Kawaii dog apparel online shop (product review)

8 Nov

-PRODUCT REVIEW (ADVERTORIAL)-

“Idog” is a kawaii dog clothing online shop in Japan. The good news today is they opened an online shop dedicated to international shoppers in English!
Here’s the website. Check it out! => idog

I’ve declined proposals to do a product review for a specific item so many times so far, but I accepted this one for the first time because I’m in love with their products! I was allowed to choose a set of harness and leash and 1 piece of clothing for this article. I actually spent so much time to choose them because they carry so many kawaii clothing. ^ ^;;

I finally settled at this set of harness and leash and a raincoat for Pi-chan.


Then what happened? The raincoat was too small even though I chose M-size based on her body size I measured. I couldn’t button (snapfasten) fully because it was too tight. I totally recommend you should consider larger size (L-size instead of M-size, for example) if you purchase a raincoat for your dog from idog store.

The raincoat is made just like the one for human. You can also adjust the hood by pulling the strings. (But Pi-chan dislikes wearing a hood.)

I had it exchanged to L-size but the color was not available so I agreed with it in a different color. I was supposed to place a harness or a collar before I dress her a raincoat because there is a small hole in the raincoat from which I can find a ring to connect a loop clutch of the leash.

I’ve wanted a raincoat for Pi-chan for a long time but I think I needed a trigger. Pi-chan can do without a walk, because she can also go to a toilet inside the house. So I simply didn’t walk her on a rainy day before.

So how was her walk in raincoat? L-size was much better, but I had to say she needs a raincoat to protect her belly from splash rather than the rain that makes her back wet. Rain can be easier. But her belly became so dirty with splashed water and dirt. I had to wash not only her paws but also her belly after the walk. Hmm…I’d rather postpone a walk in a rainy day. Because I live in an apartment, I cannot walk her the common area of the apartment. I have to hold her under my arm, and my clothes also get dirty. >_< More and more labor increases because of a walk in a rainy day!

I wonder if the raincoat can be extended to the marked area. It’s only my opinion but I want to protect her belly from dirt more than anything in a rainy day.

Next, the set of harness and leash looks so kawaii as well.

I like its towel texture inside. But the material seems very light and not so strong. If your dog pulls well, you may feel this leash not strong enough. To Pi-chan, it was no problem. 🙂

Lovely Pi-chan!! I love how she looks with this harness. 😀

However what I didn’t like about the product was this marked part bowing outward. This part is not adjustable.

Otherwise, I liked the color and design, especially that the collar also looks a part of a set. ^ ^

If you are looking for a kawaii dog clothing and goods from Japan online, check out idog. But I recommend you should choose a bigger size if you purchase a raincoat. I don’t know about shirts and sweaters but I think they are more flexible because they can stretch, depending on the material. I hope to blog about those if I have a chance in the future. I’m personally in love with their kawaii design basically. 🙂

15 Responses to “Kawaii dog apparel online shop (product review)”

  1. Patty November 8, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Pi-chan looks very stylish. When I was visiting Japan last year, I was surprised at how much the Japanese invest in accessories for their pets. Those pets much be very well loved.

    • kirin November 9, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Many people like to dress their dogs with cute outfits in Japan. ^_-

  2. sedonia2 November 8, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    OMG – she's so cute in her rain gear! lol

    • kirin November 9, 2011 at 11:12 am #

      Thank you. I took many pictures until I took this one. ^ ^;; She doesn't like to be taken pictures.

  3. Troo November 8, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Ahh, Pi-chan looks SO kawaii in that little harness! She's adorable!

    • kirin November 9, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      Thank you, Troo. ^ ^
      I really loved this photo!

      • Troo November 9, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

        I'm amazed that she needed a Large raincoat. She's only a little dog! 😮

  4. Alberto November 9, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    As Patty said, here we don't invest in pets' cloting. There are pet shops but more focused on food, sweets, collars and so.
    But if Pi-chan can't wear the idog raincoat, you can always use a big supermarket plastic bag. I had a Fox Terrier called Laika and once I had to ask in a supermarket for a plastic bag for her because it was raining soooo much. People in the street kept looking at her and laughing. That was very funny.

    Hug and give a sweet to lovely-Pi-chan on my part 🙂

    Cya.

    • kirin November 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      I think we like to spend a lot of money for dog and cat in Japan. Some dogs have one point hair color, others wear jewelry. Pet models are also popular here. I think I can add something to the raincoat to protect her belly from dirt coming from the ground.

      Thank you for your opinion. 🙂

  5. winnie November 10, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Hi Kirin,
    Pi-chan look so cute!!

    But do Pi-chan comfortable with harness?
    If I am a dog, I will not like this because I feel uneasy. Sorry I was imagine myself .

    I browse the link from your blog, the design are all so attractive!! I

    • kirin November 10, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Hi Winnie,
      It's said harness is easier and more comfortable for dog than collar. So I switched from collar to harness at a very early stage. 😉

  6. winnie November 10, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    Hahaha yes, I agreed that harness is more comfortable than collar.
    I don't like dog collar with leash .
    Feel choked.
    I like to imagine myself.

    Thank you.

    .

    • kirin November 11, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      Especially when the dog pulls hard, it's better to put a harness than a collar. As you say, it's choking. >_<;;

  7. Alice Hammond November 14, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Sometimes referred to as the dog family, and its characteristics.

  8. Flora Rouse November 28, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I don't know which is more adorable, the dog or the clothes. The cutest dog accessory I've ever seen was a pearl necklace modified into a collar. But I think the harness is much better for the dog, and there are so many kinds, there must be some out there with pearls on them.

Leave a Reply

