How to make Japanese curry

25 Oct

I hear Japanese curry is popular and you can easily find Japanese curry roux at a local grocery store in your city, which however will depend on where you are living though. So today’s recipe is Japanese curry! πŸ˜€

Japanese curry is of course one of the most popular comfort foods in Japan. You will see so many kind of similar curry roux sold at supermarkets here in Japan.
It’s easy to cook. You don’t have to prepare expensive ingredients or unfamiliar spices that you may be less likely to use at other times. Below picture shows one of the Japanese curry roux samples. Some are hot, some are mild or very mild.

ingredients for 4-5 people
meat (whatever kind you like) 200-300g
onion (1)
potato (1)
carrot (half)
curry roux (for 4-5 dishes)
water (600cc)
cooking oil

Cut the meat and vegetables into bite-size.

Heat the cooking oil in a pan and stir-fry the meat and vegetables well.
(If your time allows, saute thinly sliced onion until golden for about 30 minutes. Then your curry will taste even better, but be careful not to burn the onion.)

Just like this! ^ ^

Add the water and remove the scum when it boils. Then cover the pan with its lid, turn the heat over medium to low heat, and keep simmering for about 20 minutes.

Turn off the heat once…

Cut the curry roux into a block, put them into the pan and let them melt in the soup. Once again, simmer it over low heat for about 5 minutes.
It’s time to add some hidden ingredients. For this dish, following ingredients were added.
ketchup(1tbs), Worcestershire sauce(1tbs), and sugar(1tsp).
But it’s all up to you. I sometimes try to add cheese or yoghurt or milk, grated apple or honey, tomato source or Worcestershire sauce, or dark chocolate. πŸ™‚ It’s really up to your preferences and creativity! Please enjoy your version of Japanese curry!

Ta-da!

Place the curry over the rice. (In this case, you need to prepare steamed rice separately.)
Or you may want to eat it with bread or anything you prefer.

Normally we like to add meat, onion, carrot and potato, but in fact you can try with other vegetables or you can also use beans instead of meat. Also, it may sound interesting but curry usually tastes better next day. You can compare the taste on the day right after you fix it and the one sit over night. You’ll see what I’m talking about. πŸ˜‰

In case you want to make a lot of curry at a time and preserve it in a freezer, don’t use potato. If you do, smash it before freeze, because potato will taste terrible once it’s frozen. I’d recommend that you should not just microwave but heat on a stove again when you eat it again after defrosted.

Hope you enjoy Japanese curry!! πŸ˜€

25 Responses to “How to make Japanese curry”

  1. Salma October 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Oh, wow! You know, Kirin? I was looking for more pictures of Japanese curry on the net two days ago (because I watched in one of the Detective Conan episodes and I got curious about it and how it is made:lol:)
    It looks very tasty, and thanks a lot for sharing this post. ^_^

    • kirin October 26, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

      Oh, what a coincidence! I'm glad I posted this article at this timing. ^ ^

  2. Walter October 25, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Hello Kirin, thanks for posting a classic recipe πŸ™‚ I've made this a lot myself. The curry cubes come in mild, medium and hot (spicy) over here πŸ™‚ Personally I prefer the hot one.

    • kirin October 26, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Yes, that's exactly. Maybe my English was not clear there, but 3 types I meant are mild, medium and hot. ^_^ I can imagine you've already been familiar with Japanese curry, haha!

  3. Steven Stier October 26, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    Except for the curry roux I fix this meal on a regular basis. A quick recipe is to fix some rice. Heat a can of vegetable beef soup. Then pour over the rice. That is how an American single man would prepare it. I wonder if adding curry roux would change the taste very much. Perhaps I will try your recipe, and then try it with curry in the soup. I am not much of a cook. Quick meals are what I usually prepare. I guess I am a bit lazy

  4. shanjae October 26, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    Japanese curry is also one of my favorite dishes to cook, cos the taste can never go wrong with the use of curry roux. And seeing these pics of your delicious-looking curry really makes feel like having curry rice for dinner tonight! πŸ˜‰

    • kirin October 26, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

      Hi Shanjae,
      That's so true, I've never heard of anyone who totally screwed it up while making it. ^ ^;

  5. Cath October 26, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    ??!! I was going to ask you why curry is so popular in Japan. (I was cleaning the house today and smelled curry cooking from my neighbour's.)

    • kirin October 26, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      I have no idea why it's so popular in Japan. Usually when house wives have no idea what to cook for dinner, we think of curry and rice. ^ ^;;

      • Kaoru October 27, 2011 at 4:43 am #

        I think its popular because it is:
        -easy to cook
        – everyone likes it (kids to seniors)
        – cheap!!!

        My host family have curry every friday!!!!

      • kirin October 28, 2011 at 1:57 am #

        That's convincing. I especially agree that everyone likes it from kids to seniors. ^ ^
        I also heard that in average the Japanese eat curry and rice once a week. So your host family is a good example to that statistics. ^ ^

      • Cath October 29, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

        That's cute. n_n I love it when there's japanese radish. Yum!

  6. Kaoru October 27, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    ahaha…I LOVE JAPANESE CURRY!!!!

    My host mum adds mayo + coke cola to her curry!!! and it taste really good too!!

    Kirin san, maybe u should try it too =)

    • kirin October 28, 2011 at 1:58 am #

      I agree with mayo, as I sometimes do, but coke? I never thought of that. That's very interesting. ^0^

  7. パむチャン October 27, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    It seems to be very simple to cook.
    I normally cook the curry without any ingredients.. just like a normal gravy.

    *Learned something new today. Shall try it on my own these few days.
    Thanks Kirin!~ ^-^

    • kirin October 28, 2011 at 2:00 am #

      Please give it a try. You know, if you only make a gravy, you'll have to prepare meat and vegetables to eat with gravy. But if you cook curry and rice, you can just eat as it is. It has meat and vegetables in it. Of course some people eat salad besides curry and rice. ^_^

  8. winnie October 27, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Hi Kirin,
    I like Curry especially Japanese curry and Indian Curry!
    I like to add Apple or a bit of honey into my home cook Japanese curry.
    Sometimes I will add lady fingers or tomatoes.
    Yes, at times I will clueless what to cook too! So the Japanese curry saved me.
    Thank you for sharing! It is so interesting if add cheese.
    I have not tried before.
    I only like some types of cheese but I will not touch Parmesan cheese.

    • kirin October 28, 2011 at 2:06 am #

      It's nice to have a last resort: what to cook. I totally understand how busy it is to think of the menu and prepare for it everyday. Now because both my husband and I work from home, I cook 3 times a day for 2 of us everyday. It really annoys me when I have to stop what I was doing and start preparing for a meal. However when I am tired of my work, cooking can be a good change, though. ^ ^;;

  9. Alberto October 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Kirin, i hate you.

    Stop posting those delicious recipes!!!!! It's 18:23 here and I want to take dinner… ¬¬

    Now, seriously, at Spain we can cook this. All ingredients are common. If i cook this someday i will send you some photo.

    Thanks for the recipe πŸ™‚

    @Cath: curry is common in many countries. In Spain it is well known, although not everybody likes or uses it. We use it mostly with meat.

    • kirin October 28, 2011 at 2:09 am #

      Haha! You can email me from the contact form. http://tokyokawaiietc.com/contact

      To attach pictures, simply email at kirin at tokyokawaii…. as you see in the contact form. ^ ^
      Enjoy your curry!!

  10. Meg October 31, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Wow! I didn't know there's Japanese curry! You know what, Thai curry and Japanese food are two of my (very) favorite cuisines and it's great to hear I can combine them, yay!

    • kirin October 31, 2011 at 11:52 am #

      Oh! Japanese curry is so popular…well I don't know how easily you can get those Japanese curry roux from your local supermarkets, but please give it a try. Unlike Thai curry, Japanese one is more thick and mild. ^ ^ It's very different from Indian curry but it's still good.

      Hope you enjoy it! ^_^

  11. Saniell January 4, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    Great,it's 3 in the morning and I'm hungry again :D..looks delicious…

    • kirin January 6, 2012 at 2:33 am #

      Oh you are up til 3 in the morning?? Haha, it's a torture to see a food post at such time of a day. ^ ^;; Curry is simple and easy. It has meat and vegetables all together and you don't need to make extra dish.

  12. ayk rocks February 25, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    hi! thnx for sharimg dis recipe…. specially with d pics….. but i guess i wouldnt b able to find d pack of curry roux here in India..

Leave a Reply

