Diet Coke in the Japanese version

3 Jun

I noticed I missed something interesting has become very popular while I was out of Japan. It’s sort of a diet coke in the Japanese version. 😀
KIRIN Beverage, one of the major beverage companies in Japan, has released “Mets COLA” with Tokuho mark. This means this COLA is approved by the Japanese government officially for its effect that is good for health.

It’s interesting the product is promoted by the famous anime “Ashita no Joe” in its TV commercial.

So how is it good for health?

It says this COLA will prevent the digestive system from absorbing fat in the meal, because of the added ingredient called “indigestible dextrin”. It does not help reduce the amount of fat that you’ve already stored in your body, but it helps take least fat from the meal that you are eating with the COLA now. Of course, some 0 kcal sweetner alternative is used instead of sugar. I rarely feel like drinking coke so I checked some reviews online and found some people found it causes a stomachache, while the majority of people have good impressions.

Mets COLA seems to have won the Japanese market so well that it sold the quantity that was expected for the next 12 months in only 2 weeks since its release. So far, several food and beverages have won a Tokuho mark, but it’s only a few that became a great hit. Mets COLA is definitely recognized as a big hit that is as successful as the Kuro Oolong Cha (Black Oolong Tea) by SUNTORY or Healthya Ryokucha (Healthya Green Tea) by KAO.

If you have a chance to visit Japan, you may want to try it. 😀 What do you think?

15 Responses to “Diet Coke in the Japanese version”

  1. Laura Autón García June 3, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Wow! Japanese market will never stop surprising me haha
    And the advertisement is hilarious! Who would really think that just drinking this soft drink would prevent you from getting sick of eating so much junk food? Haha I don't know, maybe it really prevents it but it's funny any way XD

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

      Eating junk food never helps people lose fat but if this drink really helps avoid absorbing fat, people may prefer it to other kind of soda…I think that's what happening here. But like you say, it's definitely better to stay away from junk food and eat traditional Japanese food if we want to lose fat. But at the same time, people like junk food and snack. ^ ^;;

  2. denny June 3, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    No matter how much they want to pass it as healthy, this is still cola. People tend to "imagine" things for what they hear/see them to be and not for what they really are. My point is that even if it's supposedly healthy and helps with the diet, it is still cola and people might be imagining that it actually works =/

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

      Right! It's still cola and not green tea or miso soup. lol If we think seriously about health and lose weight, it's definitely better without drinking soda. ^ ^

  3. Walter June 3, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    I won't try it 🙂 I drank my last Coke in 1999 , after the very forgettable Cherry Coke ( yuk ) came out ( I also stopped drinking all the other soft drinks . I haven't missed any of them since. If you want a healthy drink with no calories, drink water.

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      I sometimes drink water with gas when I eat pizza for example, instead of coke. Yet, I still feel like drinking soda once in a blue moon. :p

  4. Miuko June 3, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    I find it really interesting that Coke could be healthy.. so this is a special healthy version? I only know that Coke contains phosphoric which is dangeours for your bones, because it removes the Calcium from your bones and makes them more fragil, so I would find it strange if Coke gets an approval from the government ^^;
    I would like to have it here, too!

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      Oh my mother told me that story when I was a child.
      Even if this product gained the Tokuho mark, it's still coke. It should not be as healthy as green tea for example. ^ ^;;

  5. Yumi June 4, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Hello~ Kirin!
    Japanese market are really great! Mostly the products are in good quality and cute packaging! Awesome! I hope that Cola would bring to my country.
    Anyways, Can I ask you a question? What is the most expensive college school in Tokyo?
    Thank you! More power to you're blog! ❤

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

      Most expensive college in Tokyo?? I have no idea~~XD

  6. Lore June 5, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    This is very weird, I hope that there is a well study behind that prove this coke really works and this is not a trick to sell more

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

      It sounds weird but as long as the government allows this cola to show the Tokuho mark, it should be based on the study. But it doesn't say something like this cola is as healthy as herbal tea or something. It was proved that this product was effective enough at preventing the stomach from absorbing fat.

      Products with Tokuho mark is very limited and usually priced slightly higher than similar products. But they usually become popular because people tend to choose them in Japan.

  7. Stella June 7, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    Looking at the bottle and I think of the word “turbo”, haha! Ever since I resolved to drink more water, my taste buds somehow developed aversion to carbonated drinks/sodas/colas. I seldom drink Coke and any other soda but when I do, just a small amount.

    I also noticed that Coke’s advocating a healthy eating and lifestyle which is ironic because Coke’s basically junk food. 😀

  8. Stella June 7, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    Yeah, I also noticed that Coke's advocating healthy eating and lifestyle which is ironic because Coke is basically junk food. 😀 I heard Coca-Cola and Pepsi were asked to reformulate their sodas due to their cancerous effects?

    • kirin June 9, 2012 at 5:26 am #

      Coca-Cola and Pepsi have cancerous effects? OMG~~ I didn't know that. It's scary, even though I rarely drink them.
      Thank you for your information Stella. BTW, my friend has started to learn Danish and she has hard time with its pronunciation. (I saw your website seems to be written in Danish. haha!) ^ ^

Leave a Reply

