because usually I don’t have the time to watch any anime, or if I do, I don’t have any time to write about it. ^^”

Mirai Nikki

Well, anyway, since I’m so free now, and I’ve just finished watching a rather exciting anime, I want to share with you what I’ve been watching and I hope you will watch it and discuss it with me. I’ve been pestering all my friends to watch it so that I can have someone to talk to about what they think. Hahaha!

Mirai Nikki 未来日記
(未来 mirai = Future; 日記 nikki = Diary)

Firstly, this is not a kawaii anime. (If you want to watch a nice kawaii anime, may I recommend you Yumeiro Patissiere? You won’t regret it! ^^)

When I first read the synopsis for Mirai Nikki, my first thought was, “Is this like Liar Game?” I love Liar Game!!! And yes, in a way, it’s like Liar Game because there is a ‘game’ where there can only be 1 winner!! The ‘contestants’ are chosen by a God, and they have to outsmart each other to be the winner. The winner gets to be this God’s (Deus) successor.

The protagonist is a middle school student (14 years old), Amano Yukiteru. He is a loner, and I thought he was quite a loser too in the beginning of the anime. He is scared of everything, and he’s always updating his diary from his phone. He records his observations about everything in his diary.

Amano Yukiteru

When he goes home, he imagines another world. This other world has a God and his servant, and Yukiteru will soon discover that this world is not his imagination.

Yukiteru and Deus

Anyway, Deus (the God’s name) gave his diary a new ability! His diary will now record future events. At first, Yukiteru was thrilled because he felt like a winner in life, knowing everything that will happen before it happens. However, when he learned that this meant that he was chosen for a game battling against other players, he really wanted out.

Participants of the deadly game!

It’s a game of survival. Every participant in the game wants to win, because who doesn’t want to become God? It’s assumed that when you become God, you will rule the universe. You can do anything you want!

Also, even if you don’t want to become God, you wouldn’t want to die playing this game, would you? Because if you lose, you literally disappear from the face of this earth.

Yukiteru is such a loser though, and in the first few episodes, you may slap your forehead, thinking how he’s so damn lucky to be winning against other players again and again without any honest effort. He’s really one lucky dude because from the very beginning, he has someone who wants to protect him, and that’s the prettiest girl in his class, Yuno Gasai.

The cutest girl in class~! ^^

Here’s one thing about Yuno Gasai: She makes the anime so fun to watch! Haha!

Yukki~ ❤ !

She’s crazy! She loves Yukiteru and is his number 1 stalker! Her diary is a ‘Stalker Diary’ (Ok, I forgot the exact name for it, but anyway, every participant has a different kind of diary). Her diary records everything about Yukiteru (whom she dearly calls ‘Yukki~~~!’)

She’s clearly nuts for this guy.

I love Yuno because she’s so crazy. She allows no one to come between her and Yukiteru, and readily kills anyone who is a threat to her love or to Yukiteru. She’s pretty too, and for some reason, she has many scenes where she strips to her underwear. -__-” I think that’s some kind of fanservice for the guys, although I always wonder at some scenes if it’s necessary that she has to strip to her underwear.

Some thinks she makes the best girlfriend in the world. 

But my favourite character of all is Akise Aru. Firstly, he’s really handsome, and he’s a big contrast to Yukiteru who can get annoying at times because he cries a lot (Yukiteru, not Akise).

Kyaa! Akiseeeee~!

He’s also a great friend. And I love the sound of his voice. He’s really cool!!

Ok, this is my attempt at writing a review for this anime…I don’t want to give away spoilers. The plot is very interesting and every episode is a cliffhanger! It’s not so clever and difficult like Liar Game or Deathnote, but because every character is a little bit warped, you will wonder about the stories behind them. If human psychology is your thing, you will love this.

The anime is also fast-paced. No boring moments. Sometimes a lot of blood, but it isn’t that gory to me. After watching it, it reminds me of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni somehow. So if you like that anime too, I’d recommend watching this one. 🙂

Look at this cute picture diary of one of the contestants! Yes he’s a kid!

This anime, like most popular ones, has also been made into a Live Action one starring Okada Masaki and Gouriki Ayame. I’m quite happy that Hongo Kanata is acting the part of Akise Aru (ok, the equivalent actually. The live action has a different story and characters’ names have been changed). I was still wondering if there’s a human version of Akise Aru! And to be honest, Hongo Kanata is my definition of cute guy!! I love his face so much!

Hongo Kanata

Another picture of Akise Aru!!!

Part of the reason why this anime hooked me so much is I wanted to know how the story would end. There are surprising twists in the anime and it’s really very exciting to watch!

Have you already watched this anime? Did you like it? Or, is this the kind of anime you will watch?? ^_^

This post is written by Apple, and although she enjoys watching anime with dark themes, she also enjoys the cuter things in life. Check out her Happy Girls Cute Food’s blog and ‘like’ her Facebook page if you do! icon smile Dolly kei (Japanese fashion style)  

10 Responses to “Mirai Nikki”

  1. Shimin June 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I've watched the anime! And am watching the drama version! It's entertaining! But I don't like it when the plot gets so twisty twisty! 😄

    • Apple June 20, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      i see! i only watched episode 1 of the Live Action, and I didn't quite like it…aish… is it worth watching?? let me know!!! 😀

  2. Laura Autón García June 19, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    This post reminds me that I should go back and watch anime again. I somehow stopped watching anime right after starting watching north american series. But now that I don't watch much of them, I should go back, so I will take this into consideration 😀

  3. Lore June 19, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    well it seems that maybe I could like it, also now in summer the most of the american series that I follow ends so I have time for watch a new one ^^

    • Apple June 20, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      yay! watch this watch this!!! ^^

  4. denny June 19, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    I started watching this when it first aired but I still haven't finished it due to too much university work. But I'm looking forward to having some free time to finally finish it! I'm really excited about the Live Action ^^
    http://milkyposh.blogspot.com/

    • Apple November 13, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Hoped you have finished it by now! ^^ I enjoyed the anime more than the Live Action. ^^

  5. Milky way November 11, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    I just finished this in one day 😀
    And it was awesome!
    btw,have you read the paradox manga?
    it starrs Akise!Kyyaaa!!
    akise is my fave one too ^^

    • Apple November 13, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

      omg! i didn't know there is a paradox manga!!! Akise is so charming isn't he!!!! hehe! ^^

  6. Luiza May 8, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    Ja assisti esse anime inteiro,mt bom^^ Agora eu fiquei com mt pena do Akise-kun,ele tasca um beijão no Yukki e depois de alguns eps a Yuno mata ele…

Leave a Reply

