Nail Models Wanted in Tokyo!!

22 Oct

I know most of the readers of this blog are from overseas, but in case you stay in Tokyo now, I’ve got a good news! πŸ˜€

My friend Lena started working for a total beauty salon in Jiyugaoka (Tokyo) and she’s looking for nail models for her training (in her salon, constant training is required from staff for further skill improvement). It’s a good chance to have your nails done with some discount. But don’t worry it doesn’t mean that her skills are immature or something. She’s an experienced nail technician (nailist) and nail artist who has experience of working in Sweden before she relocated to Japan this year. So if you are interested and you can come to Jiyugaoka, please email Lena at nailmodeltokyo at gmail dot com and discuss for the service and price. You can also tell her that you reached her because you read TKE blog. πŸ™‚

Now, I’ll show you my own experience with her the other day.

First of all, I have to confess that it was my very first nail experience. I’ve never had my nails done by someone else. The reason is simple. I thought that I had to grow my nails or adhere some artificial long nails on my natural nails, which I don’t like. Secondly, when nails grow in 3 weeks and I must pay nearly 10,000yen, it’s just too much for me. Thirdly, I simply don’t have time to do that.

But when my good friend needs some models and it’s offered at a discounted price from their original price, I cannot ignore her. I wanted to help her whatever! Moreover, I just learned I don’t have to grow my nails or add extra length on my nails if I choose Calgel nails. The good news about Calgel nails is that it’s not going to damage my natural nails. Finally I can see my friend and chat with her while I have my nails done by her. This sounds good. πŸ˜‰

This is the nail booth within the total beauty salon. It’s an AVEDA total beauty salon with spa, nail, hair, headspa, eyelash, and make-up services. I like such inclusive service and the atmosphere of the salon is really nice! πŸ˜€


***This is the foot booth where foot care, pedicure and foot gel services are done.

This time I had hand care and Calgel for my fingernails, so it was done in this place.

Here’s my BEFORE picture.

Lena suggests very nicely from a professional’s point of view. Whatever she suggests always make sense to me, but she never pushes you her opinions. I really like the way she is. Oh! You know how we became friends? She was a reader of TKE! We met 2 times when she visited Japan before, but who knew then that she was moving to Tokyo later? ^_^

She shortened and shaped my fingernails, did cuticle care, buffed the surface of my nails with a very gentle sponge buffer, then after carefully wiping the nails with antiseptic and a special preparatory liquid, she started to apply the clear gel base.

If you don’t like to apply any colors on your nails, you can just ask for this transparent one (clear gel). She told me some men also like to do this. But I liked to apply something kawaii, of course! πŸ˜€ ***Nail design samples in the below picture are photoshopped (blurred) to protect the copyright of their design. Thank you for your understanding.***

These days I somehow like blue color. So I asked her to make a blue color between two different blue colors I saw from the sample. The good thing about this nail salon is that they can create nail colors that are not found from the sample colors. Some nail salons do not offer that service, according to Lena. It looked so fun to create a new color from some different color powder.

Finally my desired color was painted.

I was asked to cure my nails under UV light every time she applied, so that the gel hardened. You must be familiar with such if you have experienced Calgel before. But everything was the first experience to me, I was delighted and excited at each step, which must have seemed like a child to Lena! Haha!! πŸ˜€

Now colors were applied. I chose a different color for only forefingers.

Then she applied glittering dots and stones, but unfortunately I couldn’t take photos then because other hand was always under the light. ^ ^;;
Look, how she did it!

I totally loved these nails she made for me! Now I think I know why people get so crazy about nails. Every time I look at my own nails, I feel so great! I never thought nails can bring me such joyful moment. I’d love to frequent if only I can afford it so often. Everything was so perfect and I had such a comfortable and relaxing 2.5 hours at the nail salon.

So who is next? Please ask her for the price and all the details you want to know. She speaks English, Hungarian, and Japanese. πŸ˜€

17 Responses to “Nail Models Wanted in Tokyo!!”

  1. Sara Mari October 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Adorable nails! I like the simple but interesting design you came up with! If I was currently in Tokyo I would totally be a nail model for her^^

    • kirin October 23, 2011 at 2:42 am #

      Thank you! I'd be grateful if you could share this information with your friend circle in Tokyo. I know you have many friends over here. ^ ^;;

  2. Jasmine October 24, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    awwww, I wish I live in Tokyo >< I've been told all my life that I have nice nails (I'm really proud of it xD keke ~~) and I'd looove to get them done by a professional ^o^

    • kirin October 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      It's really nice to have nails done by a professional. πŸ™‚ I wish I could do it from time to time.

  3. Rachel October 25, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Very interesting post, Kirin. Thank you for sharing your experience! I'm unfamiliar with this kind of nail procedure but the result looks very nice on you!

    • kirin October 26, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      It was my very first experience as well, but my friend Lena was very kind she explained things very nicely for a person like me who totally lacks the whole idea of how the nails are to be done. :p

  4. Alberto October 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    As a guy, I find those nails beautiful, but I guess if the time, effort and money investment worths the decoration duration. πŸ™‚

    In either case, good work.

    • kirin October 28, 2011 at 2:23 am #

      I see what you mean. I cannot afford this without such an opportunity. (discount for modeling) That's why it was my first experience. ^ ^;; But if I earn a lot of money, it's not bad to have nails done from time to time, because they really made me feel good every time I saw them.

      Also, people naturally look at other people's fingers, for example, when we pay at a cashier, when we eat, when we point out something…so I now understand beautiful nails can easily attract people's attention.

      • Alberto October 28, 2011 at 10:01 am #

        That's true.

        And also, I'm pretty sure that nail decoration can show other people some of your personality aspects. For example, if i didn't know you have Pi-Chan or you like cute things, I would know you like them because of your colorful nails πŸ™‚
        I could be wrong, but the first impression you transmit is that.

      • kirin October 30, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

        Haha! That's right! Kawaii things make us feel good. ^ ^ Kawaii = Happy ^___^

  5. Jocelyn October 31, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Your nails were beautiful to begin with, but they look so kawaii after your nails were done! I love that design. It's not over the top, but still lovely to look at and different. =)
    We have quite a few Japanese nail artists in Sydney, but I've only done my nails once for my wedding ^^ They were loveeelllyyyy……

    • kirin October 31, 2011 at 11:44 am #

      Thank you Jocelyn. ^_^
      It's nice to have nails done for your wedding.
      I'd get my nails done for a special occasion, but I cannot afford it for everyday's life. haha!

  6. Lore November 7, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    your nails looks great!! I paint my nails by myself and I like it a lot! I would like to do the gel nails but I think it's to expensive and i don't have time 😦 maybe in the future

    • kirin November 8, 2011 at 4:27 am #

      Thank you Lore! πŸ˜€
      I normally paint my nails by myself, too because I cannot afford nail salon. I wish I can be a forever nail model for discount. lol

  7. zhing November 18, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    that's really cute nails! πŸ™‚ i would love to get my nails done with my mother in law! if possible could i get lena's contact information?

    xx

    • kirin November 18, 2011 at 6:02 am #

      It's in the beginning of this post in bold letters. I also tried paraffin treatment for my hands and that was so good! πŸ™‚

  8. Nail Salons December 15, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Hi Kirin, I love reading your post..totally enjoyed that you and lore had a great time especially doing those great nail designs.. good job! Thanks for sharing..Goldie..

Leave a Reply

