Breizh Cafe (crepe and galette cafe)

26 Jul

Breizh Cafe Creperie Le Bretagne (crepe and galette cafe) Kawasaki
nearest train station: Kawasaki
(Lazona Kawasaki 2F)
phone: 044-874-8259
open: 10:00am – 10:30pm everyday


The other day, I finally went to this cafe with Lisa. ๐Ÿ™‚


It’s an authentic crepe and galette cafe from France!

I’ve wanted to try this cafe for a long time but I didn’t have a chance until this time…I love crepe, waffle, American muffin, pan cake, cookie and baked confectionery more than cake or chocolate. ๐Ÿ˜€

The lunch set is available during weekdays and it comes with salad, galette and drink. With 200yen, we can even add a dessert crepe, which is tempting! ๐Ÿ˜€

It was rather dark inside the restaurant. It’s possible the dark colored furniture and interior help the whole atmosphere look calm but I felt it was noisy actually. haha!

I ordered organic Apple cidre that includes 4% of alcohol but it tasted like juice, I didn’t feel alcohol much. Lisa ordered iced coffee…was it? Or was it iced cafe latte? Sorry my memory is dying…XD

My galette was with scrambled egg, proschiuto (raw ham) and some kind of cheese from Switzerland, I guess. I especially loved the cheese! ๐Ÿ™‚ It looks big enough and I wondered if I could eat the dessert crepe as well…but no problem! I ate up everything!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d love to try other galette as well next time.

Lisa’s one was with sunny-side up egg, spinach and cheese.

The dessert crepe was with vanilla ice cream and jam. The crepe tasted different from galette. Galette was more crisp and crepe was soft. I enjoyed each, but personally I like crepe more than galette.

You may be expecting to see Japanese restaurants I go and eat at, but in reality I prefer western food and western food arranged as Japanese way such as hamburg a lot more than Japanese dishes such as Soba or Okonomiyaki for example. :p
There are branch stores in Omotesando, Ginza, Shinjuku, and more if you are interested…Oh, there are more shops in Japan than in France! But if you like more casual crepe, try the one of the street vendors in Harajuku. ๐Ÿ™‚

28 Responses to “Breizh Cafe (crepe and galette cafe)”

  1. Kat July 26, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    ohhh I really want to visit here!! i'm from Bretagne in france and I gotta say- this restaurant looks really like the real ones over there haha!! (no french mistakes on the menu either ;D)
    didn't you find that the galette was quite salty ^^ ?? glad you enjoyed it heheh (^o^)/

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 6:47 am #

      No, the galette was not salty. If its original taste should be salty, then they made it less salty? It seems that this restaurant was on the Michelin Guide Tokyo version. http://www.le-bretagne.com/news/news110713.html

      To be exact, this one I tried is not located in Tokyo, but there are 5 branch restaurants in Tokyo and these 5 were selected as "bonne petits table". How nice! ^ ^

      • Kat July 28, 2011 at 10:25 am #

        thank you for the link!! ^__^ now i can bring back memories haha~ I really do love you blog so much (ehe I bet you hear that a lot ^^;;)
        very nice indeed *o* ~

      • kirin July 28, 2011 at 10:50 am #

        Thank you! It's not always easy to write a post every other day, but I learned there are still some people who expect it everyday or more…but no, I cannot do that. -_-; So I think this frequency is the best to me. ^ ^;

  2. Julie H. July 26, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I am hungry now. Wish we had good crepe places here in California like there are in Japan. I miss that sooooo much.

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 6:56 am #

      Oh, I thought the U.S carries more variety of foods from the world. But I hear Japanese people are good at copying the original taste, even though they may arrange a little bit to Japanese preferences. ^ ^;

  3. Lore July 26, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    I have never ear about galette, but crepes are very commons where I live but we call us "Frisuelos", sometimes I cooked at home for me friends ^^, they are so delicious with chocolate inside or jam or cream or whatever you want :).

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:01 am #

      Oh, you have similar stuff from Spain? How nice! I love crepe, so I should definitely try it when I travel to Spain. (I wish to travel to Spain next year. That's a big motivation I'm learning Spanish now!)

      • Lore August 9, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

        Actually more than in spain "frisuelos" are typical from my region Asturias (is in the north) if you want I could send you by mail the recipe ^^. What would you like to visit when you come to Spain? (Today I'm sending many replies to you, I hope not bother you, It's being in a very boring day at the office XD)

      • kirin August 10, 2011 at 7:41 am #

        I wish to travel to Barcelona and Andalucia and then I want to travel to Morocco.
        I wonder if those areas also have the crepe. ^ ^;

        I envy you, that you can play with internet while you are in the office. Some Japanese companies do not allow the workers to browse fun pages and they check from record. -_- Oh, sorry for complaining…>_<

  4. Magali July 26, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Super ! a French restaurant ! I love crepes and "cidre Breton". It's very good ! It's easy to make this crepes !
    (250 grams of flour, 3 eggs, 1 / 2 liter of milk, a pinch of salt and a pinch of sugar (to 20 crepes))
    it's delicious with ham, or cheese … and bananas, chocolate and vanilla ice cream !

    >> "crepes" are often made with white flour, while the "galettes" are often made โ€‹โ€‹with "sarazin flour" (darker flour or buckwheat ?)

    >> "La Bretagne" (BREIZH in breton) is a French department at the edge of the Atlantic Ocean, and "la Bretagne" is famous for the Celtic legends !

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:08 am #

      Oh cool! Actually I love to cook crepe at home too! Crepe with nutella or apple cinnamon jam with cafe latte is my happy breakfast!

      I see, galette is made from buckwheat, which is the same one used for Soba (Japanese noodle). ^ ^
      Thank you for your comment!

  5. Patty July 26, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    The one w/ spinach looks great. Does it taste as good as it looks?

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:10 am #

      I had one bite from it, as it's what my friend ordered. It was good, I thought. The spinach tasted good with galette.
      (I ordered the other one and we exchanged for a little bite.)

  6. winnie July 27, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    I love crepe, pancake too! And waffles too …
    I would love to go to this cafe too.
    It makes me craving for one now….yummy…

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:12 am #

      Oh! Sounds like you have the same preferences as mine!
      Please let me know the good crepe, pancake, waffle etc. cafe if you find it in Tokyo or even in Singapore! ^ ^

      • winnie July 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

        Hi Kirin, i like Mr Friendly 's Pancake at Daikanyama . It is very cute and not too sweet too.
        My family love them.And they sell some stationery. Kawaii!!!!
        I post some pictures in Facebook.
        Maybe you can try theirs?
        http://www.mrfriendly.jp/main/02_shop/menu/index….

      • kirin July 28, 2011 at 10:47 am #

        OH! MR. FRIENDLY!!! He was my favorite character when I was a high school girl! I remember I traveled to Daikanyama from Saitama where I used to live with my parents only to visit this store. I think nowadays the store location is not the same as those days but it's still in Daikanyama. I don't know why I stopped following him. I was so crazy about his cuteness then.

        Thank you for sharing. It'll be fun to shop some Mr. Friendly's goods as well as to try the pancake there. ^ ^

  7. Anne Reese July 27, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Incredibly yummy! Now I'm wanting one for myself already…

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:12 am #

      haha! It was surprising I can still receive comments on non-Japanese food like this. ^ ^;;

  8. sanaa July 27, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    Hello^^
    Dear Kirin, wow another nice post!^^
    I love this post alot…WOW It is really nice coffee^^ If I m there, I will take a coffee and crepe. Or cake with chocolate haha :):)
    Actually! crepe as they said is french. but sometimes the Moroccan prepare it ,to eat it in breakfast, or in evening with coffee or the sweat Moroccan tea^^.
    In Morocco, we eat for 4 times, Breakfast, lunch, and we eat some cakes with Moroccan tea or coffee at evening, and we eat dinner at night haha^^.

    Thanks for share this nice post with us,I like it a lot….And I love all these pictures, they made me hungry haha, besides I have just eaten My lunch.
    I dont why nowadays I eat much, after for a days I couldnt eat at all^_^haha

    Once again Thanks!
    Take care good^^
    Have a very great time!

    Sanaa.

    • kirin July 28, 2011 at 10:54 am #

      Wow, you always eat 4 times a day? I suppose you have late dinner, no?
      Since I know you, Morocco has become one of the countries I'd love to visit! It's so exotic and everything I see there will be new and something interesting. ^ ^

      Thank you for sharing your culture.

  9. lluvia July 28, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    A piece of France in Japan ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  10. sanaa July 28, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    Yes, we eat always 4 times everyday…Years ago, I got used to eat 4 times everyday…And If I didnt eat for 4 times, everyday I have a headache hahhaa so starnge, I know..But My body habituated that….Yeah! In breakfast we drink coffee or Moroccan tea with Mint, with some Bread with butter, oil of olive,honey….In lunch, at 1pm or 2 pm afternoon..We always join the Moroccan dish like Couscous in friday…Or in the other days we prepare Tagine …Like tagine of Fish,chicken,mean..With many vegatables^^…I start feel hungry haha^^, wow It is really so delicious, You will try that, and You will see dear Kirin…Especailly, which mom prepare..Always the others ask mom abou her scerets haha that she can made so delicious Moroccan dish^^…And at 5 Or 6 pm evening, we eat again like breakfast..Coffee or teac with cakes, or some bread with oil of olive yammy I love it..Or honey…and at 9 or 10 or 11 pm at night we eat Lunch…In our house we eat lunch at 10…Because, My dad back so late from his work, and we wait him to join us sister Kirin.
    Oh! another thing..In Morocco is so so important that all the members of family should be around the table of eating at any meal to eat all together…We dont eat alone….I cant eat alone..^^
    I m waiting to join us …Beleive me u will discove another part from the word , Or let me tell you that you will discover another world.

    You are welcome, with My big pleasuer dear Kirin,

    Take care…
    yours,
    Sanaa.

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:31 am #

      Thank you Sanaa!

      The more I know it, the more I want to visit Morocco!
      I really hope to see you next year. I want to make a trip from Europe to Morocco. I want to visit my friends in the U.K, France, Germany, Spain, and some other countries before I go to Morocco. It's my pleasure and one of the main reasons I get connected with people from TKE blog. It's my pleasure to see my friends in person. ^ ^

      Your food sounds so tempting. But don't you get fat if you eat at 10pm and then sleep within 3 hours? In Japan, people avoid meals within 3 hours before sleep. Girls, who especially care about weight and fat, do not even drink anything during that time. ^ ^;

  11. sanaa July 30, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    You are always welcome dear Kirin!

    I hope that GOD will help you visit the country which u love to visit, and help you to be here next year^^
    It will be a great honor to meet you in person, since it is a big luck and honor to have you as a friend Kirin^^.

    Hmm…Well! I agree with you..Eating at 10 night it may make us very fat..To be sincere till now me and my other sister couldnt be fat at all^^…Actually, I would like to stay slim as I m for the moment haha..I dont care about my weight…I eat a lot of chocolate and cakes nowdays to have some weight, when I lost many weight thats made me feel weakness in my body.. Whatever I do, I lost more weight^^..hihi..I dont know why me and sister whatever we eat we dont get fat..Sometimes I ate my lunch at 12:30 or 1:00am if i was busy with studies^^..Tell u a secret hihi The Moroccan see that the most beautiful is the one who is not too slim and she is not too fat at the same time…I know many Morocan girls alot all day long, but they are around 42 or 40 k really..and they are around 21 yeard old….Now, I m 45 k^^ I would like to be 48 that will make me feel that my body is strong hihi^^ And I dont like change all my clothes ahaha
    Take care good dear Kirin
    soon we will have a event I will email u about it^^

    • kirin July 31, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      Oh I see, I guess you are still young and your metabolism works good. But I wonder how the women in their 30s, 40s and 50s? When I was in my 20s, I didn't get why women complain how to get rid of the fat on upper arms but now that's one of my biggest problems! ^ ^;;

      On the other hand though, I saw many thin Muslim women in Malaysia. I could say I never saw fat Muslim women there. Maybe it's your food, that is so healthy and low calorie, that does not make you fat even if you eat dinner so late.

      Thank you for telling me many things. It's always nice to learn something new. ^ ^

  12. sanaa August 1, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Yeah! Exactly^^.I have heard that the Muslim women in Malaysia are thin…Actually, there are alot of Moroccan are fat…There are some poeple in south of Morocco see that the most beautilful woman is who has fat arm, and she is so fat, but in latest years they start stoping thinking of that..And the woman stop wanting be so fat, and start want be more thin…I wanted to say in my last comment that there are some poeple really eat alot,but they dont be so fat^^..Really they eat alot of meat ,chicken all the day..But really cant be fat..On the other hand there are some Moroccan who are fat…^^

    You are welcome anytime, I always love to tell you about all…Because i beleive how it is so nice to know about the culture of others^^…It is okay we are friends^^
    Take care
    Have a very nice day

Leave a Reply

