Shimamura

24 Jul

Mens/ladys/kids casual clothing store
Shimamura (Takadanobaba branch store)
nearest train station: Takadanobaba
address: 1-28-7 Daimaru Peacock 2F Takadanobaba, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo
phone: 03-5291-9073
open: 10:00am – 8:00pm


You may have heard of this clothes shop called Shimamura. But it’s not as recognizable as Shibuya 109 or other major fashion store. Their clothes are very reasonable. They have men’s, lady’s and kid’s casual clothing, socks, underwear, and even shoes. (Shoes seemed to be only lady’s.) What’s more, they carry big size as well! (As big as 5L) The other day, I had this very first chance to check out the Shimamura store near Takadanobaba station with my foreign friend who has been searching for a pair of shoes that fits her feet.

Shimamura has several branch stores but they are not located in a big train station such as Shinjuku or Shibuya. Majority of them are in the city part of Tokyo instead of 23 wards. There are some located in the 23 wards such as Edogawa-ku, Adachi-ku, or Ohta-ku but I normally don’t travel these areas for shopping.

It was on the 2nd floor of a super market.

This atmosphere is similar to Ito Yokado or maybe close to some clothing stores in Nippori.

Lady’s shoes were very cheap. They had big size like 4L and 5L, which will be 26cm or so and they were under 1500yen.

Lady’s clothing…

Men’s clothing…

Lady’s underwear…They look like bathing suits. ^ ^;

These are not for kids.

And these in the below picture are not for women. They are men’s underwear! Yes, Japanese young men like kawaii as well!

Lady’s socks…

Lady’s Yukata…

Kid’s clothing…

Hello Kitty…(Don’t worry this is not an imitation. Imitation is strictly banned in Japan, and thus such reasonable place also deals with genuine one.)

I could become an instant anime fan every time I find something like this. XD Are you familiar with Gegege no Kitaro? It’s only 790yen! Next time I need T-shirt, I could check out this place.

Fitting rooms are also available so you can try before you decide to buy the clothes.

I’ve so far recognized Shimamura as a teen’s clothing store and also because of its location, I really didn’t have a chance to visit there until this time. Now I see they have reasonable casual clothing for both men and women, as well as kids, and their taste is not always lame. In other words, I could also say I have a feeling I can make a lucky find at a quite reasonable price there as long as I want something casual. It’s also nice the shop carries big size, whether it’s shoes or T-shirts, which must be good news for those who do not fit in Japanese size.

This shop is very close to the station. You can head for Waseda exit and find the blue building with the letter “BIG BOX” on. The Shimamura store is on the other side of BIG BOX building. You will easily miss it unless you pay attention to the small sign as in the first picture.

So far, some people have asked me about Shimamura. So here it is. Finally, I could blog about it! 😀

27 Responses to “Shimamura”

  1. Soshi July 24, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Oh wow! This is really nostalgic! I used to visit this exact same Shimamura store when I lived in Takadanobaba!

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 12:56 am #

      Oh I see! Then this place is familiar to you already! ^ ^

      • Soshi July 27, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

        そうですよ!だからすごく懐かしい!
        Thank you for sharing about Shimamura! ^___^

      • kirin July 28, 2011 at 11:01 am #

        そうか~。場所によっては東京というのはすぐに店が変わってしまうけど、シマムラは大丈夫そうだね。:) Viva Shimamura!

  2. Mellon July 24, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    this is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please upload more posts about shopping spots like this as well 😀 😀 :D:D

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 12:58 am #

      Haha, thank you for your opinion. It was easy to take pictures in this store, while most of others don't like to be shot. But well thank you for telling me that you like this kind of post. I'll keep that in mind.

  3. gabrielmacae July 24, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    Wonderful! Really, now it's sure a place I'd like to go when I visit Tokyo. Those men's Hello Kitty underwear were a big surprise for me. I'm looking forward buying it =)

    Also, it is a good place to buy gifts for my family member and friends. The prices are really good, it seems.
    Thank you very much for sharing!

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      There were many other characters as well at the men's underwear corner. But there were 2 guys shopping and so I kind of refrained from taking more pictures there… ^ ^;; In Japan, young men's wearing kawaii character underwear or having kawaii character mascots are quite natural. I think this point is quite different from western culture.

  4. Mutsumi July 24, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    Thanks for sharing!! The Ge Ge Ge no Kitaro shirts are amazing! ♥ I'll definitely try to check this shop out as soon as I'm in Tokyo again ;; (which will hopefully be next year!)
    It's super hard to get women shoes for me in Japan…maybe I'll have some luck at Shimamura, haha~

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:04 am #

      Oh you know Kitaro?! Haha, I can think that almost all kind of animes are exported to the world by now. ^ ^
      My friend could not find her size anywhere before she came to Shimamura. I am surprised Shimamura carries big-sized shoes and clothes at a very reasonable price, which is a good news for you. ^ ^

  5. maneki neko July 24, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Thank you sooo much for posting this! I want to check it out and other locations too. It's hard to find large size clothing in Japan.

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:04 am #

      Indeed, normally most of shops do not carry large size. So I think Shimamura is wise and really customer friendly.

  6. Tanedinha July 24, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I ♥ Shimamura and Ito Yokado, the best price in Japan!!!! Always shop products in this place… Great post!!!! Love your blog… ❤

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:05 am #

      Thank you ❤ ^ ^

  7. winnie July 25, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Yes, Kirin . I know Gegege no Kitaro. He is so cute especially his father, daddy eyeball.
    It seemed the men clothing are more cuter!! hahahaha…
    The Undergarments are so fanciful and cute.

    I will go there one of these day to look for kitaro……yeah….

    • kirin July 26, 2011 at 6:23 am #

      Yes, especially his father! Medama no oyaji!! (^w^)

  8. cinnamon_girl July 26, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Shimamura is great!
    Last time I found shushus which were so cute and half price cheaper than the one I bought at Donki. -_-"

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:17 am #

      Wow, even cheaper than Donki!?
      Yeah, that's possible. Donki does not always sell things at the cheapest price. Sometimes it's possible local supermarkets are more competitive than Donki, depending on the goods.

  9. Lore July 27, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I love the socks!! How much are the yukatas??

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Ohh…sorry I didn't check out the prices. >__<
      FYI Yukata should be available only during summer because that's for summer season. You will not be able to find it if you go there other seasons (spring, autumn and winter)

    • Sara Mari July 29, 2011 at 1:13 am #

      I think they are 3,990 if I remember correctly.

      • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:22 am #

        Thanks for your info.! ^w^

  10. lluvia July 28, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    Gegege no Kitaro! I'm just reading it ^^
    It was published recently in Spain (it seems that it took a thousand years to be published here :p) I love that kind of stories.

    Such clothing is great! Here we can only buy it by internet. Well, sometimes I can find similar clothes in children's clothing stores. As I use a very small size (and kids today very large sizes :p) sometimes it suits me!

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:24 am #

      Kitaro is there on TV only recently? It's an old anime over here but always new, well how can I explain this? It's like Doraemon. These animes have been available since or even before I was a kid and still on TV today.

      And of course, these pictures on this post are for adults. We have kawaii for adults as a matter of course in this country. ^ ^

  11. Sara Mari July 29, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Oh luckily we have a Shimamura and Avail in a town near me, Nishi-kasai, so I have access to the cheap clothes! I want to see more photos of the shoes, I'm going there this weekend and really hope they have some trendy 5L shoes.

    • kirin July 29, 2011 at 4:22 am #

      Oh, lucky you! I didn't take 5L shoes pictures because my friend was shopping there. :p
      Hope you find some nice ones!

  12. Kaoru July 30, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    chou natsukashi!!!!
    there was a shimamura store near the sch i studied in sendai!
    love it lotz b/cos they carry larger size shoes!!! i was having a hard time looking for shoes when i was studying in japan! im glad shimamura was there!!!!

Leave a Reply

