Weekday Lunch Pictures 1

14 Jun

Lunch time at work is 60 minutes from noon. I’ll share with you my weekday lunch pictures so you can roughly find what kind of meals you can have around 600yen. I could go get a bento to eat at the office, even cheaper than 600yen, but I don’t want to stay in the office. I need fresh air and color to comfort myself. Unfortunately there’s no park around the office where I can eat bento, either. 😦

What’s most important is to return to the office before 1pm. But I also want to look around a book store or some kawaii shops and apparel shops after lunch. Thus, my lunch must be served very promptly. To make the most of this limited time, I should eat alone and hang around alone. I need no company who could waste even 1 minute.

Remember glass of water is free at most of Japanese restaurants. (Refills are also free.) 😀

lunch sample 1: Doutor Coffee Shop
shrimp/salmon sandwich and ice cafe latte…670yen

This was not enough for my stomach but it was OK because I didn’t want to feel sleepy around 2-3pm.

lunch sample 2: Spaghetti Dona
spaghetti Bolognese, salad, mini dessert and iced coffee…880yen

They said they use fresh pasta, but I didn’t like their pasta so much. The pasta sauce was also not so good. But the price was very reasonable for what I ate, although it was over budget. ^ ^;;

lunch sample 3: Tenya
Tendon, miso soup and hot tea…500yen

Once in a while I feel like eating Tendon. But I believe many young women would hesitate to go to this kind of fast food restaurant that is full of men. As for myself, I don’t mind. ^ ^;; I ordered a very simple Tendon, without Udon or some extra dishes. However, this Tendon set made me so sleepy after I went back to work. I wouldn’t have it again while I’m working in the company office. (x_x)

lunch sample 4: Ootoya
chicken/vegetables in black vinegar (mini bowl)…570yen

I like Ootoya. It’s good most of set menu come with adequate amount of vegetables. In this bowl, there was thinly sliced cabbage underneath of the chicken, green pepper, egg plant, and etc. But the downside of Ootoya is only that it takes some time until the ordered meal is served. I was unable to have enough time to hang around after I finished my meal.

lunch sample 5: Lotteria
tartar chicken burger, french fry and ice cafe latte…590yen

I’d definitely prefer other burger shops but this time I somehow chose to have my lunch at Lotteria. But just 1 time is enough.

I’ll share with you more different lunch sample pictures later! 😀
What do you eat for lunch usually?

12 Responses to “Weekday Lunch Pictures 1”

  1. denny June 14, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    This looks sooo delicious!

    • kirin June 15, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      They are rather cheaper and fast-served meals in Tokyo. ^ ^

  2. sedonia2 June 14, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Wow, if I went to Japan, I'd get really fat really fast with all that delicious food! lol

    • kirin June 15, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      I liked your food picture on FB, thanks for sharing. ^ ^

      • sedonia2 June 15, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

        Thanks, Kirin. you and Apple have inspired me, really. I was just sorry I had already nibbled on the spring roll before I thought of taking the picture. lol

  3. Jun June 15, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    In Singapore I often eat from cook-food rice stall in a hawker or foodcourt during my lunch break. You can have white rice and you can choose from a wide varities of dishes from chicken meat, beef, fish, many types of veges etc! I think there is about 15 dishes you can choose from~
    Normally people will choose 3 dishes. I feel its quite affordable as normally it will cost about $3 (unless you order a fish or drumstick). On top of that you can choose to have curry gravy on your rice too!
    Then I will get drinks from the drinks stall, since the weather is hot, I will often get "homemade" ice-lemon tea for about $1.20.
    Lastly, i will get sleepy at 3pm. Hahaa

    • kirin June 15, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

      Haha! I liked your last comment. ^ ^
      I really liked Singapore at the point that how food was yummy and reasonable. It'd be difficult for us in Tokyo to get what you can get at the same cost you pay there….-__- I have no idea why such kind of combo meal from 1 fried rice + 3 different choice of dish for example is not available in Japan. I saw such kind of Chinese express food at food court in the U.S and Australia at every mall. But here, I don't see that. I found a Thai chicken rice set at a food court here, but was priced 980yen. ^ ^;;;;

  4. ilusuens June 17, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    i love ootoya! they have two outlets here in singapore and i like to go there for dinner 🙂 although i havent gone in awhile D:
    Nowadays prices in the foodcourts are rising ): its tough to get a $3 meal! its around $4.50 to $5.00! it depends on the location i guess 🙂 but even for malls which are not located in the central area, food prices at the foodcourts are rising!

    • kirin June 18, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

      I hear prices are rising in general over there. But I guess your salary is also rising. ^ ^

  5. Nina June 17, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    In Norway, 880 yen for "Spaghetti Dona" is really cheap! It is hard to estimate how big the meal was just by looking at the picture, but in Norway it would probably cost around 2600 – 3300 yen :-p Compared to Norway, food in Japan seems really cheap 🙂

    • kirin June 18, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

      Oh I hear things are quite pricey in Norway, but salary in Norway is also pretty good compared with ours in Japan, right? ^ ^
      The best is to earn there and travel Japan or other part of the world. I guess things are most expensive in Norway and Scandinavian countries as well as Switzerland in the world. ^ ^;;;

      • Nina June 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

        I have to agree with you on that ^_^

Leave a Reply

