Japanese clothing brands -office clothes-

12 Aug

At office, what kind of clothes are women supposed to wear in Japan? It’s called “office casual” and it’s basically clean, tidy, conservative type of clothes and that should not be too casual or sexy. Like what? I found a top 10 most popular office clothes brands in Japan supported by Japanese office workers.

information source: MSN Japan

No.1 Natural Beauty Basic

I see! When you enter one of their stores, most of the colors you see will be beige, gray, brown, navy blue, white, black… (Above you see red but such kind of color is not often found from their shops…) I can say it’s safe to choose whatever clothes from this brand when you want to wear it at the office. Also, these colors and styles are so basic that they match most of other colors or designed clothes. Thus having a few items from this brand will be helpful to think of everyday’s coordination for work. The price is also affordable.

No.2 Uniqlo

There’s no question. Uniqlo is basic, durable and reasonable. (If you are not familiar with Uniqlo, it’s a Japanese casual clothing brand at competitive price. It’s considered the most well-known and successful fast fashion brand in Japan, and they also expanded their shops overseas.)

No.3 23ku

I personally had no experience of shopping from this brand when I was working in the office. Somehow their clothes were too adult to me. lol

No.4 Kumikyoku

I personally had no experience of shopping from this brand when I was working in the office. One of the reasons is that I don’t think they have many branch stores.

No.5 INED

I wouldn’t say their clothes are reasonable but I sometimes liked their design and I enjoyed shopping their clothing once in a while.

No.6 INDIVI

I personally had less experience of shopping from this brand and I don’t have any particular impression by now…

No.7 ef-de

I personally had no experience of shopping from this brand when I was working in the office.

No.8 ZARA
ZARA was not popular when I was an office worker. Nowadays I sometimes check out ZARA but I do not often shop from them.

No.9 Untitled
I personally had no experience shopping from this brand when I was working in the office. I think their price and style didn’t match my salary and taste those days. lol

No.10 Rope
I personally had no experience of shopping from this brand when I was working in the office. I don’t know if Rope Picnic is a sister brand or anything but I sometimes check out this brand because it’s more reasonable.

When I was an office worker, I thought most of these brands were too expensive to me (except for Uniqlo and ZARA) and that’s part of the reasons I have less personal experience of shopping from most of these brands. ^ ^; I was younger and so these conservative type of clothing looked too boring to me, which is another reason. ^ ^; But even if I return to office, I will like to shop from Natural Beauty Basic, Uniqlo and some other reasonable brands and I don’t think I will spend much for clothing. I’d save that money for future traveling. 😀

What do you think of these fashion brands? What is the popular fashion brand supported by the working women in your country?

16 Responses to “Japanese clothing brands -office clothes-”

  1. Lore August 12, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    when I need clothes for the office I use to go to Zara, and Mango, do you know about this shop? I think their prices are affordable for my pocket, I like Adolfo Dominguez but the U area, it has a younger style and isn’t so expensive like the adult style shop

  2. Kojika August 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I like this post! I used to follow Lolita, fairy-kei, gyaru and other such types of fashion – I still love to look at them, but now I’m an OL/mori girl and this kind of everyday wear is more relevant to me now (how sad…)!

    Although, the only one of these I really like is Uniqlo. I took a look at Natual Beauty Basic, but the styles are classic but a bit dull on their own. I would wear bright accessories with those things to make it a little more fun. And the others are too expensive and a little too grown-up looking for me, hehe!

    • kirin August 15, 2011 at 1:37 am #

      Haha, Natural Beauty Basic was rated as no.1 among Japanese working women. This is because I think their taste and price is appropriate for the office workers working for Japanese companies.

  3. Salma August 13, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Nice post, dear Kirin. Sure, there is nothing better than wearing practical outfits at work. I like Uniqlo outfits as shown above.:)

    • kirin August 15, 2011 at 1:38 am #

      I think Uniqlo can expand their stores more abroad. ^ ^

  4. winnie August 13, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Hi Kirin,
    Uniqlo is very popular in Singapore too. Because the price is reasonable.
    In my own opinion, the popular brands in Singapore that working woman like to shop are
    1) Giordano
    http://www.giordano.com.sg/
    2) ESPRIT http://www.esprit.com/index.php?command=Display&a
    3) G2000 http://www.g2000.com.sg/ss11/page/summer-lookbook
    4) Mango http://shop.mango.com/home.faces?state=she_706_IN
    5) Zara
    There are many others brands too.

    Actually, Some of the ladies like to online shopping in Singapore.
    There are many Blogshops that have various style of clothings.

    • kirin August 15, 2011 at 1:40 am #

      Thank you for sharing.
      I wonder if Singaporeans have to wear suit or jacket under such a humid and hot climate all around the year…

  5. steve stier August 13, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Believe it or not I am familiar with unilock. They do some great commercials. If you cannot click on the hyperlink below, I suggest you look on youtube and type unilock. I think you will enjoy the video.


    • kirin August 15, 2011 at 1:43 am #

      You mean this? ^ ^ http://www.uniqlo.jp/uniqlock/

      • steve stier August 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

        I am so sorry. No that is not the video I was talking about. On Youtube, the video title is "Uniqlock with music". It has models performing surreal dance moves and movements to a funky song. When I clicked on the link in my original comment it took me right to it. I am sorry my computer skills are not very good. Josu ja arimasen.
        Perhaps this link will work for you.

      • kirin August 17, 2011 at 5:53 am #

        No, your computer skills are no problem. I was able to see your first link but I brought you the original one too because that starts the dancing in a big screen. ^ ^;

        Anyhow, thank you for sharing.

  6. Karoline August 14, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    H&M has some affordable and basic work wear that I like. They sell a whole lot of variety in terms of clothes and you can find some that you can work on as officewear.

    • kirin August 15, 2011 at 1:44 am #

      Ah, H&M, I agree with you!!

  7. tae yi August 15, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    Hi Kirin, nice post! I love Uniqlo and wish it would come to Vancouver.

    • kirin August 17, 2011 at 5:54 am #

      Oh, Vancouver! I think they should expand more to major countries and cities. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

