Weekend Dinner 4 & 5

23 Apr

My husband enjoys cooking so much now. Everything he cooks taste better than what I cook, and these days he cooks every weekend and even some weekdays when he has free time. I feel that I can’t cook any more, when he cooks much better. :p

So this is the dinner I had several days ago.
Weekend Dinner 4


1: Tonjiru
You can think of it as a miso soup with ingredients like various kind of vegetables such as Daikon (Japanese radish), carrot, Gobou (burdock), green onion (Japanese leek), Konnyaku and thinly sliced pork. It can be a main dish. 🙂 I personally like to put some thinly sliced ginger when I cook it, but my husband didn’t. He cooked large amount at a time with less miso, and each time when we heated it, we added some miso. By doing that every time we ate it, the soup smelled nice, nevertheless it was made and preserved in a fridge. The point is “Don’t boil the soup after miso is added, because the good smell will fade!”

2: simmered Kabocha, as in the cooking tutorial page

3: Natto

4: steamed rice

Weekend Dinner 5

1: Nikujaga, as in the cooking tutorial page
This was yummy! 😀

2: steamed Hijiki and vegetables (Hijiki-ni)
This tasted so much better than the one I’ve cooked so far or even the one his mother cooks! I honestly thought he could change my preferences. I thought I didn’t like Japanese cuisine so much but he could change that. I seriously think so! 😀

3: Enoki mushroom and wakame seaweed salad
I loved this too! He said he put too much seasoning but it was very tasty. According to him, it’s very easy to cook. Soak the cut Enoki mushrooms and dried wakame seaweed in some water to cover them, microwave for 2 minutes, squeeze water and mix with Chinese chicken soup stock, soy sauce, sake, and mayo. He said he put a touch of Chinese chill bean sauce and sesame oil too. Easy huh? But tastes good! 😀

4: steamed rice

I feel as if I were a husband of him, being attracted by his cooking. I mean, people here say that house wives must be good at cooking in order to keep her husband all the time. Good cooking will make husbands return home earlier and stop them from flirting with other women. I didn’t understand it so well because I believed there was always better food outside served in a fancy restaurant, for example. But now I feel for the first time in my life what that really means.

At first I was satisfied with being served by him. But nowadays I totally love and enjoy whatever he cooks and I’d rather try to eat at home than outside! So this is it! (I’m not flirting with other man, so no worry for that point. lol) My mother was very poor at cooking (luckily my father didn’t leave) and my cooking is just OK. So I didn’t really pay much attention to home cooking. But home cooking can be so tasty, never make us bored, and much healthier. (I’m impressed he often simmers finely cut onions instead of stir-frying it, or also boils meat first to reduce fat!) I never expected to be kind of hooked by his food! :O His cooking has totally grabbed my heart (stomach)! Do you have a similar experience? I wish I were good at cooking as much as he is!

8 Responses to “Weekend Dinner 4 & 5”

  1. Lore April 23, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    hahhahah your husband knows how to keep you in home XD.
    This weekend I ate a kind of mochi with breaded outside and sesame seeds, and for cook it, instead boiled they have to be fried until they float. I bought them in a chinese grocers and they were delicious.

    • kirin April 23, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

      I guess it's closer to Japanese Okaki, although Okaki isn't breaded. It's from Mochi. It's a sort of fried Mochi. We eat it for snack. ^ ^ http://www.ajinoren.co.jp/

  2. Alberto April 23, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    This weekend we got "Spanish chicken". You know… it starts with "rab" and ends with "bit".

    BTW, your recipes looks nice. It's a shame that it's hard or even impossible to find Japanese ingredients in other so different countries.

    Just a question: how do you eat rice with chopsticks? I mean, I can use chopsticks with ease, but I can't manage to eat rice without spending one hour eating it grain by grain!!! unless it's in a ball of rice, I don't know how to eat it fast.

    Bye bye. I hope you, your husband and dog are all ok.

    ¡¡Hasta luego!!

    • kirin April 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

      Hola Alberto,

      That's an interesting question. I think the steamed rice you eat is not as sticky as Japanese rice. Japanese rice can be easily scooped by chopsticks so you don't have to worry about dropping the grain out of the plate. ^ ^

      Gracias.
      Hasta pronto. ^ ^

  3. sedonia2 April 23, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    The food is beautiful and I love what you were saying in the last paragraph. lol! It took me a long time to learn to cook properly and I have to admit, when one of the people is a good cook, the relationship benefits from it for sure. 🙂 Thanks for sharing that wonderful post, Kirin.

    • kirin April 23, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Hi Sedonia,

      I saved this post before I left for Australia. ^ ^
      I wanted to know that my husband was a good cook earlier. He was inspired to cook, thanks to my female friend who often came over to our place to cook for us. Yeah, I am lucky I have such a friend. She says she wants to practice cooking in my kitchen even though she's already very good at cooking. ^ ^

  4. Apple April 23, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    wowwww Kirin! You're so lucky! Your husband's cooking makes me wanna stay home too! HAHAHA!

    I've always believed in that quote about keeping your husband home by cooking well because I always look forward to eating dinner at home! My mum is a good cook! ^^

    • kirin April 25, 2012 at 12:13 am #

      It's nice your mom is a good cook. My mom was terrible at cooking and most of house work. lol

Leave a Reply

