How to make Sukiyaki

14 Sep

Today’s recipe is Sukiyaki!

Click below to read inside the post.

Sukiyaki is considered one of the most popular hot pot recipes in Japan but you can also make it on your frying pan like we do in this post.

Ingredients for 3-4 people
-thinly sliced beef (200g)
-tofu (1)
-green onion (1)
-enoki mushroom or shiitake mushroom (1 bag)
-garland chrysanthemum (1 bath) *We used potherb mustard instead because of seasonal reason.
-Shirataki (noodles made from starch) (200g)

flavoring
-sake (2tbs)
-sugar (2tbs)
-mirin (3tbs)
-soy sauce (3tbs)


Cut the ingredients into bite-size pieces. As for Shirataki, boil it in a hot water roughly, drain it and cut it.

Place a little oil on a frying pan and begin to heat it. Stir-fry beef and green onion briefly.

Add the flavoring and keep stir-frying.

Add tofu, Shirataki and enoki mushroom and cover the pan with lid.

Make sure everything is well heated…

Then add garland chrysanthemum and place the lid again and keep simmering for 1-2 minutes.

Done! It’s also good over steamed rice!

Hope you enjoy it! I wonder if you can get Shirataki or enoki mushroom in your area, but you may substitute more common ingredients for them. Also we like to eat it with raw egg but I don’t think you like to eat raw egg in your culture…^ ^;;
Let me know if you have any request of how to make certain Japanese dish. I’ll talk to Chika and we will try to introduce it on TKE. 🙂

14 Responses to “How to make Sukiyaki”

  1. novicewcs September 14, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Look so delicious, now I'm hungry for some… ^_^

  2. Peacemouse September 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    I have been following TKE for quite a while now and have to comment on your lovely recipe. The pictures made me so hungry!

    My father lived in Japan for over 15 years and I spent my childhood in Okinawa, sukiyaki was one of my favourite childhood dishes! I'm a vegan now so I omit the meat and the raw egg but it is still so very delicious. I think your recipe will encourage many who haven't made sukiyaki before to try it, you make it look very simple yet elegant and filling.

    Even though I live in a part of the US that doesn't have a large Japanese population, I am still able to get shirataki, chrysanthemum and enoki mushrooms at the Vietnamese grocer. So I hope that people who haven't been to an Asian grocery before will try their local store because there are many lovely ingredients to be found.

    Thank you for reminding me of one of my happiest childhood meals!

    • kirin September 15, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      Thank you for following TKE! ^ ^
      Ohhh! You can get Shirataki, chrysanthemum and enoki from a Vietnamese grocer in the U.S?! Wow, how convenient!!

  3. Lilian September 14, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Hi Kirin,
    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I definitely wanna try this one!
    Could you teach us how to make takoyaki?

    Have a great day!!!

    • kirin September 15, 2011 at 11:15 am #

      To make Takoyaki, you need a special shaped pan but I don't have it. 😦 Let me ask Chika (who helps me with cooking posts) if she has it.

  4. Sabrina September 15, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    This looks so good on cold days, just in time for fall ! Thank you for the recipe 🙂

    • kirin September 15, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      Haha, over here in Tokyo it's still like summer. ^ ^;; I hope it gets cooler soon.

  5. Japan Australia September 15, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Sukiyaki has to be my favourite winter dish in Japan and I love the thinly cut beef and mushrooms that soak up the lovely flavours and enjoy my Sukiyaki with a raw egg.

    Japan Australia

    • kirin September 15, 2011 at 11:21 am #

      Oh you enjoy it with a raw egg, good. I didn't know till recently that most of people do not eat raw egg outside Japan. As you know over here in Japan it's so common to eat a raw egg over Sukiyaki or simply with steamed rice. (I like Tamagokake gohan too. ^ ^)

  6. barcode free September 15, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    This looks great, thanks for the recipe. I usually cook it in a hot pot.

  7. Apple September 15, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    omggg thanks again Kirin!!! and your friend, Chika, for yet another wonderful recipe on TKE~~!! My boyfriend and I really liked the tamago-yaki recipe, we bought a special pan just to make Japanese-style tamago-yaki! Haha! We shall try all the dishes soon when we are free!

    anyway, ahahah! I think you will know what recipe i will request for… anything with tofu in it!!! 😀 How about tofu cheesecake? 😀 or tofu pudding?

    • kirin September 17, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Anything with tofu…right. OK, we'll think about it. As for myself I am not familiar with tofu sweets so let me ask Chika. ^ ^;

  8. Alberto September 16, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Ok a pair of questions:

    here in Spain i think i cannot obtain every ingredient. For example, those mushrooms are not available here, what can I use as sustitute? Could any king of mushroom will be ok? The most common mushroom here is this: http://www.dia.es/webdia/productos.html?action=ge

    The Shirataki is impossible to find. Here, what substitute could i use? Well, i think i found in a shop something that i'm not sure if it is Shirataki, i can't remember now…

    The tofu, i found it in some delicatessen shops, but it costs 4 € that is 424 ¥ for a single block U_U Well, i think i will not bankrupt for it, but i hope not every japanese recipe you make is not that expensive ^_^

    Mirin is also impossible to find, not even in the most expensive and exotic shops. Any substitute?
    And sake is found quite easy and at decent price. I present my father once with a little bottle of Sake. It didn't last even a week ^_^

    The garland chrysanthemum i don't know what it is exactly. Here people cultivate chrysanthemum, but i don't know if that is the same type of plant you are talking about.

    Also this is a good excuse to buy a Wok, here found for just 15€ (1589 ¥).

    I would be interested in knowing about some traditional or popular noodles soup or similar. Something that could be ok for a cold and rainy place like mine.

    Cya thanks for the recipe. 😀

    • kirin September 19, 2011 at 4:39 am #

      Sorry for my late reply.
      Chika was at my place yesterday so we discussed your question and here's the answer.
      -You can use any mushrooms that are available and sold at a reasonable price in your area.
      -Forget about Shirataki. Anything can't be substituted for.
      -Mirin is substituted for sake + sugar.
      -Chrysanthemum is called Shungiku in Japanese. http://www.google.com/search?q=%E6%98%A5%E8%8F%8A

      Thank you for your comment and opinion. I've shared it with Chika and we'll think about it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

