Sakura 2012 and my koto music

8 Apr

Sakura (cherry blossoms) are in full bloom now in Tokyo! (Some of the following pictures were taken while about 80% bloomed. ^ ^)
On the way back home from the nearest train station, I was riding a bicycle and then took some pictures. πŸ™‚

It’s a park where I walk Pi-chan everyday. The weather was very good on this day and the Sakura looked so pretty against blue sky. πŸ˜€

I’ve practiced a koto music titled “Sakura Hensou Kyoku” (You can think of it as “the Sakura Variations”) since some time in February so that I can play it well for this Sakura season. Unfortunately I was unable to spare enough time to practice it and I have not played the latter part of the music but I just wanted to share this Sakura music with you while we have Sakura now. πŸ˜€

It’s a shrine in front of my apartment. πŸ˜€

Spring has come! πŸ˜€
Kirin

24 Responses to “Sakura 2012 and my koto music”

  1. Orly kravarucis-Israel April 8, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful fotos with us. I wish I could be there. Love your blog. Orly, from Israel.

    • kirin April 9, 2012 at 1:32 am #

      Thank you for your comment Orly. πŸ˜€
      Wow, it's rare to be contacted by Israeli people. I'm happy that I can contact with people who I will never do without this blog.
      ^__^

  2. Salma April 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Wow! I like the sakura photos very much! ^_^
    I'm also impressed by your koto playing. I loved the music very much too. πŸ˜‰

    • kirin April 9, 2012 at 1:33 am #

      Thank you Salma.
      I wanted you all to feel the beauty of Sakura. ^ ^ The real Sakura blossoms are much more beautiful than my humble pictures. ^ ^;;;

  3. Aya April 8, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Wow~ That was a wonderful performance! I think we play different variations on the Koto…. but nonetheless, it was beautiful~ ❀
    I hope you've been enjoying Hanami, and looks like you can view them anytime! πŸ™‚

    Those Sakura look so beautiful~ ❀ I wish I could see some where I live…we have many green trees… We also have a big red Crab Apple tree, but it's not even close to luscious. XD

    • kirin April 9, 2012 at 1:39 am #

      Hi Aya! Oh your koto looks different from mine? The complete music is actually played by 2 x kotos and 1 x 17-gen (koto with 17 strings) and I think I already experienced playing with another koto and 17-gen when I was a kid. I'm sure I played it better then. Yet, what's important to me was that I can fully enjoy playing koto now, not being forced by anyone. This is the big difference and is more important to me than playing it better now. I know you see what I mean. ^ ^

      • Aya April 9, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

        Actually, I have a short Koto, so it does look a bit different. Before I started Koto, I played Taisho Koto for a while as well. Ah, I see, it must be a very beautiful song when the full version is played! Ah, I see… since it has more strings, it's more like the Guzheng, the other zither I play and maybe it'd be easier…? Mhmm! I bet~ That's the same with me too… I absolutely love playing the Erhu now after not being forced. Mhmm~ ^_^

      • kirin April 11, 2012 at 1:10 am #

        Oh sounds like you really can play various kind of musical instruments. How cool~~ ^ ^

      • Aya June 26, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

        Sorry for the extremely late reply. Thanks~
        I was wondering, do you by any chance know a place in Japan where I could purchase a Tsugaru Shamisen, or any kind of Shamisen?

      • kirin June 27, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

        I think you can purchase Shamisen at a koto shop. If you go to Yokohama, there's one in Sotetsu Joinus. http://www.sotetsu-joinus.com/

        It's connected to Yokohama station (Sotetsu line).

  4. sedonia2 April 8, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Wow, thank you for the beautiful pictures and the video. I enjoyed listening to your playing. What a hauntingly pretty sound that instrument makes.

    • kirin April 9, 2012 at 1:41 am #

      I hope the melody inspires you when you get down to your next work. ^ ^

  5. Laura AutΓ³n GarcΓ­a April 8, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    So beautiful pictures. I am never tired of watching sakura blossom pictures.
    I haven't seen the video yet, but I am watching it tomorrow ^^ Good night from Spain!

    • kirin April 9, 2012 at 1:43 am #

      Hi Laura!
      The real Sakura blossoms are so pretty and healing. I hope you can visit Japan one day to explore it. I'm sure you'll be impressed by Sakura a lot. Then please remember my Sakura music and enjoy viewing it more. ^ ^

  6. Ms.Godzilla April 9, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    You play koto too? Cool! Which school?
    I am currently still struggling with Aki no Shirabe…even though now it is spring 笑

    • kirin April 9, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      Ikuta-ryu desu ^ ^

      I only played it after decades. To explain from the beginning, I started to play koto at 5 and until 13 I was forced to play it by my mother who wanted me to become a professional koto player. I hated that. At the age of 13 I quit learning and playing koto and so it's been decades when I played my koto some time ago when I made my very first humble video.

      I guess I've played various kind of music (I don't know if I did Aki no Shirabe) before 13 but most of them I don't remember well by now. I picked up Sakura Hensou Kyoku because I felt like playing it for Sakura season. I think I will remember the music if I played it in my childhood, even if decades have passed…^ ^;;;

  7. Aleksandra April 9, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Amazing pictures~ ❀ I wish we had cherry trees so big here in Poland. That would be great~
    Also your koto plyaing is really good~ I love it!~

    • kirin April 11, 2012 at 1:11 am #

      Thank you ❀
      I'm glad you enjoyed it. ^ ^

  8. XavierB April 13, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Very nice pictures. Reminds me of my time in Hamburg/Germany. Well, the cherry trees were smaller but as soon as the wind blew the petals from the tree it felt like in a real-life romantic anime. lol

    But more important than the nice view of the blossoms was the knowledge that in about three months I could feast on various types of cherries. How is this in Japan? Do you have only ornamental cherry trees like the ones in the pictures? And are cherries in the supermarket expensive?

    • kirin April 14, 2012 at 12:51 am #

      Yes, there are several kind of Sakura. The ones in the above pictures are called "Somei Yoshino" which is the most famous and representative type of Sakura among all the other types of Sakura. Usually Kawadzu Zakura (Sakura) blooms earlier than Somei Yoshino, then Shidare Zakura (Sakura) follows. Yae Zakura (Sakura) is in bloom while Somei Yoshino's blossoms are all off.

      Considering this, we can enjoy different types of Sakura from around March to May. I personally love Shidare Zakura so much, which is in bloom now.

      Thank you for asking. πŸ™‚

      In Japan all kind of fruits are way too expensive compared with anywhere in the world. The price for 1 apple is the same as 1kg of apple in Europe, according to my European friend. 😦

      • XavierB April 14, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

        Wow! I didn't know there are so many types of Sakuras. So, you get to enjoy a three month period full of pink-white trees. Additionally to the plum and peach trees as well, I guess.

        Now that I think of it, I rarely appreciated the view of these blossoming trees. I rather preferred to eat their fruits. lol

        In Japan all kind of fruits are way too expensive compared with anywhere in the world. The price for 1 apple is the same as 1kg of apple in Europe, according to my European friend.

        I think I get it: Since everything has to be transported or imported to the rather large metropolitan area of Tokyo, any perishable food is expensive.

        Back in Hamburg during weekends I would buy with my parents 4-5 kg of cherries for the week, during their season. And we were lucky if on Friday there were any left to eat πŸ™‚ But this was only possible since we drove to the Altes Land and bought them directly from the farmers (at prices from 2.50 – 4 €/kg). This way the costs for the middleman and transportation were cut out.

        I guess, if I would maintain my eating habits in Japan I would be broke in no time. πŸ™‚

        If you want to have glimpse on the costs of food in Europe I have here a link for you.
        |Continente.pt
        It's the on-line shop for a big supermarket chain in Portugal. I set the link for the apples section. πŸ™‚ You shouldn't have any problem to navigate to the other sections since you know a little bit of Spanish. The prices for fruits and vegetables are somewhat equal throughout Europe (+/-0.50 €). For fresh fish and meat they are not.

      • kirin April 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

        Even the fruits harvested in Japan are expensive. Apples are usually made in Japan, but 1 apple costs about 200yen. I'm not kidding you. It's impossible to buy fruits by the kilo in Japan. 😦

        Thank you for the link. I'd enjoy shopping and eating a lot of fruits if I can travel other countries. I don't feel like doing that while in Japan. 1 pineapple was priced about 400yen… 1 orange was priced 100yen….

  9. Elle April 15, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Oh wow! Thank you for sharing this, the beautiful pictures and the wonderful music (gave the feelings of being there experiencing the whole atmosphere. thank you)!!. πŸ™‚

    • kirin April 16, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      My pleasure!! ^___^

Leave a Reply

