Sand bath experience in Tokyo

18 Sep

It’s been a while since my terrible enzyme bath experience. But I like to try out something interesting, especially when it has something to do with beauty! So this time I experienced sand salt bathing in Tokyo. You may wonder how I find out the place. It’s Groupon. It’s sort of my pleasure to find a good deal from a website like Groupon or Travelzoo. My friends from Tokyo say that such aspect of mine is like Osakan rather than Tokyoite. Maybe true, I like Osaka in some ways. ^ ^;;

It’s located in Sasadzuka, Tokyo. It’s in a multi-tenant building. I wouldn’t feel like going up if I only passed nearby this building…^ ^;;


Wow, the entrance gives totally different image from the sign I saw on the street. ^ ^;; OK…

*Disclaimer: Following 3 pictures were quoted from Groupon.

A cup of tea was served. It’s to prevent from dizziness from heat. Then I was told to be naked and wear a gown provided by them. Then I washed off sunscreen and makeup before I entered the sand salt bathroom. Thank goodness, it was not stinky. It smelled like hinoki. The sand, the salt or the bathroom didn’t give off any bad smells, which made me relieved. ^ ^ I was told to lie down on the sand. It was comfortable and very warm.

I was attended by one of the staff all the time while I am in the sand. She covered my body with sand. As soon as my feet were covered I felt something unusual. My toes were pounding badly! Then my fingers too! It was like “I had my butterflies in my feet and hands”. The blood circulation went so well that my blood was very strongly and rapidly pounding in my toes and fingers, which was even scary! “You will immediately start feeling pounding at your fingers but please don’t get panic, that’s natural and that’s a good sign that your body gets better blood circulation.” I was told then but I was restless because that experience was not comfortable. Well, even if my body enjoys good blood circulation, I was restless with that unusual movement.

I was supposed to be laid in the sand for 10-15 minutes but I told her I had enough before it reached 10 minutes. I was scared if I may faint in the heat with even stronger pounding, so I thought I’d better tell her I want to stop while I am still conscious. ^ ^;; (This sounds scary, haha!)

My gown was totally wet with my sweat. I didn’t notice I was sweat. I think I ended up with paying attention to my fingers too much. Hmm…I didn’t enjoy this bathing. But after taking a shower, then came second sweating phase.

After taking a shower, I wore a new gown and was led to this room.

I sat down on the arm chair, placed my legs on ottoman, covered with towels and blanket to be kept warm. Several different hot tea, umeboshi (a pickled Japanese apricot) and salt were provided there to replenish what I lost from sweating in the bath.

I have no idea how many cups of hot tea I was served there. But I stayed there for over an hour and kept sweating so well. I also received a head massage there. I liked this period. 🙂 I wanted to rest my body completely after I came back from Singapore. I’ve been busy since I was travelling. Just sleeping long hours didn’t really help me eliminate fatigue because I’ve accumulated it. ^ ^;;

I loved the time to be alone and quietly sweat and relax while drinking some healthy teas. But I don’t really like the bathing itself, because of the fear of faint from too much heat as well as unusual pounding as mentioned above. How my skin turned after the bathing and sweating? I think it went good, but not as good as it is after Ganbanyoku, which is because I put some skin lotion on the face. After I finish Ganbanyoku, I don’t even feel like wearing lotion or serum because my skin is soooo good as it is. Putting something on it would make me feel as if I were deteriorating my face skin. So, the fact that I put skin lotion means my skin was not like the one after Ganbanyoku. As a conclusion, I still prefer Ganbanyoku or hot yoga on the Ganban plate!!

Have you experienced anything like this before? Do you have any interesting experience to maintain/improve your health or beauty?

10 Responses to “Sand bath experience in Tokyo”

  1. Alex September 18, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    wow that’s so cool! i never heard of sand bathing before. interesting post! sounds really good for your skin TwT

    nope, i’ve never experienced something like this :O i dont have any interesting experiences to maintain/improve my health or beauty…but drinking tea is very helpful 😀

    • kirin September 19, 2011 at 4:33 am #

      Drinking tea! I agree! ^ ^
      It's so weird but I somehow tend to appreciate any flavor of tea when it's served, but I don't when I have to serve for myself. haha!

  2. Japan Australia September 19, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    That looks so cool and I'm yet to try it. Does it have any health benefits?

    Japan Australia

    • kirin September 21, 2011 at 6:17 am #

      Improving blood circulation should be beneficial for health and beauty…I think. It gets rid of waste and improves metabolism, I think. Oh…but I had to mention this place seemed to be limited for women. It's often possible such health & beauty salons are often dedicated for women only in Japan. 😦

  3. Lore September 19, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I had never heard about this before, the sand doesn't exfoliate your skin??
    I use to go to spa near of my work place, it's called "El palacio de las nieves", it's a very nice place, you have a thermal circuits with hot water, two saunas, one dry and the other wet and for finish a jacuzzi. You can eat an apple if you want it, and drink water or a type of limonade, all that you want. When you finish all the circuit and to go to pay, the girl of the recepcion offers to you a cup of tea. And it's no expensive, around 18€. My skin looks great after the spa and I feel so relaxed ^^

    • kirin September 21, 2011 at 6:26 am #

      Sounds nice! (I Googled the place and visited the website) I like European spa too! I've been to the one near France but in Belgium with my Belgian friend then. I think I basically like these things. ^ ^ Oh, I'm expecting to visit Arabic bath in Andalucia when I can visit Spain.

  4. Jocelyn October 15, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Wow… I'd never expect to see that language there in Japan… 'Pasir Putih' literally means 'White Sand'. It's Indonesian or Bahasa (Malaysian). I'm Indonesian, so imagine my surprise when I read this post and saw that sign there. =D
    Traditionally, I think Indonesians like to use white sand as a scrub, and it really does work (tried and tested!)
    Though I don't think I've ever heard it being used for spa. Made me wanna reasearch it more… =) Thank u so much for sharing!

    • kirin October 15, 2011 at 7:02 am #

      Right, they said it's Indonesian. So I thought you have the same service in Indonesia but no?? It sounds nice you use white sand as a scrub. ^ ^

      • Jocelyn October 15, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

        Well… I think the sand is a bit too much for most indonesian ladies? ^^ The spas in Indonesia traditionally will have a few different types of massages, javanese being the most popular one. And instead of using of-the-shelf massage oil, it will usually be a mix of herbs being crushed together in such a way, and each mixture should give u different benefts. Nowadays they're ready in a bottle though. ^^ Then u'll go for this special sauna, and go to a bath with heaps of flower petals. But I live in Sydney now so I haven't been to any spas like that anymore. =P

        I've just started following ur blog, and it's so great to read this and see certain sides of Japan that is not usually covered by those travel shows. All I can say is, keep up the great work! I really enjoy reading ur posts =D

      • kirin October 17, 2011 at 2:09 am #

        Thank you Jocelyn. ^ ^
        I'd love to experience those Indonesian massages and spas. That would be so great. And I believe it's not so expensive as we receive the similar service in Japan.

        I hope you enjoy the old posts, because I am slowing down to write a new article these days. But even if you leave a comment to an old post, I will reply to it. So please feel free to do so if you wished. ^_^

Leave a Reply

