Sweet Q-pot smartphone

8 Feb

I’ve introduced Docomo’s cute cellphones in 2009 and 2010, but this time they made it with smartphone! I have no idea why such kawaii phones don’t come out of other cellphone carriers including mine. (*_*)

It’s Docomo’s Q-pot Android Phone SH-04D, manufactured by Sharp.
(Disclaimer: The photos are quoted from Docomo‘s official website.)


With production limit of 50,000 sets, Docomo started to take orders since 4th of Feb. for its release date on 14th Feb., the Valentine’s Day! There’s no guarantee that the phones are in stock on the release day. Docomo recommends that we should pre-order it before then. (But it seems the phone does not have English guidance, anyway.)

The designer, Tadaaki Wakamatsu insists on the texture of the phone, as if holding a chocolate bar. I wonder what if this smells like a chocolate. I hear that we can control appetite by smelling something sweet. Some people put vanilla scent on the wrist and smell it whenever they feel like craving for sweets. :p

It doesn’t look like a charger, but it is. ^ ^;;

And a cute wallpaper looks like this.

The outer case looks like a box of chocolate. ^ ^

I’ve noticed they have increased the production as many as 50,000 sets, compared with around 15,000 sets or so in last 2 times. Considering that smartphone has finally become very popular last year in Japan, there should be many potential customers who might be interested in getting it. As for myself, I don’t feel a need of it yet at a moment, so I keep using my old cellphone. :p

Have you seen kawaii cell phone like this? What do you think of such design for a smartphone?

16 Responses to “Sweet Q-pot smartphone”

  1. Shimin February 8, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    How I wish I can use Japanese phones here in Singapore!

    Japan cellphones are so darn pretty and amazing! And the technology!

    And I just love how they cover everything from packaging, to insides, to consumer matters.

    Thanks for sharing!! *swoons*

  2. winnie February 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    This Phone is so Cool and "Yummy"!!
    But I will not considered this phone as I don't think it is comfortable to hold or use it. And not practical.
    If I want to get a better smartphone, I will prefer to use AQUOS PHONE SH-01D or Samsung Galaxy Note.

  3. Nadja Lee February 8, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    It's so adorble! πŸ˜€
    I wish I had a smartphone and a cover like this ^v^ It's so creative!

  4. Lore February 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    ooooo it's so cute!!! I want a cellphone like this, I need it!!! why there aren't phones like this here?? πŸ˜₯

  5. Fran February 8, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    Cuteness overload! What a delicious valentine's idea…! I wish more people would appreciate/had a demand for kawaii goods over here! 😦

  6. Karen February 9, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    My friend had a Docomo phone sent to her by her parents working in Japan and it was so cute! This chocolate bar phone is amazing. Chocolate and gold – I mean, that’s so lush!

    • kirin February 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      I don't think Japanese cell phones work outside Japan. Well, if your friend succeeded in changing the SIM cards, maybe it can be useful in her country. But normally Japanese cell phones are SIM locked and we have to sign a complicated contract to use it in Japan. So I really wonder if it can be useful there. :S

  7. Angel February 9, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    Too adorable!! I wish that there were cases like this in the USA. V_V

  8. Alberto February 9, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Hahaha nice phone.

    When I first saw the first image I though it was a real chocolate bar imitating a calculator or something.
    I love chocolate, and this phone looks amazing. I would order one, but… I think my pupils in school will like to play with it all the time, specially the 3 – 5 year old little girls ( i need to have my mobile phone in my teacher's table if someone calls me) :p

    Now that we see this fashion phone, do you even remember those ancient mobile phones in the 90s?
    My parent, when i was around 10, had one of those and I was so excited about that piece of fantastic technology… and now in a couple of years, everything in those years seems so ancient and useless…

    I'm talking about a phone like in this image: http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01686… ^_^

    Don't you find those old phone really kawaii? :$

    • kirin February 10, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      LOL That photo made me laugh! Hahahaha!! I've never seen such a thing. Wahahaha! (^w^)

      Oh, your students are so little? Small kids in 3-5 years old? I somehow imagined kids between13-15 y.o.

      • Alberto February 11, 2012 at 10:48 am #

        Hahaha. Yeah, that mobile in the photo looks now stupid or dumb. But there are other mobile phone even older, that i only saw in photos:
        http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-V8tTQ9t325U/TgT0w2xMVlI

        or this
        http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_TahXQ2WiF0s/SNaBbLLIVaI

        Those are really old. The one that i post in my first message looks now a nice piece of futuristic technology.

        No damn… I don't like boys and girls in their adolescence. To give you an idea of the troublesome of the adolescents in Spain, it's common to see a teacher with depression or stressed or even leaving the school because the students (well, this last one is not that common, but it happened sporadically). It's not like in USA where they need police in school, but still, you need to had a firm hand and a lot of patience.
        I know a teacher that was pushed down the stairs by their own pupils… It's really sad and makes me mad, but there is not easy to solve this problem, since the laws here say that teachers can't hit pupils, not even a simple slap. Doing it could lead the teacher to jail.

        I will send you some photos with me and my little kids when on carnival (it's next week).
        Currently I have 30 kids, divided in four classrooms, from 3 yo to 5 yo, the oldest one. πŸ˜€

      • kirin February 11, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

        Hahaha! I thought the first one was a vacuum or something. lol
        Thank you for sharing and made me laugh. ^_^ I like laughing wahahaha~~~ (^w^)

        About teaching job, unfortunately we have similar situation in Japan. Also what's worse here is the parents of the students. Some parents are so violent and they are called "Monster Parents" that annoy teachers. 😦

        Oh, yes! I'd love to see your picture! Looking forward to your email. ❀

  9. jessy February 10, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    aaaaaaah!! >v v<
    wa i love it.
    if only apple signed up with japan and came out with these in u.s and other countries.
    haha sometimes im so envious that japan has kawaii things that are only sold to japan. T^To

    • kirin February 10, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      Haha, that's true. Japan may not think if there's a market that support something kawaii outside Japan. The entire nation is in love with cuteness in this country, excluding some men. XD

      • Alberto February 11, 2012 at 10:59 am #

        If I would have every kawaii thing you show us in TKE, i think my friends would call me gay.
        I find them funny and beautiful but in my culture those objects will be better for women than men XD

        But hey, this doesn't mean I don't like them. I find everything you show us really interesting.

        Cya.

      • kirin February 11, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

        It's natural that women in general like kawaii things more than men in Japan too. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

