Ramen and Crystal Bowls music…

11 Dec

Senmi
nearest train station: Musashinitta (Tokyu Tamagawa Line)
address: 1-7-9 Yaguchi, Ohta-ku, Tokyo
phone: 03-5482-1003
open: 11:00am – 2:30pm / 5:00pm – 0:30am
close: irregularly

The other day, my husband and I had Ramen before we went to a Crystal Bowls healing session at a shrine. We were the first customers there because we entered right after they opened at 11 in the morning.


This Ramen restaurant seemed still new.

My husband selected a set of ramen, rice and boiled gyoza (dumpling), while I ordered salt flavored ramen. Both of us got a bonus Ajitama (half-boiled egg seasoned with soy sauce and dashi) because we had Gurunavi coupon. ^ ^ As is usual with some Ramen restaurants, Oomori (large portion) is the same price as regular portion. This doesn’t make me happy if I am alone, but I ordered Oomori because my husband could help me finish it. ^ ^;

I liked these bite-sized boiled gyoza that came with my husband’s ramen set. 🙂

I’ve never tasted chicken char siu before. (Char siu is a Chinese-styled barbecued pork. It’s usually pork.) Compared with pork, chicken smells less and it was less oily. But hmm…I think I’ll prefer pork char siu. The soup was also less oily, which was my taste. To be exact, I felt dashi taken from fish in the soup. I think that Japanese taste makes ramen less oily. I don’t like ramen soup with too much oil.

The noodle was thick and straight (not frizzed or curly). I personally prefer thin frizzed noodles but I thought the noodle was matching with the soup. The mianma (the brown one in the picture, which is actually Chinese bamboo shoot sliced and seasoned) was yummy. Ajitama was so delicious by the way. I liked their ramen. ^ ^

The Crystal Bowls music live or a healing session was held in this shrine. I’m not sure if I should call it a concert or a session or a workshop. It was the first time for us to listen to Jun Makino’s performing live Crystal Bowls. I quite liked his CD book.

We were allowed to lie down on the tatami and many people naturally fell asleep, thanks to the healing sounds. However, tatami floor was too hard for my body shape and I felt quite uncomfortable with my back and it was also cold in spite of the air-cons’ being fully operated. I fell asleep while I was sitting before I knew…

Jun Makino’s Crystal Bowls are not just white. Crystal Bowls sounds are considered effective for healing and good for health. I expected I’d love the live music much more than the CD, but my honest thought is that I’m quite OK with CD music to which I can listen from home. Home is the most relaxing place to me. I don’t like to sit or lie on a tatami floor.

Well, I was supposed to write two different posts categorized two different categories, but this time I made it one. Sorry if it was confusing to you. 😉 It’s just another daily life of mine from Tokyo! Hope you had a nice weekend!

11 Responses to “Ramen and Crystal Bowls music…”

  1. sedonia2 December 11, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    That food looks absolutely delicious! I just know that if I ever make it over to Japan, I will literally eat my way across Tokyo. LOL! The shrine is beautiful too but I agree with you – home is the most comfortable place to rest. Thanks for the post, Kirin. Enjoyable as always. 🙂

    • kirin December 12, 2011 at 2:31 am #

      Thank you Sedonia, for your comment. It was kind of a surprise that I didn't get so impressed with the live music. I expected the live music would sound much more powerfully and I'd feel so much special about that…

      But I truly felt the difference when he approached me and made a sound around my head. I kinda got the shivers at first and then I felt my body's feeling so warm. *o*

      • sedonia2 December 12, 2011 at 3:48 am #

        That's really cool! Yes – sound has a profound effect on us – it affects the brain waves. That's why it's so important not to listen to music that rough and jarring.

      • kirin December 14, 2011 at 1:59 am #

        I see! ^_^

  2. Troo December 12, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Ahh, I think shio ramen is my favourite! And it isn't easy (or cheap!) to get in the UK. Now I'm drooling hahaha ❤

    • kirin December 14, 2011 at 2:15 am #

      Oh same here, I like shio ramen the most too! Tonkotsu ramen is also nice, but I often feel sick when I smell the emitted air from the kitchen of ramen restaurant when I pass through the street. I think that's the smell created when tonkotsu soup is made.

  3. Lore December 14, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    I'd never heard about Crystal Bowls sounds, when I came home I will look for some video in youtube, and I think like you, that my own home is the most relaxing place 🙂

    • kirin December 16, 2011 at 12:45 am #

      Yes, you can check Youtube and also when you click the "Crystal Bowls healing session" link in the post (at the early part of this post, right under the Google map) the website opens with the sound. (If you turn SOUND ON at the right top of the website.) ^ ^ It's how they sound.

  4. Miki December 16, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Just looking at these pictures makes me hungry. * __ *
    I use to invite my friend on days off school for ramen, and I think they served us even more than you seem to have! My bowl was huuuuuge!!
    Thanks for sharing!

    • kirin December 17, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      Oh, it's possible ramen bowl is bigger in the U.S. Actually everything seems to be big over there. U.S sized ice cream or soda or burger cannot be found in Japan. A small cup of Haagen-Dazs in Japan is the same price of the big U.S one.

  5. Akaito January 30, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    I love ramen

Leave a Reply

