If I loved an Idol…from AKB48!

20 Aug

Yay! Apple’s post! She’s sharing a very fun way to learn Japanese. ^ ^

===Apple’s post starts from here===

I’ve been playing a rather interesting PSP game recently!

AKB 1/48: If I Loved an Idol

I’m sure all of you know who AKB48 is. It’s impossible not to know. They are EVERYWHERE!

But just in case you were living in a cave for the past few years, AKB48 is a Japanese female idol group advertised as “idols you can meet”. They have their own performing theater in Akihabara (thus the group name AKB, the short form for Akiba, which is a short form for Akihabara) where fans can see them live everyday. The group is huge and split into 4 teams, Team A, Team K, Team B, and Team 4.

Anyway, I have never really got into the AKB48 craze because I was a fan of Morning Musume! Hahaha! And if you were a fan of Morning Musume like me too, and you compare the looks of AKB48 members with the looks of Morning Musume…(sorry to be shallow again!) don’t you think members of Morning Musume are so much more cuter???

And 48 members are just crazy (actually, even more if you add in Team 4’s members. I have no idea what Team 4 is for, I’m sorry!)! I heard from my friend that they change the members frequently too. I looked at their poster and I couldn’t even find one that I thought was really cute. Many of them also looked like each other. (Fans, please don’t bite me!)

And then…one day, I chanced upon a random Youtube video about this PSP game!

This game was actually released last year (Ok, so I was living in a cave like you too after all. Hahaha!), and it’s a dating fantasy game!!!!

OH MY GOODNESS!!!

Doesn’t it look interesting to you???

It sure does to me! I’ve always wanted to play a dating simulation game and see how it’s like! And this! You get 48 real-life characters who are very popular idols and…and they all like you and want to be with you! Now, the difficult part is…to choose only one of them!!!

This game is very obviously marketed to their male fans, but what attracted me to this game was to see what the girls would say, and how they would confess their love!

I have to admit there were some highly Moe scenes where what they say and how they say it will make your heart go DOKYUN! I was playing the game and thinking, “Omg…it’s impossible not to fall in love with her if she says such things, right???”

So, girls, if you are interested at all, you can learn such high love techniques from playing this game. Hahaha! Also, for the first time in my life, I could see a girl clearly from a guy’s perspective.

For example, I could see what would make a guy shy, what would make the guy pissed off etc. It’s a very interesting experience! Haha!

Anyway, while playing the game, I was a little bit upset because I could clearly feel who this game is expecting the player to be!!

I was not some handsome, suave, cool guy! I was an otaku who don’t know what purikura machines are, who hesitates to step into an expensive-looking restaurant, who collects anime figurines, who probably don’t have a good sense of style (some of the girls tried to give me an image change), who goes to AKB’s handshake sessions during my free time, who collects their pictures as a hobby…

(Click on picture to learn more about Otakus!)

Sigh!

So uncool!

When I started playing this game, I was so amused and excited. It was definitely interesting to ‘go out’ with a girl and see the various ways they try to make you like her. Also, for students of the Japanese language, this is an excellent way to learn Japanese!

There are subtitles along with the voice of the idol you are going out with. So you can learn lots of Japanese from playing this game.

Obviously, when it’s your turn to respond to what is being said, there is no voice speaking your lines. So, as learners of the Japanese language, it is normal to speak the lines out yourself, right? To practise speaking it. So that was what I did.

And after speaking my line, the idol would respond in her voice as well, so it was like having a real conversation with her. Haha! I was playing this in the living room, and my brother looked at me as though there was something wrong with me, and my friend said, “You look like those typical fanboys imagining that these girls are really really talking to you and being really happy about it.”

Yes I have to admit that I was smiling when I got a good ending date with a particular idol, and swearing/became sad when I responded wrongly and broke a heart of an idol I was going out with. (After you break anyone’s heart, you will not get to ask her out for dates again.)

So, yes, pretty crazy. Haha!

I haven’t really explained how the game works, have I? Sorry! >”<

So the game is like this:

You have a chance to be with any of the AKB48 girls, but you can only choose one. Who will you choose?

Good luck to you. Hahaha!

You are presented with 48 contacts in your phone and you can begin the game by calling one of them to ask them out for a date. (Profiles of each member are given. So if you didn’t know them before, you can study their profiles to better decide who you would love to go out with.)

Once you call up any one of them, you get to go out with them. There are many different places that you will find yourself in: Cafe, shopping street, zakka shop, amusement park, high-class restaurant, park, museum, outside their event venue, their neighborhood, your apartment, aquarium, movie theatre, beach…to name a few.

And each member has their own personality and dialogues so it’s pretty interesting. You get to respond to them by choosing from usually 3 options. You can make them very happy or heartbroken from how you choose to respond.

Oh! She may get angry too! Why you so late!

Finally, one day, one of the members would give a very strong hint that she wants to confess her love to you. You can choose first whether you agree to go to wherever she wants to confess her love at. If you agree to meet her at that place, both of you will be meeting at that place the next day, and there would be a full video of her confessing her love to you (which is very interesting as well! My favorite so far happened at the school rooftop), to which you can accept her love or reject it!

If you accept it, she will be very very happy and she would even give you a hug at the end of the video game and thank you for choosing her!

If you reject, she will be very sad and a sad song (from AKB48 of course!) would be played in the background. Hahaha!

And I take back my words about AKB48 having no cute members! There were indeed very cute members! Here are my favourites after playing this game!

Itano Tomomi is just unbelievable.

I’ve always admired girls who look good in short hair! Mariko Shinoda!

She’s the one who confessed on the school rooftop!!! Sumire Sato!

Are you interested in this game??? Would you want to play it? ^^

I wish there was a game like this marketed towards girls too (I know it exists but I particularly want members of SHINee in the game!! HAHAHA!).

Anyway, have you tried such games before? Recommend nice ones!! Share your game experience!! I’m also aware that such games can become very boring in a short period of time (after all, it’s just talking, talking, talking), but I find it a very fun way to learn natural spoken Japanese!

If you’re a fan of AKB48…let me know who you would love to go out with too! I might have a surprise for you…Haha!

Thank you Apple!
===Kirin’s opinion===
AKB48 has become so successful and popular that I almost forgot the fact that they started from Akihabara with the concept that “idols you can meet” a few years ago. Now they are popular among girls and everywhere in Japan. Their yearly election (popularity contest) is such an exciting event that Japanese entertainment TV programs should not miss. What do you think of AKB48 and their date game? I liked how Apple uses it as a tool to improve her Japanese. Good job, Apple!! 😉

28 Responses to “If I loved an Idol…from AKB48!”

  1. Hanie August 20, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I love AKB48~! They are just too cute! 😀

    My blog giveaway: http://myau-club.blogspot.com/2011/07/my-first-gi

  2. gabrielmacae August 20, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Now I feel I have lived in a cave for the past few years.

    Well, after all this advertising, I felt like playing this game.

    It's a pity I don't understand Japanese. I don't own a PSP either.

    • kirin August 20, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

      I don't own a PSP either. But I can still enjoy watching AKB48 Youtube videos, hehe! ^ ^ Boys would enjoy them more…hahahaha!!

    • Kat January 22, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      I know > < Same here.

  3. XavierB August 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Even if you did not live in a cave, 48+ members, several teams and locations can get you definitely confused. Here is a quick overview:

    AKB48 for Dummies<a>
    AKB48 for Dummies: Sub-Groups, Concerts, and Events<a>
    http://wotaintraining.blogspot.com/2011/07/akb48-

    • kirin August 21, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

      You had 3 same comments and so I only approved this one and deleted other 2.

      • XavierB August 21, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

        OK, I see. This means myOpenID does indeed work. So no need to contact them. And you can erase my comment below. 🙂 But I don't understand why I didn't get the "wait for approval" message. Strange…

        And half of my comment is missing 😦 Is there some kind of length restriction?

      • kirin August 22, 2011 at 1:53 am #

        Sorry for the inconvenience and confusion. IntenseDebate is sometimes strange. I sometimes find that the comments I left are gone next day. But sorry I am not good at technical things and so I want to keep using their system, hoping that they improve it. ^ ^;;

      • kirin August 22, 2011 at 1:59 am #

        Ah, as for the length of your comment, you'll see the message instantly that says your message is too long so that it's recommended to be split into 2 or 3, right after you hit the "submit comment" button.

        However, what's mystery to me is sometimes some readers leave a very long comment. I wonder if they were not asked to split it… Hmm…IntenseDebate comment system can be whimsy, I don't even know what they are all about. -_-

        So, again, sorry for the inconvenience…

      • XavierB August 22, 2011 at 10:52 am #

        I'm sorry for starting this confusion in this comment section… m(_ _)m And my apologies to Apple for turning her AKB48 / Dating sim-praise into a technical discusion… m(_ _)m

        I just realized right now that in didn't use the correct closing anchor tag. That's probably the reason that my comment got completely messed up. I'll try to post my comment again (yes, again :-)), and I'll avoid the OpenID option. I'll think about creating an Intensedebate account should I comment here more often.

        Meanwhile, may I suggest to delete all of my previous comments (including this one) as they are now more confusing than convenient. (Sorry, again) I'll post my comment as a new comment, not as a reply, for a new, fresh start over. I hope, it works.

  4. XavierB August 21, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Commenting as a guest (no intensedebate account) via OpenID – whether it is by an Google account or myOpenID – seems to be broken. Writing a comment with an Google account gives back an error message, doing it with an myOpenid account seems at first to be working, but the comment does not get posted. (No "comment must be approved by the site admins before it will appear publicly" message will appear.)

    You should disable the OpenID option from your comments until intensedebate get things fixed, as it might be confusing. (It did definitely confuse me :-)) Livejournal has a similar problem, forcing you to create an account instead on relying simply on the OpenID authentication.

    • kirin August 21, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

      OK, thank you for reporting that issue. I once talked with IntenseDebate about this issue and thought they've already fixed it.
      I'll tell them again. Thanks.

  5. XavierB August 22, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Even if you did not live in a cave, 48+ members, several teams and locations can get you definitely confused. Here is a quick overview:

    AKB48 for Dummies
    AKB48 for Dummies: Sub-Groups, Concerts, and Events
    http://wotaintraining.blogspot.com/2011/07/akb48-

    So would I like to play this game? I don't know… Reading Apple's description it sounds like a dumded down version of a dating sim. Cute faces alone don't turn shovelware necessarly into a good game. I would rather prefer to play one game of the "Tokimeki Memorial" series. (And yes, they are voiced, too.) Although I would like to know which scenario was chosen for Oshima Yuko…

  6. Online Shopping August 25, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Beautiful your all pics and pretty look. really great posting and nice your hair style . awesome sharing

  7. gustave154 September 8, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    wut there is english subs for the game?
    i like AKB48 and Morning Musume so much i wish i learned japanese lol

    • kirin September 11, 2011 at 11:48 am #

      Hmm…I'm afraid I don't think so. -_-;;

  8. Shiratori September 9, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    I agree that Morning Musume is so much cuter >3< Momusu fan~ Yea! -high five-

  9. tin September 11, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    OMG!! we share the same sentiments, esp. on Itano! I'm not a fan of AKB48 until I played this game (out of curiousity)
    Itano is the 1st girl I chose on the game coz I find her extremely cute, and now she is my oshimen. This game started my "AKB fandom". xD

    • kirin September 11, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      Wow, I'm surprised you know the coined term "oshimen". ^ ^;;

  10. Calife07 January 15, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Mariko Shinoda! is the cutest of them all
    I like girls with short hair!

  11. water well pumps March 2, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    I have been watching video, it hurts the heart in humans is not a member address shatter the moment every time this press

  12. Brazilian woman May 15, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    They are all beautiful and dating is really part of life..

  13. Lizzy Middleford May 23, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Kojima Haruna, I love youuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!~~~

  14. Cyndi May 26, 2012 at 3:31 am #

    Akimoto Sayaka <33333

  15. buan June 10, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    i think jkt48's members is more beautiful than akb48's members..^^
    but whatever, i love both of it…^^ LOL

  16. Niigaki Risako October 14, 2012 at 5:39 am #

    I think so that Morning Musume's members is much more cuter than AKB48!!!

  17. buy apparel online March 4, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Keep posting i think you are right on.

  18. Biking Games May 23, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    Even if you did not live in a cave, 48+ members, several teams and locations can get you definitely confused.

Leave a Reply

