Karankoron Kyoto (Japanese-style zakka store)

22 Dec

Japanese-style goods store
Karankoron Kyoto
store locations: many locations in major cities and online
(This post is from their Yokohama branch store.)

“Karankoron Kyoto” is a chain store that sells Japanese-style zakka, such as furoshiki, tenugui (towel), tabi socks, coin case, bag, and many other small goods. And of course, in kawaii taste, as you can imagine. πŸ˜‰

I was able to take many pictures this time! I don’t really carry Japanese-style zakka myself but I like their kawaii pattern and small goods. When I buy some Japanese souvenir for my foreign friends in Europe, Karankoron Kyoto is one of the shops I’d visit.

I enjoy browsing these goods… πŸ™‚ They are kawaii and nice enough for a little present, I guess.

Can you see they are watches? I didn’t notice that. (maybe the picture was too small, haha!)

I like these tabi socks! The rabbit embroidery is so kawaii!! πŸ˜€

Oh, this is seasonal. I mean, they are for New Year. 2012 is the year of the Dragon. But I personally don’t care about collecting animal symbols of Oriental Zodiac. Some people love to. But I don’t.

Small decorations for New Year and a 2012 calendar. It’s the end of year 2011…time flies so fast!

Above all else, I like kawaii tenugui or furoshiki.

It’s really cool if I can wrap various things with furoshiki. I really wish to learn how to wrap things beautifully with furoshiki. It’s an art! What do you think?

14 Responses to “Karankoron Kyoto (Japanese-style zakka store)”

  1. Ms.Godzilla December 23, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    kawaii!
    I also love furoshiki, they are so useful!

    • kirin December 24, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      As is always, I was happy to take pictures and totally forgot to buy it for myself. ^ ^;;

  2. Jessie Borman December 23, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Hello Kirin! OMG so kawaii! when I see all these Japanese and Korean cuteness, I get giddy with happiness, haha!

    • kirin December 24, 2011 at 8:08 am #

      Hi Jessie,
      Oh I believe you have kawaii designs in your country. Scandinavian-inspired design is often appreciated in Japan. ^ ^

  3. Miki December 24, 2011 at 4:47 am #

    Those are adorable! They'd make great gifts for some of my friends, you know? Now that it's Christmas, haha!
    I wish I could get a watch for my cousin, Hatsumi. She's half Japanese and she loves these type of cute things!
    Thanks for sharing!

    • kirin December 24, 2011 at 8:10 am #

      "Hatsumi" sounds lovely. ^ ^
      Merry Christmas!

  4. Maneki Neko (MN) December 24, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I love the rabbit (?) furoshiki at the bottom! It's really cute!!! I want to go to this store when I go to Japan. Thanks for posting this!

    • kirin December 25, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Me too! I loved the rabbit shaped one! (Yes, it's written in Japanese as "Usagi tsutsumi" meaning rabbit wrap.) XD
      Their stores are often found in a shopping mall. πŸ˜‰

  5. Cath December 26, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Kirin! Thanks for the email. I hardly use the computer during the holiday because I'm at home. It's lovely to visit your site again, as usual. n_n

    • kirin December 29, 2011 at 12:37 am #

      Hi Cath! Oh don't worry about that. :))

  6. azi December 29, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    i seriously want to go to Japan seeing these cute stuffs!! they're lovely…<3 is there any chance that someone can supply me with these incase i gonna open up a little shop here in Dubai or in Philippines? πŸ™‚

    • kirin December 30, 2011 at 12:20 am #

      Oh you're from Dubai? Do you think people there would appreciate such goods? Very interesting. And it's so cool if you open up a little shop of yours! ^_^ (Maybe I can help you from Japan? haha!)
      Anyhow, here's a way. We have GIFT SHOW in Tokyo or Osaka twice a year where suppliers and buyers meet for the purpose of business. You find the suppliers at the show, and negotiate with them on a whole sale price basis. πŸ˜‰
      http://www.giftshow.co.jp/english/73tigs/index.ht

  7. Danúbia Mathuz August 30, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    OMG, só de ver todas essas coisinhas lindas, fico querendo ir para o japan.

    • kirin September 2, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Todas estan lindas, verdad? ^ ^ (Me parece que tu entiendes que estoy hablando aunque es español.)

Leave a Reply

