Matcha cafe

26 Feb

nana’s green tea
nearest train station: Jiyugaoka (There are some branch stores in Japan.)
phone: 03-3718-3552
address: 1-29-18 Jiyugaoka, Meguro-ku, Tokyo
open: 10:30am – 10:30pm (Sunday: 10:30am – 9:00pm)

I personally like coffee more than British tea and I still prefer British tea and western desserts to green tea and Japanese desserts. (I don’t like Japanese sweets such as Youkan, Anmitsu, Dango, and etc. so much.) But somehow I felt like having a break at a matcha cafe when I visited Jiyugaoka the other day. It’s possible the interior and the lighting seemed relaxing to me. 🙂

As you can see, it’s a modern type of Japanese cafe that serves Japanese beverages such as matcha latte and Japanese desserts like matcha cake, anmitsu, kinako, and etc. By the way, here’s a sample of traditional Japanese cafe. For those who may love such traditional type of cafe, I’ll share with you the cafe info. just in case.

Mihashi
nearest train station: Ueno (There are some branch stores in Tokyo and Chiba.)
phone: 03-3831-0384
address: 4-9-7 Ueno, Taitou-ku, Tokyo
open: 10:30am – 9:30pm

Actually Mihashi is way more popular than nana’s green tea. 😀
Getting back to the nana’s green tea cafe, I only ordered a matcha latte, but I thought I should have ordered something sweet as well. It was a little bit too bitter and it must be great with something sweet.

The interior was relaxing although the cafe space was a little tight and narrow. It must be more crowded and so it should not be as relaxing as this on weekends…

Maybe I want to try something sweets and more next time. 🙂
Do you like matcha and Japanese desserts?

6 Responses to “Matcha cafe”

  1. Cath March 4, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    I like hot Japanese dessert and my husband goes for green tea ice cream and chestnut desserts.

    • kirin March 5, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      Oh green tea ice cream! It's good with sweet adzuki beans. ^ ^

  2. Lethia March 7, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    OMG I REALLY LOVE GREEN TEA !!!

    I drink cold ocha everyday (because singapore is always hot) & I heard green tea has many health benefits too !!! ❤

    In Singapore we have POKKA green tea, but its already sweetened/mixed with sugar (but its too sweet for me!). Not many ppl in here enjoy drinking just normal "green tea" / "ocha" which is bitter without sugar.

    Does japan also have Pokka Green Tea ??? if yes, is it sweet ???

    • kirin March 8, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      I don't think Pokka produces green tea in Japan. Itoen is very popular as a green tea maker. http://www.itoen.co.jp/eng/product_info/index.htm

      And in Japan, we usually drink bitter green tea without sugar. It was quite shocking to hear you drink sweetened green tea in Singapore! Well, actually I was shocked to have iced tea served sweetened from the beginning, without my agreement at a cafe in Singapore! I do drink sweet tea once in a while, but I like straight tea with no sugar, especially after meal and while working.

      Green tea is good for health. I personally prefer Iyemon green tea produced by Suntory. ^ ^ http://www.suntory.com/iyemon_cha/index.html

  3. Apple April 16, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Kirin! I was wondering why this cafe seemed so familiar…yes! Nana's Green Tea Cafe just set up near my place! and I kept wondering where did i see this before. Hahahaha! Finally I can try! ^^

    • kirin April 17, 2012 at 8:44 am #

      Oh really~~?? That's surprising!! Next time I go there, I'll try something sweet as well as matcha latte. The cafe in Jiyugaoka was a bit too narrow. I like ample space.

Leave a Reply

