Yamashiroya

28 Jul

character goods and toys store
Yamashiroya
nearest train station: Ueno
address: 6-14-6 Ueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo
phone: 03-3831-2320
open: 10:00am – 9:30pm everyday


This facade picture is actually from last year (year 2010), as I only took the picture from outside then and didn’t write the post about it. But all the other pictures I listed below are from this summer (2011) when I visited there last month or so. ^ ^;



I noticed I have not completed a post about Yamashiroya since I made a link to the Kawaii Shop page. Yamashiroya is like Kiddyland and they always carry fun toys and popular character goods such as One Piece.

Kaomoji goods are so popular over here. I see they are cute enough to be treated as a sort of character.

While Kiddyland deals with popular characters such as Rilakkuma, Snoopy and etc., Yamashiroya seems to have game and anime characters. Whichever it is, it’s nice as long as it is cute. I didn’t recognize these cats, but later I learned they are from the very famous Japanese game titled Monster Hunter and the name of the cat (I don’t know which colored one) is “Airu”. Video game characters can be as cute as this!

Speaking of video game, everyone knows Mario right? I think they’re so cute even though they are enemies when I play Mario. ^ ^

Oh, I found a panda version this time!

You don’t know what I’m talking about? Some time ago I found the ones of cat and dog versions. Now panda version is available! How cute!!

It’s Hello Kitty’s solar-powered cellphone charger. There were Rilakkuma, Winnie the Pooh, and Stitch as well. Maybe these cute characters will decrease the fear of emergency…I hope. I could get one to prepare for another earthquake in the future…? (I wish to live in a country that is free from earthquake!>_<)

Doraemon is still popular…He is like a forever hero to kids.

But the most popular hero will be Anpanman.

I noticed I was on the kid’s floor when I found these tiny socks for boys. I know how boys can be crazy about trains. It’s cute their feet always look like trains with these socks on. lol

What a surprise! I found some Creamy Mami goods!

I also found some Blythe goods as well as Blythe dolls and her wigs and accessories.

There were many popular anime characters but above all, One Piece was most outstanding. So many kind of kawaii iphone cases with One Piece characters!

Before I left, I found some bizarre business card cases. They are weird rather than kawaii… I wonder who wants this…(*_*)

When I asked one of the shop workers if I can take pictures, he said it’s no problem!!!! Yay! This is not common in Japan. Most of the time I am asked not to take photos. ^ ^ How do you like Yamashiroya?

38 Responses to “Yamashiroya”

  1. sixmats July 28, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Wow. That thing is still there? It was there when I first came to Tokyo in 2003.

  2. lluvia July 28, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Kaomoji goodies! o(≧∀≦)o
    Items that make your day only seeing them.
    I'd love to meet all the characters. In my childhood certainly I would know them all!

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:05 am #

      I could have bought one of the kaomoji goods, yes I was going to but I guess I was too busy shooting and thinking of my blogpost. ^ ^; Blogging is part of my life now, no matter where I go, I wonder if I can write about it in TKE. lol

  3. Lore July 28, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    ooooooooooo the shop has a lot of kawaii things, do you bought something?? I like the cases for the iphone that look like food ^^

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:07 am #

      I bought some realistic tools to clean my house. haha! All the pictures are full of fancy and cuteness but my shopping was something very practical and realistic. ^ ^;

      • Lore August 9, 2011 at 11:38 am #

        hahaha I can't control myself I'm a marketin victim XD

  4. Patty July 28, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    oh my goodeness, Creamy Mami, I used to watch that show everyday after school. She's so awesome! awww.

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:08 am #

      Oh, you know Creamy Mami! ^w^

  5. ilovemamegoma July 28, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    I like the Japan themed phone straps and the Mario plush! Haha I have seen phone cases that are like those business card cases. :3

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:09 am #

      I was attracted by the Mario characters so much, somehow. ^ ^

  6. Sara Mari July 29, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    There are soooo many times I passed by there and never went it, it's so sad I really want to visit haha! Well I'm always around so one day!

    I don't know Creamy Mami but her design is cute. I wish they would make some new products for Sailor Moon or Magic Knight Rayearth, those are the magical girls of my childhood hehe.

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:14 am #

      Oh maybe you're too young for Creamy Mami. Sailor Moon is apparently new and I think it's much later than the time Creamy Mami was on TV. ^ ^
      I don't know the Magic Knight Rayearth. I'm too old for that. ^ ^;

  7. winnie July 29, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Hi kirin,
    I will go crazy with all these Kawaii stuffs!! They are so cute!!
    Creamy Mami was cute and sang very nice.I like her when I was younger. (I forgot when or where did I watch)
    Of course I still like her.
    I love Date Masamune,and in towel version!!
    So many things to see, I MUST go !! Maybe can go after I visit the Dinosaur Expo in tomorrow or Sunday!!
    Thank you for sharing such a kawaii place.

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:19 am #

      YES, YOU MUST VISIT THIS STORE!
      I thought you've already known this place, but if not, please!!
      I'm sure your husband and daughter also can enjoy it! ^_^

      • winnie July 30, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

        Hi Kirin,
        We went to this store after Dinosaur Expo.
        I went crazy with Naruto which is on the 6th floor and One Piece too!!
        Take many photos after asking the staff for Permission.
        All of us LOVE this store SO MUCH!
        Will be going again!!

      • kirin July 31, 2011 at 10:46 am #

        Great! I'm just so happy to hear that. ^0^

  8. Lindsay July 29, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    Oh man, I'm going crazy over the Blythe goods, especially the bentou! If I were there I would buy those immediately!

    • kirin July 30, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      I wonder if it's possible we have more Blythe dolls and goods in Japan than the U.S where Blythe dolls were born. :p

      • Lindsay July 30, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

        Well, Blythe was originally released in the 70's in the US by a toy company called Kenner. The dolls were a little too "ahead of their time" and not very successful. However, thanks mostly to a photographer named Gina Garan, there was a renewed interest in the doll starting in the early 00's, and Takara picked up the license. The dolls are hugely successful in Japan now, and there is still a fringe fanbase in the US. So even though the dolls are born here, they were more popular in Japan…

        (知ったかぶりな答えすみません) (´・ω・`;)

        Do you still do the buying service, Kirin? I might be interested in the bentou if they are still available.

      • kirin August 2, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

        へぇ!なるほど!That's interesting. ^ ^ Thank you for sharing. No, no, you can be proud of your knowledge, it sounds so Japanese you say that. XD

        As for the shopping service, sorry I'm no longer doing that. But you can actually find some from below links. http://item.rakuten.co.jp/grengren/100012681/ http://item.rakuten.co.jp/igaya-web/10034513/

        And go to White Rabbit Express or FlutterScape to request. 🙂

      • Lindsay August 9, 2011 at 4:59 am #

        Thank you so much for the info Kirin! 🙂

      • kirin August 9, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

        My pleasure!
        Hope you can get what you want. 😉

  9. Salma July 29, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Wow! Doraemon! ❤
    I remember watching it on TV when I was in Japan, and also, it's my favorite character just after Kitty. ^_^
    I liked Yamashiroya, and I liked this post very much. ^_^

    • kirin July 30, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      Thank you Salma!
      Yes, Doraemon is always the hero to anyone. Every single kid grows with him! ^_^

  10. TokyoChel July 29, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    What a fun store to visit! My favorite was all the Mario stuff. Even though Mario is very popular here in the states, you rarely see any plush or merchandise other than just the Mario video games.
    Thanks so much for sharing another shopping trip with us!

    • kirin July 30, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      You can make a list of places to visit when you are to come to Tokyo. 😉 Only the wish is, "May the store stay there forever!" That's because it's very common stores are open and close so quickly over here.

  11. Feli July 29, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    It looks like a very interesting place! Do they sell anime related products like gundams?

    • kirin July 30, 2011 at 8:51 am #

      They sell anime related products but not all kind of anime. I wonder if I saw anything about Gundam there…but Gundam is such a famous anime so why not?

    • Troo July 31, 2011 at 7:08 am #

      A great place for Gundam model kits is Yodobashi Camera in Akihabara. You can't miss it – it's right on top of the Metro station.

      • kirin July 31, 2011 at 10:44 am #

        Thank you Troo for your info.! I rarely go to Akihabara, but I'm sure there are nice shops over there, too. ^ ^;

      • Troo August 2, 2011 at 8:04 am #

        I confess I only really go to Akiba for Yodobashi… and perhaps the C&C Curry House 😀 For all my otaku needs, I much prefer Nakano.

      • kirin August 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

        Oh! I'll try to check out those places when I have a chance. ^ ^; Thank you!

  12. Cath July 30, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Creamy Mami??? That's the very first manga coloring book I've owned! I still remember it fondly. Wow… Coming to your blogsite is like rediscovering my childhood sometimes.

    • kirin July 31, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      I think I had a pen case of it when I was a kid.

  13. Apple July 31, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    I love love love this place!!! ^^ Seeing all these kawaii pictures, I really wanna go over there now!! >"<

    • kirin July 31, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      You should check it out with me next time you are here! ^__^

  14. Ann August 1, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    This looks like a really nice place for buying goods ^_^ I wonder if there were any Sailor Moon goods?

    • kirin August 2, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Sailor Moon goods…Hmmm…I wonder if I saw them. I don't think so. But they should not carry the same things all the time, because that would be boring to their frequent shoppers. 😉

Leave a Reply

