I'm back from Gold Coast, Australia!

20 May

Finally, I’m home! I’m in Japan now and I can blog about what I found in Gold Coast during my holiday after my work. I was staying in Broadbeach. I actually liked it more than Surfers Paradise.

I was staying in Meriton Serviced Apartment Broadbeach at a discount price, thanks to my local friend who found the great deal from a sort of last-minute booking site for me. The room was quite comfortable to stay at, and the service was also great, besides the very convenient location. πŸ™‚

The kitchen was equipped with microwave oven and dishwasher, although I was unable to use the dishwasher properly. Well, you may not be interested in such information. I like to see house interior, wall papers, furniture and etc…

There was a swimming pool, jacuzzi, and gym inside the facility but I never used any of them.

It was nice the room had a balcony but unfortunately it was not very relaxing to stay there. Maybe I’m not feeling calm when surrounded by the tall buildings. The end of the street is the beach.

I quite liked to go to Broadbeach, which was only 5 minutes walk from the apartment.

There were many nice restaurants to eat in, but I didn’t because every meal looked too much for me. I could share one plate with someone else, but I was travelling alone and I also didn’t have enough time to meet up with someone for a coffee after all. One sandwich or some sushi rolls was enough to me as a meal.

It was interesting I didn’t want food so much during my stay in Australia. I was OK having 2 meals a day, without an effort. I was supposed to experiment 1 meal a day gradually by reducing from 3 meals to 2 meals, so it was good that I could live with 2 meals for most of the days there. (But I’m not sure if I can continue this after I see yummy food in Japan! I guess I missed Japanese cuisine a lot at the end of the day!) πŸ˜€

I really appreciated that a rolled sushi store was found at most of major shopping center. Of course, the ingredients were not the same as what we can have in Japan, but I quite enjoyed them. 1 sushi roll cost nearly $3 (about 250yen), which was rather expensive thinking of the price we pay in Japan, but I did prefer sushi to kebab or pizza, after frequent sandwich meals.

I liked Broadbeach and the park next to it. I saw many people walking dogs there. It’d be so nice to walk there with Pi-chan…

It’s so nice to have a city and nature next each other. But I guess I like more big city that offers much more diversity of shopping and dining experience. I’ve never been to Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, and Alice Springs in Australia, but I’ve been to Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Cairns, and Gold Coast. So far I think I like Perth the best.

This place in Surfers Paradise is nice, yet I prefer Broadbeach.

What a surprise! I found Temomin massage salon in Surfers Paradise!!

And Mos Burger!!!

Pacific Fair was also in 5 minutes distance from the apartment. But speaking of shopping experience, I have to say it’s better to shop at Robina than malls and stores in Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach. There was a bus to go to Robina Town Centre and it had more sophisticated shops compared with those in Pacific Fair or Centro and Cavill mall in Surfers Paradise.

In the next post, I’ll share with you more on what I found in Gold Coast. πŸ™‚

12 Responses to “I'm back from Gold Coast, Australia!”

  1. yama May 20, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    i'm glad you enjoyed your stay in australia! ^^
    looking forward to the next post~

    • kirin May 21, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you yama! (Also thank you for the tweet.) ^ ^

  2. Lisa May 20, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Glad you got to stay in Broadbeach. We had nice weather whilst you were here!

    • kirin May 21, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you Lisa! Yes, the weather was very good while I was staying in Broadbeach. Actually while I was staying in Australia, there were only a few days that it rained and most of the days it was sunny. Back in Tokyo, the weather is quite similar. I wear the same type of clothes here as I did in Gold Coast. While I was sleeping I still felt as if I were staying in Broadbeach. ^ ^;;

  3. Phil May 20, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Really interesting, Kirin! I think I could almost live in that apartment; anyway, for a short stay it looks ideal and the location near the beach is wonderful. After your first post I was thinking you would like to move to Australia, but now It sounds like you are happy to be back Japan.

    • kirin May 21, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Haha! Exactly!!
      At early days I really wished if I could move to Australia. But in Broadbeach I saw a Japanese lady working and I had a little conversation with her. She's been doing all she could do to immigrate to Australia and I thought "Man, I'm not committed. I'm not so enthusiastic about relocating myself to Australia. I don't have this passion!"

      At the end of the day, I felt very at home and peaceful in Japan. ^ ^;;;

  4. sedonia2 May 20, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    I'm glad you're home safely, Kirin. πŸ™‚

    • kirin May 21, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      Hey Sedonia! I now feel that I'm the Kirin as it was before I went to Australia. Me in Australia especially at early days was very different but it's no longer. I'm me, the same person as I always know. πŸ˜‰

  5. winnie May 21, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    Hello Kirin,
    Welcome back to Japan!

    It's seem the location of the apartment which you stayed is great! I love all the pictures!! Beautiful!
    I love the picture of the beach and a row of birds( doves?) resting on the wooden fence.
    I hope I could go there in one days. Wish to go many place too like Rome ( beautiful architecture), Swiss Alps( majestic scenery)….
    and
    I will be waiting for your next post. It so excited to see all the interesting pictures! πŸ™‚

    • kirin May 21, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      Tadaima~~ (I'm home!)
      I don't know the name of the birds but they were everywhere. I don't think we have them in Japan. It was a surprising moment because they came to the wooden fence in front of me all of a sudden and so I took a picture before it was too late.
      Me too. There are so many places in the world that I still want to travel to. Inside Japan, as well. ^ ^

  6. Alberto May 22, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    Nice to know our Kirin is back to JP. πŸ˜€
    Everything ok there in Tokyo? Did your husband managed to keep the house clean, cook and so on? Or have you found some unwanted surprise at home when you arrived? :$

    Some of the photos remind me a lot about Frankfurt, that also has many skyscrapers and the modern part of the city also has very modern architecture.

    Oh… And that beach… It's so beautiful and calm. Did you by any chance tried surfing? ^_^

    Hasta la próxima. Sayōnara πŸ˜€

    • kirin May 23, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

      Hi Alberto,

      Thank you for your comment. Luckily I didn't find any unwanted surprise. I just needed to clean the rooms more but he did quite well while I was away. Pi-chan was also fine. ^ ^

      I didn't try surfing. I'm too scared to. The water was rather cold even though the weather was sunny and we could spend the daytime with T-shirt and short pants. I was happy enough to walk along the beach. ^ ^

      Matane! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

