Would you dare to tell your friends this?

3 Feb

Just a quick post to introduce you something very weird. 🙂
I can never think of such a service and also I wonder if there’s any demand for such a thing. But this is it. It’s a nostril hair notification. What??? (*w*)??
It’s called “Chololi” which is I guess from the imitative word in Japanese that illustrates something is hanging out…

This service can finally make you feel easy (?) to let your friend know that the nostril hair is showing from his or her nose. I see. It’s a delicate issue but it’s also difficult to ignore. Sometimes we’re not sure if we should tell it to friends or just keep silence… ^ ^;;



Oh, good news is that they have their website in English and Chinese as well. 🙂

That means you can make use of this service, even if you don’t read Japanese! The following illustration shows how it works.

Fill out this form and hit the “Request” button. Then you can double-check your message before it’s transmitted to your friend.

What’s interesting is that you can actually choose from several options how you’d like to tell it to your friend.
“Don’t request to pull out.”
“In a mild tone.”
“In a strong tone.”
“In a commanding tone.”
“In a scornful tone.”

How did you like that? Be careful not to send out this message randomly, some people might take it serious and get mad at you. ^ ^;;;

22 Responses to “Would you dare to tell your friends this?”

  1. Lorena February 3, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    hahaha I can’t imagine myself sending this message XD that’s weird

    • kirin February 4, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Me neither. I don't feel like using this service by myself. I also don't know how to handle it when I receive a message from someone through this website…XD

  2. Apple February 3, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Urm.

    Hahahah!

    It's so…I don't know what to say! Haha!

    • kirin February 4, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      Hahaha! I don't know if what they are doing can be a business…it's just so weird… ^ ^;;;

  3. thimbledore February 3, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    I think it's quite funny! But if it came from a close friend, I'd wonder why they didn't just whisper it to me.

  4. thimbledore February 4, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Exactly! I can't tell – does the text tell you who it came from or is it anonymous? If I got a message like this and I couldn't tell who sent it, I'd be mortified.

    • kirin February 5, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

      That is…I'm not sure. lol I am not encouraged to try this thing out yet. But maybe you can test with your 2 different emails to see how it works. lol

  5. sedonia2 February 4, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    lol. I'm glad that with most of my friends, I can just come right out and tell them to get rid of the nose hair! 😉

    • kirin February 5, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      lol I like that. Maybe it's such a delicate issue especially in Japanese society.

      • sedonia2 February 5, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

        Maybe I've misunderstood – in private, if your friend had a stray nosehair, you'd be able to just let her know? But then when you're in public, you'd not want to embarrass her and so use the service? I was thinking a person would just not want to tell her friend at all about the nose hair! lol

        We have a funny yet subtle way of telling someone here that their pants zipper is undone. You look at them and say softly, "X.Y.Z!" This means" Examine your zipper. Then they know to look down and go zip up their pants. ha!! I don't mean you go up to a stranger and tell them. But for a friend, you'd say it so they won't go around another second with their pants unzipped. ;lol

      • kirin February 6, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

        "X.Y.Z!" lol How interesting! I love love love to hear and learn this kind of expressions a lot, because we can't learn them from a textbook when we learn English. Thank you for telling me this. 😀
        I found it quite interesting when I first heard that the job No.1 and No.2 at a bathroom. lol

      • sedonia2 February 6, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

        lol. yes number one and two. I like the Japanese expresion for the zipper being down. Hey, if you ever have any questions about English expressions or usage, please don't hesitate to ask.

      • kirin February 8, 2012 at 1:15 am #

        Thank you Sedonia!
        I don't have many American friends, so your help will mean a lot to me. ^_^

      • sedonia2 February 8, 2012 at 6:43 am #

        My pleasure. Anytime.

  6. Walter February 4, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Ahahaha! So Japanese people are sensitive about nose hair hanging out ?
    I'll be careful to trim mine when I visit Japan.
    It reminds me of a story about a French explorer in the 19th century , who traveled through the Sahara with nomad tribes. He was astounded by the fact that although these herdsmen were very sensitive about the beauty of the spoken word ( he spoke arabic fluently ) and spent their evenings telling stories, that they had no eye at all for the beauty of the nature surrounding them.
    If he would remark to them that a particular landscape in the morning sun looked beautiful , they'd look at him totally astounded : "Whaaaat ? This isn't beautiful at all. This is a terrible place for our cattle to graze !" ^^
    .
    One morning,he and the men were all washing themselves at a pond, when one of the herdsmen sidled up to him and whispered : " Sir ! Erm… Your .. nose is showing! Your nose !" He didn't understand, till it dawned on him that his underwear had come undone and not his nose but another part of his anatomy was hanging out..
    do you have a similar service for when one's fly is unzipped ? Or how do you handle that ?

    • kirin February 5, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      lol I don't know, but we say in Japanese "Shakai no mado ga aite imasu" to describe the situation to a man that his pants zipper is unzipped. I don't know why we say this but "shakai" means society, "mado" means window, "aite imasu" means is open.

      • Alberto February 9, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

        I find pulling out nostril hair so painful…
        I really don't have much of that hair, but if I had to pull it out i wouldn't do it :@

        At Spain, we say to the people with the pants zip opened, we say "¡¡¡Tienes las puertas de la Iglesia abiertas!!!" that in English is something like "Hey friend, you have the church's gates open!!!". As you, I really don't know the reason of this strange phrase.

      • kirin February 11, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

        Hahaha! You're funny. ^_^
        We normally cut it but don't pull it because it's so painful. In Japan there are scissors especially made for nose hair cut. The edge is round not sharp, because it could hurt the nostril. However I hear some people even have permanent epilation and free from nose hair. I think that's too much though. *_*

  7. Tereza February 7, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    How weird! But is really made me laugh :))

    • kirin February 8, 2012 at 1:15 am #

      Hahaha!! 😀

  8. Salma February 7, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    That's a funny service, and interesting to know about it. 😆
    Your reply to one of the comments above reminded me of the most embarrassing situation in Egypt which is finding a guy's pant's zip open. Surely, the guys have their own funny phrases (and guys are very clever at inventing many new phrases about that) about this situation to tell each other indirectly to close the zip, but for girls it's too embarrassing to tell a guy such phrases at all. A girl may just draw away her face saying "Your pants!" and he would understand immediately. 😆

    • kirin February 8, 2012 at 1:35 am #

      It's always nice to hear how things are in Arabic society. I watch Spanish-speaking TV drama to learn Spanish by myself but they describe a lot of Muslim and many scenes in Morocco. So I'm naturally interested in Arabic culture and language as well. Some Arabic words are spoken there such as "Shukran" "Havivi" "Lala" "Halam" (?) "Inch Allah". ^ ^

Leave a Reply

