Kayo Satoh

24 Nov

Here’s Apple’s post. ๐Ÿ™‚

Kayo Satoh may well be every guy’s dream girl!

She’s not only very pretty, she’s also famous in Japan and overseas for being a great Street Fighter player. She is more commonly known by her gaming pseudonym “Kayo Police”.

Kayo Satoh revealed that she had been born as a male last year.ย I’m sorry to bring up old news over here. I was reminded of her again when my friend wrote on her Facebook that her husband just discovered Kayo Satoh while watching Street Fighter videos.

When I first watched Kayo Satoh’s videos and viewed her pictures, I was amazed that a guy can be so beautiful and feminine.

She has been injecting herself with female hormones since she was 15.ย 

Here is Kayo-chan without any makeup! (ใ‚นใƒƒใƒ”ใƒณ suppin: no makeup)

She has also released her photobook on 23 June 2011, baring her story to all her fans and supporters.

I read that she shocked many of her male fans and some of them were upset because she made them confused of their gender preference… -___-“

I think she’s very brave though.

Anyway, I’ve wanted to do this for a very long time… introducing Japan’s cute idols and celebrities on TKE. I hope you enjoyed this post! I will write about another cute and popular girl soon if you like it! ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you all know who Kayo Satoh is prior this post? What do you think about her? Do you like her? I find her so feminine and pretty! ^^ I think, so far, after revealing the truth about her gender, she has more positive comments and support than negative reactions, so I feel happy for her! ย ๏ผผ(^o^)๏ผ

Kirin’s opinion:
Thank you Apple! I always enjoy your post, but especially posts about Japanese idols are nice. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s what I cannot write by myself. It may sound weird but I think you know such topics better than I do. ^ ^; I didn’t even know Kayo Satoh well. lol Thanks!

29 Responses to “Kayo Satoh”

  1. denny November 24, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I would have never guessed that she was born male! In fact when I read it I was like "What, did I read it right?" But this sure is amazing. She has more feminine appearance than myself hehe. And about those guys that were angry at her, well, I don't think they are right to question their sexuality. I believe that falling for someone has nothing to do with their gender ๐Ÿ™‚

    And please, do continue with those posts! They are very interesting. Only maybe it would have been nice if there was more info involved, because with this post my curiosity was not satisfied xD!

    • Apple November 24, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      Ah! Haha! Hi Denny!

      I like your line "I believe that falling for someone has nothing to do with their gender" so much!!!!!!!!!! There is a famous Taiwanese host who is gay, and he said this before, "I am just like anyone else. I fall in love. And it just so happened that the person I fell in love with is a man." It sure made me understand homosexuals and bisexuals more after that, that we were all the same actually. I really grew a more open mind after hearing what he said! ^^

      Anyway!

      I'm so sorry…actually I don't know much about Kayo Satoh too, just that she's very good at Street Fighter 4, and that she's gorgeous. Her voice is cute too. I will write about celebrities I really know and love next time! ^^

      • kirin November 25, 2011 at 12:32 am #

        Please, Apple! If necessary we can create a collaboration post together! ^__~

      • Apple November 26, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

        Ok!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Hehe! ^^

  2. Alberto November 24, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Japan keeps always surprising us.

    It's incredible what science can do.
    She is pretty and feminine, although for my tastes, her face is a bit too round. But still, she's beautiful.
    The only celebrities from Japan I know are Maki Goto and Ichikawa Yui.
    I know Maki Goto because she is a J-Pop singer, and a friend of me has some CDs from her. Her music is not exactly my style, but she is really pretty. I never saw her without makeup, but still, I think she will keep her beauty even without makup.
    Yui Ichikawa (or Ichikawa Yui, I don't know) is an actress that preformed on one of my favourites movies: Ju-On 1, and Ju-On 2 (yeah, I love Japanese terror movies, they are so scariest). I like a lot how she works, and also she is pretty and kawaii. And I think she's around my age (I'm 29), so maybe our destiny could be meet each other. Hahaha.

    Other than that, I don't know any Japanese celebrity. Well, I know about X-Japan music group. I found them while searching in youtube "pop violin".
    I think that's all I know.

    Also, i would like to ask you, Kirin, for your next celebrity post could you please tell us something about the celebrity? For example, why s/he is famous, what does s/he did, etc… I think it is a good way to know that person but also about Japan culture in general.

    Cya.

    • kirin November 25, 2011 at 12:48 am #

      In Japan, our name is called/described as last name then first name order. So it's an opposite way from western countries. Thus, Maki Goto is Goto Maki in Japanese/Japan. Yui Ichikawa is Ichikawa Yui.
      It seems Yui is born 1986. ^ ^

      OK, thank you for your comment. I'll be able to write about something you mentioned with Apple next time, because I don't know much about what's happening on TV and etc. ^ ^;; I rarely watch TV. (I watch the Spanish telenovela for the purpose of learning Spanish, not for the entertainment.)

    • Apple November 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

      Ok! I will write in more details next time! Thanks for reading! ^^

      I think you know a number of Japanese celebrities too!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. sedonia2 November 24, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Wow! I would never have guessed! She's beautiful and so feminine! But her male fans shouldn't be upset and worried about their gender preference – because when they look at her, they're looking at and responding to a woman for sure! Just as I as a woman, look at her and see a woman, I don't think – wow, cute guy just because I know that's her actual gender.

  4. Ms.Godzilla November 25, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    If she thinks she is a woman, then she is female. Her fans need to chill out ;p
    Thank you for this IS/transgender issues are not often brought up in Japan (besides Ai Haruna), and they need to be discussed.

  5. Miki November 26, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    All hail Kayo Satoh!
    She's gorgeous~! * ___ * โค And she's awesome at Street Fighter, too!
    I believe her male fans need to calm down a bit, it's not like she's going to date them, haha. Still, even I, as a girl, she's way more feminine than me! I hope she has a good life, she's very brave!

    • kirin November 27, 2011 at 1:16 am #

      There are some male-to-female transgender men in Japanese show business industry but they are more womanly than I for example. :p They do care a lot about their beauty and body shape.

  6. Sanaa November 26, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi, Kirin ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have commented here. But as it seems it wasnt sent ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for this interesting post.
    Nowadays, I always hear about this kind of stories. like kayo satoh.

    I havent heard about her beofre.

    I think she was born to be a female, thats why at age of 15 become a female even if she was born as a boy.^^

    I think it is a big Question, does the feelings have relation with gender or not?

    Once again Thanks so much dear Kirin.

    • kirin November 27, 2011 at 1:24 am #

      Hi Sanaa,

      I think she falls in love with men, not women. People born with gender identity disorder (transgender issue) will have a hard time suffering from confusion that their body and mind contradict each other. It's also very difficult to be understood by others. I hope they can be happy.

      BTW, the post is written by Apple, a collaborated writer to TKE blog. Apple is my good friend in Singapore! ^ ^

      • Sanaa November 27, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

        Hi Kirin. Also thanks for Apple about this nice post.
        And thanks for your information. I agree with you!
        When I was at middle school. A student '' a girl '' was with me in the same class. She is 14 years old.
        She loves to wear clothes boy. And she always talks like to act like boy. she did the behaviors of boys.
        But all our classmates respected her and all her deeds. Because she was so kind classmate ๐Ÿ™‚

        Anyway Thanks to all of u about this great efforts.

        Have a nice week.

      • kirin November 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

        I hope she is happy now. ^_^

  7. Laura Cruz November 29, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    Wow, that's a great story! I cant deny that I still think she is very pretty! She is very brave for sharing her story with the world ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, that's awesome that she's a great Street Fighter player ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin December 3, 2011 at 1:42 am #

      I agree with you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Tracy November 30, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Expect the unexpected! She's really look a girl after all, and its so unbelievable that She is a Guy… I'm just curious on how she manage to become a girl when someone knows what really he's real identity… More power to her and be proud! ^_^

    • kirin December 3, 2011 at 1:43 am #

      Yeah, she should definitely be proud of herself! ^_^

  9. JosephineOlson November 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    She's not so beautiful but she's sexy. I like her the way she smile and post. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Mikarin December 3, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    Thank you for making this post. I enjoy reading your blog, and it's wonderful that you showcased Kayo's story.

    At first, I thought "oh look, just another girly Japanese model", but I find her much more compelling now. Japanese society especially has a rigid definition of gender and what things are "acceptable" for men and women to do, that it must have been very brave of Kayo to come out with the truth.

    I actually found the video rather offensive since the other women seem to have such gender biases, especially when they automatically assumed that Kayo would be bad at cooking since she wasn't biologically female and that her "maleness would come out". She handled herself so well when she said that "there's no relationship between cooking well and being male or female." Even though her rolled cabbage was super bland in the end (lol), but glad that she called those ladies out on their remarks.

    Also, it's great that everyone (even in the comments) refers to Kayo using female pronouns. It's always irritating that so many people revert to male pronouns when they discover the biological gender, even when the person clearly wants to be referred to as the opposite.

    Thanks again Apple and Kirin! Please keep up the great work!

    • kirin December 5, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

      Her rolled cabbage was funny, but that has nothing to do with her gender. Many women cannot cook properly, and there are many men who cook so well. ^_^

  11. ainschiaki December 6, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    i just found out about her today. gosh…she is so pretty..

    i already get used to cross dressed guys, i know they are male even though they dressed up like a girl. but kayo is like, the hell..can't detect it at all. guess the hormone therapy is working so well..

    i think this is, kind of, scary..

    • kirin December 7, 2011 at 5:02 am #

      Haha, yes it's kinda scary…^ ^;;

  12. Ayko May 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    i found about her today too . And i have very respect of her to say that after a long time. I think every human have the rights to make his body so that she likes it too so you cant say its bad . The only word i say to her :

    Good Luck Kayo 'Satoh you was a guy and now a girl but as a fan its no matte whichsex you are .

    I have very Respect from you . I can say you have a new fan ๐Ÿ˜‰ and i am not gay :O

    • kirin June 3, 2012 at 3:56 am #

      I think it's nice more and more people get to understand people like her. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. henry October 21, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    I was shocked that this model was a guy from japan…..some fake facebooker user use her picture as her profile…..what the fuck!!!! Such ashame that bitch involved this model !!???

  14. Mika April 10, 2014 at 4:05 am #

    whether it’s a “he” or a “she” i still love him/her…! errr let’s stick with HER! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

