Weekend Dinner 2 & 3

25 Mar

Now my husband enjoys cooking over the weekends. I’ve wanted that for years. This weekend he cooked for both Saturday and Sunday dinner. 🙂

Weekend Dinner 2 (Saturday dinner)

1: Teriyaki chicken
I was so tempted when I saw it that I was going to eat the whole thing but it was a bit too much and so we shared it. Yummy!


2: potato salad
It was interesting he referred to a recipe that the potatoes are to be boiled with water with some sugar added. The recipe was invented to make it easy to eat for small children, but it was good for adults, too.

3: some leaves

4: steamed rice

Weekend Dinner 3 (Sunday dinner)
It’s a Chinese style meal made in Japanese households.

1: Mabo nasu
It’s like a mapo tofu (麻婆豆腐) but instead of tofu, he used egg plants (‘nasu’ means egg plant in Japanese) and green peppers. Combining minced pork and egg plants to make mabo nasu is very common in Japan. We love to eat Chinese styled dishes arranged in Japanese way. He made it very well!

2: Chinese styled corn soup
As it’s Chinese style, it doesn’t have milk inside. It’s from corn cream, water, egg, Chinese soup stock, starch, salt, pepper and etc.

3: Daikon salad
Daikon is Japanese radish. It’s a mixed salad from thinly sliced Daikon, cucumbers, wakame seaweed, canned tuna, salt, pepper, mayo, and sesame dressing. I loved this when he cooked it for the first time a while ago, so it was the second time. I requested it again. 🙂

4: steamed rice

I have to admit everything he cooks tastes great! 😀 I honestly told him that I was sorry for cooking him poor foods for years. I mean it, he is much better at cooking than I am. Usually he carefully picks up the best recipes from some sources and spends 2-3 hours for cooking a dinner like this. I am too lazy to do that, and as a result, my cooking can be just OK but never be excellent. haha!

14 Responses to “Weekend Dinner 2 & 3”

  1. Laura Autón García March 25, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Everything looks extremely good! He is talented for sure 🙂 I am happy he enjoys cooking for both of you.
    I am afraid that I am not interested in cooking at all haha. I eat whatever I pick and good riddance! I would love to eat more interesting things, but I am never in the mood of spending more than 30 minutes in the kitchen ^^; I would rather make money and spend it in an interesting restaurant once in a while, than cooking at home. My boyfriend is aware of my cooking laziness, but he understands because he doesn't like it either 😄 Our kitchen is going to be super boring hahaha

    • kirin March 26, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      I think I'm like you. I don't feel like spending more than 30 minutes to prepare for a meal. I'd rather work to earn enough money and spend that money for restaurants. Yeah, I have been thinking like that. But my husband was different. He thinks that we can prepare healthier + cheaper + better quality food at home so why pay to others and don't do by ourselves? He says that he will never know what kind of oil they use, how much of oil and salt they use, and etc.

      But it's also nice to eat outside. ^ ^ I'm happy as long as I'm served. hahahaha!!

      • Laura Autón García March 26, 2012 at 8:44 am #

        Haha yeah, he made his point ^^ It's true that we don't know what kind of oils are used in restaurant and that it's safer to cook at home because you know exactly what you are eating. However,I wouldn't go out every day :), just once in a while, for example, two or three times a month or less depending on the restaurant prices. For example, there is a restaurant here in Las Palmas that I love, Benkei of Tokyo. Yes, it's a Japanese restaurant run by Japanese people 🙂 I know one of the owners and the cooker apart from some employees, and it's the best Japanese restaurant I have ever been in my life, here in Spain. 25€/person though, so I can't go often but the quality is sublime. I am sure the oil they use too cook are good quality. However if I go to a cheaper restaurant, they will probably use less quality oils hehe

      • kirin March 26, 2012 at 8:59 am #

        That's true. He can't make any kind of cuisine. So when we want to eat something exotic, it's better we eat at an authentic restaurant. ^ ^ The other day, I tried to make paella at home using some pre-fixed sauce but I failed because I didn't follow the instructions properly. It was so bad. :p I'm like this, and got mad at myself and then start complaining why should I cook in exchange for such result. lol

  2. winnie March 25, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Hi,
    Your hubby can cook so well!! The chicken and the salad are so tempting!! They are my favourites!!
    Keep it up!
    More please!

    • kirin March 26, 2012 at 8:36 am #

      Thank you, Winnie. I told him your comment and he was very happy to hear that. ^ ^

  3. sedonia2 March 25, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    OMG, Kirin. My mouth is watering looking at these meals! One of these days I'm going to show up on your doorstep with a bowl! lol

    • kirin March 26, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      Oh I wish we can cook some Japanese cuisine for you and Mitch. ^ ^

  4. Leanne March 26, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    My husband is in-charge of weekend cooking, too. I must say that he's also way, way better than me in the cooking department! 😀

    • kirin March 28, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      Ohhh ^_^
      Now I really appreciate that he cooks on weekends. I wish he had started it earlier.

  5. Daniela March 26, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Both meals look so yummy although I don't eat any meat/fish^^

    I can't cook that well myself but my mum is crazy for my fried potatoes although I don't think they are that well made or specialXD I think it's more important to cook with love than to make everything 100 % perfect.

    Is potatoe salad popular in Japan? 'Cause it is in Germany, here it's a prefered meal for parties or barbeque, also eaten for christmas in some families (like mine). And I think everyone would say that her/his mother/grandmother makes the best potatoe salad in the whole world because everyone does it a different way.

    • kirin March 28, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Potato salad is popular in Japan too. Actually we eat a lot of western food (maybe arranged in Japanese way, more or less.)
      We eat sausages, hamburg steak, German potato, and etc. as an ordinary meal in Japan, speaking of German cuisine. Just like this, we eat Italian, French, or Spanish inspired cuisine as well. Japanese housewives cook these western food in-between Japanese cuisine, Chinese cuisine, and etc. We cook and eat various food at home and more variety of food outside. 🙂

  6. Saniell March 28, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Compliments to the chef…it looks delicious :).

    • kirin March 31, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Thank you! I'll convey your comment to him. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

