Kawaii goods for summer

31 May

It’s already very warm here in Japan but the difference between summer is that the humidity is still low. I wish this weather lasts entire summer but unfortunately summer in Japan is quite uncomfortable with too much humidity (around 70%) besides high temperature (around 30-35C). Moreover we will have to save electricity because all the nuclear plants in Japan have been suspended because many of us are against nuclear energy since Fukushima nuclear crisis last year.

Anyhow, under such circumstances, it’s nice to see kawaii gadgets that help us feel cooler in summer. 🙂

These are kawaii refrigerants. I don’t welcome summer as long as I live in Tokyo. ^ ^;; I think it’s only Hokkaido that I can spend summer time comfortably in Japan. It has become the season that I dislike most among 3 other seasons. I like autumn, spring and then winter but not summer, unless it’s less humid.

Fan pen…a pen with a small fan. ^ ^;;

Icecream shaped fan…for cuteness. ^ ^;; I didn’t check if it was a container or it had some function other than a fan.

Eye pillows for cooling down. They are not the items designed for babies, but for adults, just in case you are not familiar with kawaii. ^ ^;; Why such cuteness for adults? You may wonder. When we are tired from work or stressed out at work, such kawaii designs are healing, besides what they can do to us, in terms of function. If we seek for function only, they don’t have to be designed like that. Most of the Japanese need healing, because we are mostly stressed out at work or study. ^ ^;; I don’t think kawaii is simply childish, it’s bringing us healing and peace of mind. I’m sure the texture of the fabric is something relaxing, like a soft towel. ^ ^

Cooling scarves. It seems that the fabric is special that helps us feel a bit chilly when it’s watered (and squeezed). It’s logical that we can feel cooler by placing this item around the neck.

I’ve noticed new shopping malls have opened in Shibuya and Harajuku but I have not had a chance to visit them. Some people also asked me if I’ve been to Tokyo Sky tree, but I don’t think I will while majority of people are so excited about it. I wish to stay away from crowds and buzz. Every time I see on TV how people are excited about it, somehow I feel I don’t want to be involved. Yeah, that’s how I am. :p Weird? Maybe.

24 Responses to “Kawaii goods for summer”

  1. denny May 31, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Such cute items with a good purpose! Kawaii things are the best! It's so much nicer to come home to a world filled with cuteness rather than a dull boring everyday items. I love Japan's imagination when it comes to these things 🙂

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 3:58 am #

      "I love Japan's imagination when it comes to these things."….Agreeeed! 😄

  2. Magali May 31, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    This is too cute ! I love the Icecream shaped fan !
    The colors are all pretty ! Summer is coming!
    And France, it's already very hot (this is why I will take the fresh in Iceland 😉 )

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 4:00 am #

      Oh if you like such colors too, I found a shop with pastel colored goods only the other day. ^ ^
      Have a safe trip to Iceland and have fun~~~.

  3. Shimin May 31, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

    I've heard that the Sky Tree's tickets have been sold out for months!

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 4:03 am #

      Yes, people are crazy about going up there to look down the view of Tokyo. ^ ^ Also the neighbor area or I could say the town of Skytree, has become so busy with new shops, new restaurants, new transportation services, and etc. But I rarely have a chance to travel to east part of Tokyo from where I'm located (very close to south west of Tokyo). -_-;;

      • Shimin June 3, 2012 at 10:44 am #

        It sounds pretty crazy! 😄
        But it's good for promoting tourism I guess!

  4. sedonia2 May 31, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    I wish we had these kinds of kawaii things here!

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 4:04 am #

      Oh, then those will what I would miss in the U.S. lol But I'm sure you have something cool and interesting there that will amuse you. ^ ^

  5. winnie June 1, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    Yo Kirin,

    The eye pillow look interesting! I would like to get one for my girl as she has to do most of her works in Macbook. And her eyes are so sensitive and tired. Wonder will it have any good effect?

    Talking about Tokyo Sky Tree, thought of want to visit but it much be flooded with people……. that will make my head spinning! Too Crowded will make me headache.

    And No, you are Not weird.

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 4:13 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      If the cool eye pillow is effective or not? Good question, and so I searched it and found a post at All About. It says, cool eye pillow is very comfortable but in fact it is shrinking blood vessels and is NO GOOD. But you can use warm eye pillow (accompanies the packed gel that is heatable by microwave) first to expand vessels and then cold eye pillow to refresh.

      Thanks to your question, I think I will get a warm type of eye pillow, which normally is available from autumn, rather than cold type. Or maybe the packed gel inside the pillow can be used in both ways: to be heated or cooled, but you need to check before purchase.

      Hope your girl gets used to her work on Macbook.
      Take care! ^ ^

  6. Rozen June 2, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    30-35°C??? I didn't think Japan had such hot weather though I knew it was pretty humid there. Oo
    I despise hot weather, I'm not afraid to claim it but I always get weird glares when I say so. It is socially unusual to dislike summer. Too bad.
    Also, my dislike for the heat comes from the fact that I'm prone to nosebleed when it's hot. It's really not cool and downright annoying.

    I don't really have a favorite weather but I do like autumn very much as well as winter. I love cold weather 😄 Spring is great too but is bad for my allergy and I'm scared of insects.

    And such cute items! I would love to have these too! Anything to cool me down! I really want the eye pillow and especially the cooling scarf!

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 4:17 am #

      LOL, sorry not to be rude, but you made me laugh at nosebleed in a heat. 😄
      I guess I prefer winter if it doesn't snow too much and temperature goes too low.
      It's a bliss to sleep with Pi-chan (my dog) between my thighs when it's cold. I can't do it in summer. 😄

      • Rozen June 4, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

        Oh yeah. I like having my cat sleeping between my legs too in winter and when he's purring, it's very nice because you're like vibrating 😄

  7. sedonia2 June 3, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    If there is anything cool and amusing here, I don't know what it would be. Probably in the bigger cities. 🙂

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      For example, don't you have a market where you can buy some handmade goods or crafts? I remember I found a small lamp to be plugged in to a wall socket (outlet) at a market in the U.S (CA). That was very cute and not familiar in Japan. I think I bought it as a souvenir…plug shape is the same between the U.S and Japan, right?

      Also, I found some nice kitchen tools at a kitchen tool shop. I have not been to the U.S for over 15 years (!) so I don't remember what kind of things I found interesting there. I wish to travel there to blog about~~~XD

      • sedonia2 June 5, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

        There are no doubt cute things in places like that. I'm not a good person to ask about shopping and finding things because i really don't go anywhere nowadays I'm so busy right at home. I will have to rely on you when you come to the US to find those things and let me know where I can go. lol! If you come to the US though, aside from visiting me (which will be the highlight of your trip, 😛 , you should go to see the Redwood Trees in California and Crater Lake up in Oregon, if you haven't been there already. I don't have many dreams of travel left, but to go back to the Redwoods is one of them.

      • kirin June 6, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

        Oh I see! My experience in the U.S is very limited. I've only been to San Francisco, San Jose, Los Angels, Boston, Hawaii…I guess that's all! lol Yes, I'd love to visit you when I have a chance to go to the U.S in the future. ^ ^

  8. Cath June 4, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    I was trying to understand how humid Tokyo is now… It's about 50 to 80%. Singapore's about 80 to 90%. So we'll be enjoying a less humid weather next week! *o/*

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

      Right now it's not so humid yet, because it's before the rainy season and before hot summer. Humidity now is 55-60% I guess. Okinawa and Kyushu have already entered rainy season. It will be soon that Kansai and Kanto area also go into a rainy season. Then this rainy season will last about a month. After it ends, it is summer. We can't sleep without air con at night during summer because humidity is very uncomfortable. Sunset doesn't mean that we need no air con, because humidity is always here during summer. 😦

      Oh you are visiting Japan next week? Too bad, I am working full-time + over time (sometimes even on weekends) for this month. x___x Maybe Tokyo enters rainy season around mid June. If it does, don't forget to bring an umbrella with you everyday.

  9. hellobunnies June 4, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    Looks like Japan is ready for the summer heat! These are such cute items to cool down for the summer 🙂 I would totally use those cooling scarves – so cute!

    • kirin June 5, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      Haha! Those look cute! ^ ^

  10. Agnes June 7, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    I'm new resident to Tokyo and even though I am from Singapore, Japan's summer seems worse for me (I was here since last summer)! Like you I also dislike crowds yet I feel I should discover new and exciting things/places since I just got here but I feel tired afterwards…so you are not definitely not weird^^. Last but not least, 'kawaii' is good!!! ^o^

    • kirin June 9, 2012 at 5:21 am #

      I have some Singaporean friends who also say the same thing as you: Summer is hotter in Japan than in Singapore! I think sun shine is stronger in Japan, but humidity is more in Singapore. What do you think?

      I think it's a lot of fun for you to explore Tokyo because it's got diversity of things to offer. And it's nice you noticed kawaii is goo!!! ^__^ I hope you enjoy your stay in Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

