My daily life around Pi-chan

23 Mar

I love my dog like my own child or my best friend.
You may not believe it but I wish to spend my free time with Pi-chan as much as I can. I never thought I would love my dog this much…maybe too much. ^ ^;;

I used to love going out very often, eating out, shopping, meeting up with friends outside for a coffee and etc. But look at my life now. I wish to stay at home with Pi-chan and play or nap with her instead of going out. Even if I go out, I always think if she is doing well and I try to come back as soon as possible.

As a result, my life has become something very quiet, plain and simple. I stopped eating out and cook every meal to eat at home as often as I can. What a change! I don’t know if every dog owner is going to be like that…but I can’t believe a dog (Pi-chan) can change me so much!! I’m not bored with such a quiet life. Whenever I feel sad or upset, I think of the time with Pi-chan and I will be healed with peace and tranquility. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sometimes Pi-chan makes me laugh unexpectedly. The mess on the couch was somewhat convenient to her. She placed herself on such a small space that was made by the messy blanketใ€€by chance.

There should be many more comfortable places in the house, but she liked this tiny space then. ๐Ÿ™‚ Such small things make me smile and laugh.

I enjoyed myself taking her pictures from various angles. ๐Ÿ˜€ I feel that I become a child again when I’m playing with Pi-chan.

I hope she also had a lot of fun with me. I have many friends but she has only me and my husband. I can live till 80 something or more if everything goes well, but dog’s life is much shorter than humans. I truly wish her to fulfill her life as a dog while she is with us. Maybe I feel way too much for her, which she may not even realize. haha! Somehow I can’t stop that. I kept many kind of pets, especially when I was a kid. But I never felt so much for any of those pets. Pi-chan is very very so very special to me. I don’t know why. Maybe we have some connection from former life. Oh I (I think most of Japanese people too) believe in incarnation, by the way. I don’t know if it is taboo to talk about such in western culture, though…:p

Till next time!

25 Responses to “My daily life around Pi-chan”

  1. genny March 23, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    I think u are both very lucky to have found each other:) I also believe if u have a strong connection to something or someone it means u were also connected somehow in a past life. Seems like u have found a great friend:)

    • kirin March 23, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      Thank you, genny.
      I had a Shih Tzu as a family dog when I was around 20. She was kept by my mother. But I didn't love her as much as I do Pi-chan. Maybe because I'm the main person who takes care of her now? Yet I think this difference is beyond comparison.

  2. Laura Autรณn Garcรญa March 23, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    She is beautiful and looks so peaceful. I am glad you had such a connection with her ๐Ÿ™‚
    I don't own any pet. My mother in law has a cat, but sadly I hate him because he always treats me bad. As a cat, you can't control it nor "educate" it, so I am always scare of him and wish he were given to another family. It's sad I know, but if an animal always scratches and bites my legs and make my skin bleeds every time I am around, I don't want him at home. I would rather have a dog, because they are way more faithful than cats and you can control his behaviour. And Pi-chan looks so adorable that you wouldn't think about her hurting you, would you? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin March 23, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

      Hi Laura,

      Hope you've been doing well. ^ ^
      I know what you mean. Even though I love Pi-chan and animals, I can't cope with the ones that act like that cat. Basically I don't know how to read cat's mind. haha! One time a cat of my friend's jumped on my knees and I got so delighted. So later on, I tried to stroke her and then she got mad at me. Why?? I wish to understand cats more. I guess I'm basically a dog person who don't know how to handle cats properly. haha! ^ ^;;

      Pi-chan has never hurt me, never barked at me. She often looks at me in my eyes and we look at each other with no word. I tell her in my mind that I love her and I wish her to live many more years in great health.

      • walter March 24, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

        If a cat scratches you or bites you , it's because they feel threatened. I can stroke my cat when she is sitting next to me, but anywhere behind the neck and she gets nervous : the ears go from up to the side and if I put my hand there anyway, she'll bite me or scratch me. That's normal, it's the only way she can explain to me I'm doing something she doesn't want. That's the way cats talk to each other. Unfortunately their nails are so sharp , it's a bleeding scratch every time :). Stay calm and shout 'NO' loudly every time they come up to you to bite. Don't hit them, they'll only get more scared of you.

  3. sedonia2 March 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    Hi Kirin – I used to feel this way about my cat, Squeaky. I totally understand. It's possible that you were reincarnated and had other lives together (I do believe in this) but I think part of it is you are getting older and there are certain understandings about the short precious nature of life and love that deepen when you start heading toward the 40s. That's my experience – and so you want to spend more time with the people you love and not go around so much in relationships that are superficial. I'm the same way now – I turn 43 next month and what you're describing with Pi-chan is what I experience – I don't like to leave the house very much. I prefer to sit and watch TV with Mitch or go for a walk with him in the neighborhood than anything else. Hope I'm making sense. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin March 23, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

      Hi Sedonia,

      I love your comment. I think I like your insight and there's always something I can learn from you. I think it really makes sense! When I was in my 20s, I was thinking that I have to see this person and then this person because I haven't seen them for a long time. It was like a routine, haha! When I saw a few limited friends, I was worried I didn't want to see the fact that I have only a few friends.

      But how am I now? I exchange emails with friends overseas very often and I have only 1 friend from high school visited me every (other) weekend (the one who helps make cooking posts) and only a few others to see once in a while. My husband is like another best friend, which is like how Mitch is to you.

      So when 2 of my great friends (my husband and Pi-chan) stay home, why should I go out all the way? hahaha! ^__^

      Thank you for your interesting comment. So it has something to do with age as well. ^ ^;;

      • sedonia2 March 24, 2012 at 2:09 am #

        It's my pleasure, Kirin. I love when you write posts where you speak about these personal things. Then I feel inspired to share when I have laerned in my life. Being at this stage of life, you have a perspective that you can't possibly have when you're in your 20s. Your understanding in that age is limited and there is not so much a sense of mortality as there is when you get older. I have a sense of perspective I didn't use to have, of being able to look back at different phases of life and understand them in a way I never did before. I'm looking forawrd to your next post!<3

      • kirin March 25, 2012 at 11:26 am #

        I see! At an early stage of life, without having a certain perspective, I can't understand things well. Oh, yes. I understand that and can relate it to movies. That's why some movies are perceived differently when they are seen again several years later.

        Also, when was still a child, I didn't get why some women even kill themselves when they experience harsh heartbreaks. I thought they are completely insane or narrow-minded until I go through and suffer from heartbreaking love lost myself. Well I didn't even try to kill myself, of course, but I thought I could understand them better.

      • sedonia2 March 25, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

        Part 1 -Thatt's true – we can understand people better when we experience what they've experienced – you can empathize. At the same time, I think it's different for different people how they respond when they experience heartbreak – if for example, a woman kills herself because a man she was in love with left her – I would think that's narrow if she killed herself because she felt so unloved and worthless as a result of that man leaving her. Thatt wouldmean she already had the problem inside herself before she was with the man, that she would judge whether she is worthy of love and life based on the man's feelings or lack of feelings for her.

      • sedonia2 March 25, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

        part 2 – If she saw him and herself clearly and felt her heartbreak completely, then she would have been able to go on and perhaps even to grow in understanding. It's a terrible problem that most of us have – judging our own worth based on someone else's judgments – especially because that other person's judgments are colored by their own problems. That makes it even worse. In this case, we're not talking about two people in love who just can't live without each other and commit suicide together (shinju). That's another matter entirely. Hope I'm making sense. ๐Ÿ™‚ You see, your answer brought up a whole different issue of human development!

      • kirin March 26, 2012 at 8:47 am #

        Wow, you know the word "shinju"? (0_0)
        Yeah it's interesting how we see things from our own perspectives, which are sometimes biased. I noticed that my friends are changing at some point of my life.

        I met my friend from high school last year for the first time in many years and I was so shocked to see how she thinks differently from I do. We were such good friends and spent everyday together at high school, but everything she said was quite against my way of thinking then.

        Oh sorry I speak endlessly. lol I think we can talk hours over coffee or wine. lol

      • sedonia2 March 27, 2012 at 6:12 am #

        ๐Ÿ™‚ I learned about shinju from reading the Sano Ichiro mystery series by Laura Joh rowland set in 17th century Japan.

        Please don't apologize – we enjoy our conversations and definitely could talk for hours!

  4. Emily March 23, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    Awwww! i love my Mooch kitty like that too!!! I miss her when I'm away and I try to come home to her as quickly as possible. She always greets me with a mew and nuzzles my stair banister. She'll hop on my kitchen counter to give me nuzzles and kitty kisses ๐Ÿ˜€ She's my constant companion and I love my cat so much!! She's my kitty baby!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kirin March 23, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

      Hi Emily,

      Oh I'm so glad you feel like the way I do! I wish to know how to get along with cats. I can't read what they are thinking. Sometimes I feel scared of the little sound they are making. Any advice?? ^ ^;; Your cat sounds so sweet!!

      BTW, I tried to leave a comment in your blog but it turned out to be an error. I was logged in to my blog (wordpress.org) but I was asked to log into my blog to do that. Anyhow…I wanted to say that I liked your bracelets. ^ ^

      • diykawaii March 24, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

        Thanks! Mooch isn't a typical cat. She's very mellow and very friendly when company comes over. Some cats can be territorial over their owners and houses hence the meaness that some people can experience lol You can't treat a cat the same way you do a dog because they have different behaviorial patterns. Usually, if I'm visiting someone's house that have a cat, I don't go over and try to pick up their pet. I'll wait for the animal to come to me if s/he wants to say hi. Cats will often know if you're a cat person or not so I get lots of kitty love ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for the kudos on my blog ๐Ÿ˜€ I posted something today recommending you ๐Ÿ˜€

      • kirin March 25, 2012 at 11:37 am #

        Oh cats know that I'm not a cat person! lol That's why I have to feel some distance between cats all the time. I feel dogs are a lot closer. Maybe they also know that I'm a dog person… ^__^

        I think your approach to pets is very good. That's also good for dogs. I hear dogs don't like to have the head stroked and instead they love the chest to be stroked. There are also many rules to approach to dogs properly. I let them snuff and see if it'll be OK to touch them. ^ ^;;

        Oh sorry about the loss of videos. They are not available any longer.

  5. Evelyn March 23, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    I feel the exact same way about my dog, Chloe…..

    • kirin March 23, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

      Thank you Evelyn.

      I'm glad to hear that. ^ ^
      I never imagined it means so much to me to keep a dog. To be honest, before I kept Pi-chan, I thought people exaggerate too much when they say their dogs are considered their family member. Now I finally understand they meant it. ^ ^;;

      • diykawaii March 24, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

        I still miss my dog that died years ago ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I loved all my pets growing up ๐Ÿ˜€

      • kirin March 25, 2012 at 11:39 am #

        Oh you had a dog and some pets too before your Mooch.
        BTW Mooch is a cute name, but I'm surprised it's an English word as well meaning…like strolling? ^ ^;;

  6. Walter March 24, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    I'm glad you are so happy with your dog, Kirin. Keep in mind that he is a dog , though. sometimes they don't understand us and we don't understand them. Although, when they want to go for a walk or want food, they can explain very well usually .:D

    • kirin March 25, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      Right, she is a dog and she thinks/feels in a dog way, which should be different from human's way. I will have to tell it to myself like hundreds of time when I have to travel with her by air. I'm very worried how lonely and scared she feels in a cargo room of the airline, being totally separated from me then. But that's human's thought and dogs will think differently. That's my problem. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. Maneki Neko March 26, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I feel the same way about the family cats that we have. Maybe I feel this way about most cats I know. After seeing them, I think "I can't wait until I see them again!"

    Whenever I felt sad, one of the family cats would come cuddle next to me and spend hours with me, just sitting beside me. I felt really happy and loved.

    I think Pi-chan is really cute and sweet.

    • kirin March 26, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      "One of the family cats would come cuddle next tom me and spend hours with me"
      Oh how sweet! โค โค โค How nice to live with pets!! ^___^ Thank you for sharing that. I'm touched. โค

Leave a Reply

