How to make up and stay beautiful after age 40?

28 Dec

Bimajo
Dec/03/2011 on air

Lately, fashion magazines targeting women in their 40s are published one after another.

Glow‘s article of how the women in their 40s dress everyday, for example was a big hit. Some cosmetic brands also target women in late 30s to early 40s. They think it’s the women in their 40s that are active and have consumer appetite. Yet, it’s serious how body line changes when women turn 40. Department stores try to have a salesroom exclusive for anti-aging controlling undergarment for their targeted customers aged around 40.

Tokyo Kawaii TV found the most beautiful “arafour” (around age 40) women and how they maintain the beauty. Bimajo contest was held in Nov. 2011. 2000 beautiful women aged over 35 under 46 gathered from all over Japan to participate in the contest. Tokyo Kawaii TV especially focused on 3 women.

1) Ebisawa-san, 37 y.o.
She’s a mom of 4 kids. But she’s not only that. She used to be a snowboard cross Japan champion and she is a master of Ikebana (the Japanese traditional art of arranging cut flowers) and Shodo (Japanese calligraphy). She applied for the contest 5 days before she gave birth to her 4th child. “I don’t want to lose charm as a woman, even if I’m a mother of 4 kids.” She started exercise right after the childbirth and she has lost 11kg in the past 5 months. She wouldn’t quit training no matter how much her baby cries. She wants to show her kids through her own experience that we can get a prize if we make an effort.

2) Hibi-san, 39
She used to be a car race model with a thin 57cm waist, but she gained 15kg at pregnancy. She inflates a plastic bag and kicks it up like soccer ball juggling. She does it 50 times each in the morning and evening.


Then she uses a spoon to massage her facial muscle. The empty water bottle is to train abdominal.


She is quite unhappy with the fat on her belly, and she is trying her best to make it flat so she can wear a bikini at the contest.

3) Nagayama-san, 41
She is avoiding sunshine as much as she can, because she thoroughly seeks for white skin. It’s not only when she is walking outside but also during a few minutes when she dries laundries in the balcony. She never fails to wear a hat, a sun visor, gloves and etc. to cover her body. (under hot humid summer weather!) She also spends 4 hours everyday for facial exercise.


She does 22 types of facial exercises everyday and night. “Age 40 with or without exercise makes difference in physical appearances. We have to make an effort to maintain beauty at age 40 and older,” she says.

Next is how to make up and look 5 years younger.
Chiaki Shimada, a makeup artist for great actresses such as Mao Daichi or Seiko Matsuda, advises how to make marionette lines invisible. He also looks younger considering his age is 53. He advises that we should choose base color one tone lighter than our skin color. However, as for foundation, we should choose a bit darker one and put it on the face lightly with a brush. Then, pat the concealer on the marionette lines. The concealer maybe 2 or 3 tones lighter than our skin color.

“Base makeup is a key that changes how you look, when you turn 40.” “You may not have enough eyelashes that can hold up mascara. That’s why you’ll need false eyelashes to be applied downward and do not apply eyeliner,” he continues.

Next is how to make dekame (big eyes) that look good on elder women.
A 46-year-old woman in love with Gyaru fashion looks even older because her Gyaru way of makeup doesn’t look good on her. A popular Gyaru model Kumikki is here to help her. Her Gyaru makeup is appreciated by wide range of generation because it’s not too Gyrau. She advises that we should twist false eyelashes, upward (corner) and downward (tail), and apply lower lashes a bit under the line of the tail of eyes. In that way we can make natural dekame that does not look too Gyaru for the women around 40.

At the Bimajo contest, there were 3 types of test; bathing suits, special skills, and dress tests.
Hibi-san successfully lost the fat around the waist line and she was somehow awarded an Oppai prize. (beautiful breasts)

Nagayama-san was awarded a photogenic prize.

Ebisawa-san presented the proud calligraphy that she continues over 20 years but unfortunately she didn’t receive an award.

The winner was a 45-year-old corporate operator.

=====
Kirin’s opinion:
Now, I’m getting scared to turn 40, as it seems that without such effort I could get old so soon! x_____x But I don’t want to use my time and effort for so much of exercise everyday. I’ve got plenty of things and work to do! I really respect how these women pursuit beauty but at the same time I feel tired about the society that pays so much attention to physical beauty. I liked how the mom (Ebisawa-san) tried to teach her kids a lesson by showing how much she makes efforts for the goal. I wanted her to get a prize.
=====
Disclaimer: Tokyo Kawaii TV is a TV program owned and broadcasted by NHK Japan, and has nothing to do with this blog.

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.
***If you want to know the music that was used in the episode, please refer to this page and help yourself to find it by selecting the date when the episode was on air in Japan.

25 Responses to “How to make up and stay beautiful after age 40?”

  1. denny December 28, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    The exercise with the plastic bag seems so tempting! Although I didn't get if it actually works? I'm so out of shape that I need something interesting and fun to do *sigh*
    But I definitely am not as beauty-crazed as those ladies, but it makes me realize that I do nothing to keep myself "fresh and good looking", I'm so lazy -____-

    • kirin December 29, 2011 at 12:42 am #

      I'm lazy too when it comes to boring exercise.
      That's why I make it simplest and easiest and now I see how it will work out for me. I feel my face line and bottom measurement of the bust get a little slim, besides my waist line. But I stick to it on a long term basis.
      Oh, I was talking about this one, I posted the other day. ^ ^ http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/10333

  2. Maneki Neko (MN) December 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    That was interesting and inspirational too! I'll turn 30 next year and I like to see things about older women. Thanks Kirin!!

  3. sedonia2 December 28, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Hi Kirin – I'm about to turn 43 in the next April and I have to say that when I was 39 I too, had anxiety about entering the 40s. I must say though, and I jsut said it to someone a few days ago – I really enjoy being in my 40s very much. In spite of some of the physical changes (yes, you do need to take care with eating and exercise and grooming) BUT, there is no comparison emotionally as a person to being in my 20s. I wouldn't want to go back to that younger age where so much is unsettled and you don't know yourself. I find I have so much more appreciation of love and friendship and compassion – I feel like a ripe fruit inside that is so much sweeter. there's no other way I can think of to compare it. 🙂

    • kirin December 29, 2011 at 12:31 am #

      Wonderful comment, Sedonia! I enjoyed reading it. ^ ^ I'm 37 now and your comment is encouraging.

  4. Patty December 28, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Hi Kirin, there's no video to watch, is it avilable somewhere? Can you provide a link?

    As for me, in mid 30s, I have to make time to exercise and keep up. It's sad, but then I also get very upset at myself when I'm fat and pudgy. So I do schedule time now to go to the gym and workout. Albeit, it's a very lose schedule, meaning: if I have something better to do or meet with friends, I will reschedule my sessions. 😛

    • kirin December 29, 2011 at 12:35 am #

      Video is no longer available because something's wrong with the system. That's the reason I put some pictures.
      Wow, you manage yourself so well. But I understand it well that you'd feel upset at yourself when you get fat. I get scared how easily I can get fat these days. (T_T)

  5. Rebekah December 29, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    I think the mother would be better off spending some of the time she’s working out spent with her children. They’ll appreciate the memory of their mothers love more than the memory of their mother’s abs! A lesson of letting go of one’s wants (aka her figure) for their love will be a much more poignant and valuable lesson for her children in the future!
    As long as she reassures the children that they are the priority rather than her body, I think – good for her! Keeping up with one’s figure at an older age (or any age) is really respectable!

  6. Angel December 29, 2011 at 4:18 am #

    Wow, well even without all that maintenance, I still think asian women are very lucky, they have youthful faces even in the before pictures!
    ^_^;

    I am a little obsessed with anti-aging even though I am just 23! I think the media has scared me into it haha. I am not too crazy though. But I make sure to take in vitamins and antioxidants and to wear sunscreen when I am outside. I am so lazy with exercise though!! I think because I'm still a bit young…my body is good for now, but I know I can't be lazy forever or it might catch up with me! @___@; anyway, really pretty and talented ladies! I hope I can see the episode sometime, Im curious about the woman that does the facial exercises, 4 hrs is too long though, lol.

  7. Cathy December 29, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    For someone in the 30s like me, signs of aging (wrinkles, flabs, saggy skin, lines, etc.) and getting fit are something that give me a little concern everyday. I'm not friends with the gym as I find it boring, hehe. What I do is download some exercise videos and do it at home. And you gave me an idea about that inflated balloon exercise. 🙂

    • kirin December 30, 2011 at 12:32 am #

      Same here, I feel it's quite boring to work out in a gym. I'd prefer dancing or something fun that makes me forget that I am working out. I want to learn how to belly dance but the price is not friendly when 2 lessons a month cost 6000yen or something. If I do it, I want to do it often. But at home, there's no room to dance. -_-

      It's been a month since I started that pelvis pillow exercise and I feel the difference at my under bust size, too. Before I was scared I might have to change all the bras because my under bust size increased (T_T) but I don't need to do that after all thanks to the pillow! It really worked to me!! 😀

  8. Amanda December 29, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I totally agree with you Kirin! I think it's good to take pride in your appearance and look nice, but I don't like all the emphasis on looking young, they act like age is something to be ashamed about.

    • kirin December 30, 2011 at 12:44 am #

      Oh Amanda! You have the same thought as mine! I totally think it's also very wonderful if one spend the time and effort for the mental health or mental beauty by reading good books or volunteering or helping people. And when they don't look young for their age, I wouldn't look down on them.

      BTW, have you read this post some time ago? http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/10333

      Now I'm working on it, it's as if "Nerudake Diet" (You know Japanese, right) and it's as simple as lying down on a pillow for 5 minutes everyday and it really worked out for me! ^ ^ Every evening after I finish bathing, I lie down on it and I can make it a habit in everyday routine. I hope to continue it for years to come. ^ ^

      • Amanda January 2, 2012 at 6:43 am #

        I'm coming to Japan in March so I might try it! 🙂 Sounds like something I can easily do in my dorm room at university. 🙂
        I'm about to start 6 weeks of diet and exercise. I got personal training sessions for Christmas and will do 2 per week. Also I'm starting a food program called "Lite n Easy" tomorrow. They deliver portion-controlled food to your house. http://www.liteneasy.com.au/ I hope it tastes good! I want to lose about 7kg… 頑張ります!

      • kirin January 3, 2012 at 8:35 am #

        Wow! You are really working so hard! がんばって!
        3月ってもうすぐだね。ついに日本に来るんだ!月日が経つのは早いな~~
        Hope to see you some time in Tokyo. 😉

    • yaeltiferet December 1, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      I think there are serious flaws with this line of argument.

      I'm not ashamed that I will be 49 years old in the coming year–I'm very proud that I have survived 49 years in this often difficult and heartbreaking world!

      But the visible signs of aging are caused by wear and tear on the body and the DNA in our cells–google "telomeres", for instance. Trying to stop or curtail these visible signs of aging is just common sense, particularly if you want to continue living an active life. Lines in your skin, loose skin, extra weight above your natural weight (I'm not into dieting), droop and spotting–these are natural in the exact same way that scars and diseases are natural–they're DAMAGE to your body.

      So when I realised that even though I look much younger than my age, people were beginning to see me as 30 something instead of 20 something, and noticed that I was getting dark circles under my eyes and a line or two, I absolutely started to get serious about taking care of my skin!

      I won't deny that part of this is a wish to avoid dealing with societal bigotry and losing the privilege I get from having a good appearance–privilege and bigotry that I wish did not exist. But even if those things didn't exist, I'd still want to preserve the suppleness and smoothness of my skin because I can't get another one if this one wears out! If I get spots from aging I need to wear more SPF and better BB cream because the next step could be skin cancer. If I get lines, oh well, but I want to get as few of them as possible.

      If you get a scar or a sign of damage that can't be prevented, then be proud of it as a sign you've survived something. But I don't understand embracing and welcoming scarring and damage. I'm proud that I've lived so long in this body, but that doesn't mean I want this body to look more "lived in" and abused than it has to look.

  9. Walter December 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Hi Kirin. nice post. It's nice to see that you can look great at any age by making an effort 🙂 Ah , the pillow works? Good for you ! I am reading a book on Japanese food and ways of eating which says you have nothing to worry about ( if you eat Japanese food in the Japanese way ). you can find a copy here : http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/Japanese-Women-Do
    🙂

    • kirin January 1, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      My problem is that I don't like Japanese food in the Japanese way so much. ^ ^;; Well I like rice, sushi and some Japanese cuisine but for example I don't like tofu so much and I'd prefer pasta to soba or udon. -_-
      My father is very healthy in his 70s and without exception, he loves Japanese cuisine. Most of what he eats are Japanese food. But, please share with me what you find in the book later! I'm curious. ^ ^

  10. Cath January 4, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    I've another 5 years! Incidentally, I started exercising this evening. I'm tired of looking unhealthy. I think if I put in more effort to exercise, I'll be a more active mum for my children. It's good to set an example for them too.
    I think my husband will appreciate a more attractive wife. Haha…

    • kirin January 6, 2012 at 2:36 am #

      Hi Cath,

      I think you are already an attractive mom and wife, but it's good you try to be better any time! ^ ^

  11. Emily January 19, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I emailed this to my mom who is in her 50's. It seems that a lot of beauty and makeup stuff here in the States is aimed for girls in their 20's and younger. I didn't start wearing makeup until I was 16! lol It's very useful to know these tips when you get older so you can look decent and not over done. I see a lot of older women that have no idea how to do their makeup for their aging skin. They still use the heavy liners and foundations. Yikes!! Less is more girls!!

    • kirin January 21, 2012 at 2:01 am #

      I wonder what your mother thought after she watched it. ^___^

    • Keiko Yuinawa January 29, 2012 at 4:31 am #

      Hi ,I am Keiko, 52years old but I love to watch the Tokyoukawaii TV show. I have been inerested in fashion & beauty field since I was young and I still I wish I could join them but its kind of late because of aging…I feel hopeless but if someone ineterested in star up new 50's group to paticipate the TV show. lt is one of my "Bucket list….. However, I have nothing started yet but Kirin-san gave me some ideas…..Please support me if you and your mom interested in it.

      • kirin January 30, 2012 at 7:47 am #

        Keiko-san,

        Maybe you could link your Facebook or twitter account here so that like-minded people may contact you in the future. 😉
        I wish you all the best!

        Kirin ❤

Leave a Reply

