SUJU Dining @Shin Marunouchi Bldg.

3 Apr

Suju Dining
nearest train station: Tokyo or Otemachi
(Shin Marunouchi Bldg. 5F)
phone: 03-5224-8686
open: Mon.-Fri. 11:30am-2:30pm, 5:00pm-11:00pm
Sat. Sun. and National Holidays 11:30am-4:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm

There are certain areas in Tokyo that I don’t frequent. Tokyo-Ginza area is one of them. That’s why whenever I see friends living east part of Tokyo, I tell them I don’t mind travelling to their area. The other day I met my friend from previous work (interior/house renovation planning job) at Shin Marunouchi Bldg. (a.k.a Shin Marubiru, in Japanese) for lunch. 🙂



I can’t believe it was the very first time for me to come to Shin Marubiru, nevertheless it’s been 5 years since it was built. There is Marubiru next to Shin Marubiru, but I’ve visited Marubiru only once in 10 years. I have no idea why I don’t feel like coming over this area. For the women in 30s, Marunouchi area should be much more quiet and comfortable than Shibuya, Harajuku or Shinjuku area. The interior of the whole building is gorgeous. (I forgot to take pictures, because I was busy checking the architectural material like I always did when I was working as a house renovation planner.) ^ ^;;

Tokyo is my friend’s area. At first when I heard that she took a reservation for lunch, I thought if it’s necessary. But I learned she was right, right after I entered the restaurant. It was full of people eating lunch. I believe most of them are company employees working nearby.

I wonder how the night view is going to be…But I already enjoyed this view, in spite of the cloudy weather.

I forgot to take a menu photo…but there were 2 kind of lunch of the day, and unfortunately they were sold out when we ordered them at 12:10pm. Hmm…it was only 12:10, we were not so late but we had bad luck. 😦 Both of the lunch of the day were costed 1200yen, and all the other lunch sets were priced like 1800yen or even more…except for what we ordered.

This is called hayashi rice. It’s a sort of westernized Japanese dish like curry rice, omurice, and etc. I love this kind of Japanese dish as known as Youshoku! 😀 A plate for hayashi rice, small salad and Hojicha (roasted green tea) were served and it was 1200yen. It was good Hojicha is refilled as many times as we wanted.

But personally I wished more hayashi rice on the plate. Well, it’s possible most of Japanese women are satisfied with this amount, but to me it was a bit too small…:p I ordered a cup of coffee for 580yen after the meal. Considering that the most of restaurants offer a lunch set from a main dish, salad and a cup of coffee under 1200yen or so, the price in this restaurant is set higher. Yet, as it turned out we stayed there chatting and chatting until there were almost no other customers, so it was not expensive. :p Many restaurants give us the air that we have to leave if we don’t order more, but this place wasn’t like that.

We passed Tokyo station on the way back. Tokyo station has been under reconstruction for several years. It was originally constructed in 1914, but was damaged in World War 2. The restoration is to remain exact same facade as the original one, as original design was so beautiful and nice.

I told myself why not come back to Tokyo again for more exploration. What about you? 😀

Leave a Reply

