My life in Australia

3 May

2 weeks have passed since I left Japan. Over here in Australia I am leading a very simple and healthy life. Due to the characteristics of my work here, I wake up before sunrise (5am) and go to bed before 10pm. Am I bored? No, it may sound boring but on the contrary I’m busy and I definitely need holidays free from work before I return to Japan.

Somehow it took me a long time to be able to write a post to TKE. (The last 4 posts were written beforehand to be scheduled for release automatically. So this is the very first post that I write in Australia.) I don’t even know how to explain this feeling, but let me try. Because the life over here is so much different from the one I had in Tokyo, I am not feeling that I am the same person who was in Japan. Yes, I miss my little Pi-chan and I talk with my hubby over Skype very often, but the life which I had only 2 weeks ago now seems something irrelevant to me. I had my husband and Pi-chan in the small apartment and I had a few good friends there and my social life was such and such…I feel all those things were what happened to my previous life and I can’t even remember it well. That’s why I can’t regain the feeling as Kirin at Tokyo Kawaii, etc.

I have no idea what happened to me. It’s not that I lost memory or somebody spelled me (lol). Before I came here, I was willing to write many interesting posts from Australia, but I just don’t feel like that now any longer. Maybe later, when I have some days off, I can find kawaii goods or interesting things in the city area and I may feel like writing a post.

The environment changed from a crowded area with large population to a lot of space, green, and wild animals. (I saw 3 wild kangaroos in a morning!) The life style changed from late-to-bed and late-to-rise to the other way round. My diet changed from eating 3 big meals to 2 small meals + some fruits, naturally. I always tend to think too much, but over here I don’t. I think I’m more relaxed here. It’s my work style from computer that is the same. That’s the only common practice among all those differences.

I may write a different taste of post for a while. I’m feeling myself a different type of me. In other words, if I were from Australia I wouldn’t write a blog with TKE’s taste. I’m not saying good or bad, it’s just I feel myself different from the Kirin in Tokyo. OK, I sound weird. I know. :p Have you had a similar experience in a foreign country? BTW, I’m not homesick. lol

37 Responses to “My life in Australia”

  1. Emma May 3, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    I feel the opposite as you, i am Australian lived here all my life but love Japan! I think its just the two countries are totally different in almost everyway that makes you so amazed with the other.

    I hope you enjoy the rest ofyour time here.

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Haha! Exactly. Japan and Australia are so very different each other. Over here in Australia I don't care about what to wear, makeup and small things because people really don't seem to care about that. People are laid back and easy going.

      But in Japan, we care about small things. Everyone dresses nicely, wears makeup perfectly, and care about what others see him or her.

      The difficulties that I have here in Gold Coast is that I can't live without a car. It's nice the space is ample but car is necessary to go anywhere. Another thing is wild animals. It's dangerous to see wild kangaroos in a residential area. And some poisonous frogs? cane toad?

  2. Laura Autón García May 3, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    It's interesting what you are saying about your way to be in Australia. I am not a psychologist whatsoever, so I am not making any judgement, but I would like to read something about it. I haven't been abroad still, but I would like to experience such a feeling.

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      When I'm just travelling in other countries, I've never had this feeling. But now I'm working and just living, I may have this feeling. I've traveled around many other countries but I've never felt like this before.

  3. Lisa May 3, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Hi Kirin, Where are you working in Australia and how long will you be here? I live in Queensland
    on the Gold Coast. Yes, our lifestyle is much different to Tokyo! So welcome to our country. Lisa

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Hi Lisa,

      I'm staying in Gold Coast, too. But there's some distance to surfer's paradise. ^ ^;; I'm very surprised to see wild kangaroos in the park that is in the residential area.

      • Lisa May 5, 2012 at 1:51 am #

        May be you are staying near my house? I live near Arundel Hills Golf Course, so we have
        Kangaroos hopping down our road! The kangaroos aren't dangerous, as they are used to living around people. If you try and approach them, they will just hop away. They won't try and attack you. At my kid's old school, the kangaroos used to come into the school playground. We also have koalas, kookaburras and cockatoos, but my home is in a residential area. Unfortunately, we have snakes and cane toads. I absolutely despise cane toads. If you get lonely, you can leave a message on my blog and we can meet for lunch one day! Lisa http://www.notechnostuffallowed.blogspot.com

      • kirin May 6, 2012 at 4:36 am #

        Hi Lisa,

        Thank you so much for your, the local's advice to wild kangaroos. Yeah, I'm shocked to know there is a poisonous frog (cane toads) which I guess I saw the other day after the rain in the morning. Yuk~~(>___<)
        Thank you for your kindness. If I finish my work earlier, I can have free time to have lunch with you. In that case I'll email you. (Maybe I can tell you my location then) It's all up to my work, because my stay in Australia is not 100% for holiday this time. ^ ^;;

        Thank you for your kindness. 🙂

  4. Apple May 3, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Finally! a post from you in Australia! i was wondering how you were but I had a good feeling about it, so I wasn't worried. 🙂

    anyway, Australia gives people that relaxed feeling, doesn't it? I felt the same way too when I was in Australia for a month. I was so relaxed, so happy, so carefree….I didn't want to go back to Singapore. I felt different there. I saw the big ocean, big sky, big land. I saw many animals. I travel to Sunday markets. The people felt relaxed and chill over there. It was not crowded. Everyone seems to have ample space to themselves. ^^ I had peace and quiet most of the time. I really enjoyed my time there. I had a lot of time to blank out my mind or think thoughtfully. I suppose you too! ^^

    If you feel up to it, please update more about your time in Australia! I would love to know and I'm sure the other readers too! ^^

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:29 am #

      Hi Apple,

      So far, I'm mostly working and actually there's not much to speak about. ^ ^;; But I have the same feeling that you have towards Australia. It'd be nice to live and work here. I was staying in Australia from 1999 to 2000, travelling around. That was a lot of fun. ^ ^

      • Apple May 4, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

        wow!! So you've been to Australia in the past! But it is only now that you have this feeling? Do you think as we grow older, we look forward to more peace and relaxed feelings like this? ^^"

      • kirin May 6, 2012 at 4:25 am #

        Yes, I was in Australia for about 10 months between 1999 and 2000, with working holiday visa. I traveled from Sydney to Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin up to Cairns. I think we think differently when we grow older. When I was here last tim (1999-2000) I was 25 and was sort of bored of the life here, once I settle down at one location. I missed what Tokyo would offer a lot then.

        But now, I think the city area of this country is OK for me to settle down. I actually like Perth a lot.

  5. Shimin May 3, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    This always happens in a different environment! Don't worry so much about it! (:
    Take care, okay! ❤

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:30 am #

      I hope I will settle down and feel normal in another week or so. ^ ^;;

  6. Magali May 3, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    Indeed, when we leave the place where we lived for an unknown place, it feels really different. One has the impression of not being the same person. I know this feeling and this is both disturbing and enjoyable. We see more family or friends in the same way. I think it could be called "step back on his life", right ? it's a break and it feels good.
    We must take advantage of these new moments and enjoy them. And when it really comes home, you feel different, we realize we forgot things ("the everyday "?) But comes back quickly, don't worry !
    Anyway, I'm sending you lots of kisses.

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      Hi Magali,

      Oh, so you have similar experience? I wonder how I feel when I'm back. That's also interesting. :p

  7. Cath May 4, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    Wow… I didn't know, until now, that you're in Australia! Well, maybe just jot down anything that caught your attention for the day (like 3 wild kangaroos!). n_n My friend (in Singapore) just adopted a female shih tzu! Only 4 months old. Oh yes, please remember your sunscreen!

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      I'll be in Australia till the end of May. I miss Pi-chan a lot! A female Shih Tzu of 4 months old? I remember how Pi-chan was at that age. ^ ^ Thank you for your message, Cath.

  8. XavierB May 4, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    This post was funny to read. 🙂 And no, you don't sound weird at all. It's more sign that you adapted yourself quite fast to a different ambient.

    Many people seek this effect actively by moving to a different country. You hear that a lot here in Europe because the cultural differences can be quite large from country to country. Although moving from a metropolitan area to a rural one should have a similar effect. And you are in good company: Goethe had a similar experience visiting Italy.

    Before I came here, I was willing to write many interesting posts from Australia, but I just don’t feel like that now any longer. Maybe later, when I have some days off, I can find kawaii goods or interesting things in the city area and I may feel like writing a post.

    Just make sure to write from time to time some notes of things/situations that catch your attention. This way you can write it down as soon as your motivation comes back. And I can't imagine by how much kawaii you are exposed (or should I say "bombarded") back in Japan… 😮

    And tell me, how does it feel being able to buy fruits by the kilo? xD

    • XavierB May 4, 2012 at 5:36 am #

      And one more thing I forgot to mention: Stay away from wild kangaroos. They may look cute but thy can be quite dangerous. The locals can surely tell you more about how to behave and how not to behave around them.

      • kirin May 4, 2012 at 11:41 am #

        Thank you for your advice about kangaroos. I'll be careful.
        Oh so is this feeling normal? I guess I can't have this feeling as a tourist. I guess I am feeling as if I immigrated to Australia. I have less appetite here, somehow. As I don't have a car, I can't buy fruits by the kilo. I buy a few at one time and I go shopping more than twice a week.

  9. Alberto May 4, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    I hope you are ok with your new life.

    I really never felt that to be a different person, basically because I always been living in Spain. I traveled a lot around Europe, like France, Germany, Italy, Poland,… but I have been always living in Spain.

    Maybe you feel different those first days, because you don't have your husband and your pet by your side, and you can't have the same life that you can have in JP, but still, we know you are our TKE Kirin even if you writte different. ^_^

    Also you can think that you are not that far from your beloved conuntry. Today the distances are like shorter. And also you have all of TKE community support 🙂

    My best regards.
    ¡Que te vaya todo bien!

    P.S. As far as I know, I think the weather and landscape in some parts of Australia are almost the same like in the region in Spain where I live: a lot of rain, much humidity, a lot of vegetation… So… it's like if you are living in Australia and in Galicia at the same time!!! LoL

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

      Hi Alberto,

      Thank you for your message. I've never felt that usually when I travel as a tourist. So…I'm very surprised at myself. ^ ^;;
      Actually it's already 15th day and I'm feeling like this. I hope I'll gradually get myself back… ^ ^;;

      I really wish to travel to Spain some day. ^ ^

  10. Sanaa May 4, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Hi my lovely friend Kirin,
    I hope you are very fine and happy now.
    I could feel what you’re feeling while I was reading your post.
    Sometimes when we move to a new place, we feel we are strangers in this place. And our mind totally change.

    But it is good, you are living a new experience in your life, Even it it seems hard experience now. But this experience will teach you as previous experience to be more strong in your coming life.

    You should take care good for yourself.
    And eat good! be healthy my dear sister Kirin.
    And keep in ur mind. Ur happiness mean alot for all your loves ones. So, be happy all the time.

    Alot of prayers for you :))

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Thank you Sanaa, for your kind message all the time.
      I'll email you later. ^ ^

  11. Walter May 4, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Interesting post, Kirin. It'll be interesting to see how you change in the next weeks. And after you go back to Japan. Keep us posted. What's the weather like ?

    • kirin May 4, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      Thank you Walter. 🙂 Yes, I wonder how I feel when I go back to Japan.
      The weather is warm, about 23-25 degrees in the daytime. But we often have shower here. In the evening it's cooler.

  12. Jill Lutz May 5, 2012 at 5:01 am #

    Hi Kirin, It sounds a little like culture shock to me…. you are still just in shock and thats OK… You are in a new city and country all together….. Im sure its normal. Just enjoy your surroundings, BE SAFE and please share and take PICS !!

    Sounds a little like Alice in Wonderland to me…. Alice through the Looking Glass, Curiouser & curiouser ! LOL

    Hugs, LOVE & Light to YOU sweety Blessings, JILL )O(

    • kirin May 6, 2012 at 3:53 am #

      Thank you Jill. 🙂
      I wish to take photos but in my current working life it's not possible. (I'm mostly working) Later on when I can hang out and see around, I'll definitely take photos and write some posts. 😉

  13. Laura May 5, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    This happens to me too. I moved to Seattle, Washington from the caribbean and I feel different.
    Dont worry too much! Just enjoy your time there and post about what makes you happy 🙂

    • kirin May 6, 2012 at 3:59 am #

      Thank you Laura. ^ ^

  14. winnie May 5, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Hi Kirin,

    Glad that you are happy in Australia! 🙂 So cute ! You get to see wild Kangaroos. Do you take pictures of them?Hahaha..
    I can't wait to hear your adventures and life in Australia!

    Please take care!!

    • kirin May 6, 2012 at 4:01 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you for your comment. I didn't expect to see the wild kangaroos then and so I didn't have my camera with me. It was a morning walk. But several days after I wrote this post, I saw another 2 kangaroos at the same park. They crossed 10 meters ahead of me. @w@

  15. dwayne2d3d May 7, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    If you ran for Prime Minister in Japan or Austrailia i'd vote for you,
    for you a brutally honest Kirin…
    It a nice sweet kawaii kind of way of course =)
    Anyways…..be honest to your feelings and go with how you feel,
    you didn't need to explain to us, but it's ultradociouslly koooooool
    that you did…..
    -peace-

    • kirin May 8, 2012 at 5:19 am #

      Oh then this might be the honesty people often talk about me. ^ ^;; I like that you say, "Be honest to your feelings and go with how you feel". Thank you for your sweet comment!

  16. Krystal May 9, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    Sorry but where can we view the Tokyo kawaii episodes ):
    Thank you 🙂 And I hope you come back to Sydney then we can chill 😉

    • kirin May 10, 2012 at 4:34 am #

      Unfortunately the videos are not available, due to some problems.
      This time, I don't have a chance to drop at Sydney, sorry. >_<

Leave a Reply

