Ghibli Cafe (Cafe Mugiwaraboushi)

12 Jul

Cafe Mugiwaraboushi ( Ghibli Museum Cafe)
nearest train station: Mitaka (also accessible from Kichijoji)
inside Ghibli Museum (You need an admission ticket to Ghibli Museum when you use this cafe.)
address: 1-1-83 Shimorenjaku, Mitaka-shi, Tokyo
phone: 0422-40-2411
open: 11:00am – 7:00pm
close: Tuesdays

I’d love to share with you my experience of eating at this kawaii Ghibli cafe at Ghibli Museum the other day! 😀


As mentioned in the post of Ghibli Museum, you will have to wait for about an hour to eat in this cafe.

Because of this, it’s true many people give up and they instead go to a shop to take away hotdog or ice cream.

My husband and I were patiently waiting in this line for about 45 minutes. (I was advised 30-40 minutes of waiting. Still lucky compared with 1 hour.) The menu book was handed to the people while we were in the queue. It looks like a little picture book, rather than a menu. 🙂

Compared with average cafes in Tokyo, the price seems a bit higher. But I believe that’s normal in a theme park.

If you have small kids, don’t worry there are many picture books for small children…oops, they are in Japanese! So…you must be creative enough to make your own story from the pictures and ignore Japanese. Read your story in English or your own language, haha!

Everything is so kawaii! I wish they opened sister cafes in Tokyo regardless of Ghibli admission so we can come and go anytime we like without buying the ticket.

Finally we went inside! The ceilings were high, with large window (I think it’s fixed though), and the cafe was very comfortable with much natural light.

I often tend to pay attention to the interior more than food…^ ^;

We ordered Katsu sando (pork cutlet sandwich) , vegetable sandwich, soup made from paprika that was served cold, iced milk tea and shared. We were also planning to order a strawberry shortcake because this looked very good in Tabelog pictures. However, the cake was not available because the strawberries did not arrive! OMG~~!! We were anticipating to have the cake there! According to the waitress, that was the first time they could not serve the shortcake since they opened. Why we chose to come to the cafe on that day of all others. >_<

This pork katsu sando was very good!!

Can you see the Ghibli character drawn on the plate? (I cannot remember but what was this?)
Oh…I loved this pork cutlet sandwich soooo much!!!

The vegetable sandwich was also good. It’s layered with several ingredients and was very rich and nice!

This iced milk tea was amazing! I normally prefer coffee to tea, but this one even changed my preferences. But unfortunately I cannot have iced milk tea as good as this one since then…BTW, the straw is not just an ordinary straw made of plastic, but this one is made of wheat straw. Remember the name of this cafe in Japanese? It’s Muguwaraboushi, which means straw hat. ^ ^

When we finished the meal, we asked again if the strawberries arrived but no, unfortunately! Too bad we missed the shortcake!! >_<
I really wish to come back to this cafe, only if it's located outside the Ghibli Museum. Otherwise, I'll have to buy Ghibli ticket again only to come to eat here…

If you have a chance to try out this cafe, be sure to order the strawberry shortcake and tell me how it was~~~(T^T)

27 Responses to “Ghibli Cafe (Cafe Mugiwaraboushi)”

  1. Magali July 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I love it ! it's too pretty ! (and it makes me hungry too … >__<' )

    • kirin July 13, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Your husband and you will definitely love this place. ^ ^ Hope you can try when you are in Japan in the future. ^ ^

  2. Patty July 12, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    The little black balls were dust from Spirited Away, they are the dust from the charcol. Do they have an English menu? Or is every in Japanese? I'm so jealous you went there!

    • kirin July 13, 2011 at 7:54 am #

      Oh, you're right!! (0:27)
      I don't think they have an English menu. Or maybe yes, but only when they are asked?

  3. shimin July 12, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    It's the dust ball from Spirited Away, isn't it!

    • kirin July 13, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      You are so right~. ^ ^ Thanks!!

  4. Angel July 12, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Awww, too bad you didn't get to try the cake! But the rest of that food…looks amazing!! *p*
    It looks like such a cute and quaint little cafe, fits in so well with the Miyazaki theme. But I also like the modern architecture very cool. <333 I hope one day I can go too. ^_^

    • kirin July 13, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      I hope the readers of this blog can prepare for the future Japan trip by reading this blog. ^ ^

  5. lluvia July 13, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    How beautiful!
    Ghibli… I love all his magical movies and characters : )

    • kirin July 13, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      I wish I had enough time to watch his movies well before I visited the museum and this cafe. It must be more fun if I can understand the characters and the stories 100%. ^ ^;;

  6. junko July 13, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    the sooot balls 😀 they are so kawaii they eat stars ^.^ i wanna gooo

  7. Shaney July 13, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    I was lucky enough to eat there last time I went to Japan! From your pictures, it looks like you were sitting in about the same spot.I was lucky enough to eat there last time I went to Japan! From your pictures, it looks like you were sitting in about the same spot.I was lucky enough to eat there last time I went to Japan! From your pictures, it looks like you were sitting in about the same spot.I was lucky enough to eat there last time I went to Japan! From your pictures, it looks like you were sitting in about the same spot.

    There were so many details it was amazing, and the staff were really nice. One of my friends is allergic to eggs and milk and they got really worried about him. In the end even the chef came out to check he'd be OK with the food!

    • kirin July 15, 2011 at 9:12 am #

      Oh, what's wrong with your message? I guess the system didn't work properly…-_- never mind…
      Yeah! I hear Japanese people say that their service is wonderful as well, too!

  8. winnie July 14, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Hi Kirin,
    the ambience of the cafe is cosy. I wanted so much to go now after seeing yours pictures on food.
    Yes, I will going to try the strawberry cake too. And the Ice milk Tea!
    I love strawberry Shortcake and ice milk tea! (But Always give me stomachache)!
    What about go together??

    • kirin July 15, 2011 at 9:14 am #

      The milk tea was like a tea latte, the tea was strong so when it was mixed with milk, it still had great flavor and taste left.
      Please ask me and my husband for anything about our experience with this when we see this weekend!

  9. arina July 16, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    i went there with my friend last summer holidays..its very nice..loovee..my favourite ghibli animation at this moment is arietty!!i even bought the book when i was there..im doing my best to finish the book even though it takes me long because my japanese is not so good..love ghibli!!

    • kirin July 17, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

      I think it's the best way to learn or practice Japanese (a foreign language) from your favorite book! ^ ~ ^ Ganbatte!

  10. Frida July 20, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    Hi Kirin!
    I went to this wonderful place too, when I was in Japan 2 years ago!

    Me and my husband waited for about 40 minutes, but it's worth it!
    Inside, the atmosphere is so cosy and relaxed! I loved everything there!
    I can confirm there's an English Menu! I took a soup and a cake… delicious!

    Now I can admit it: I "stole" a paper towel! It was soo kawaii, I didn't use it and took it home with me! ^0^
    I also bought a set of little flags, just like the one you found on your sandwich!

    This place is magic!

    • kirin July 21, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Ohh!! They have an English menu?! Great! Thank you for your comment. ^ ^
      A paper towel! I see, you mean the paper napkin that the straw hat and Japanese letters are printed, right?

      Thank you for your comment, Frida. It tells me how much you enjoyed it!

  11. linhlyn September 24, 2011 at 7:53 am #

    I envy you. I wish to come to this cafe too >.< I have to figure it out how to book the ticket with my poor crappy Japanese. ^ ^ Btw, if you haven't yet been to this shop, take a look at this:) Kawaii totoro, http://www.shiro-hige.com/ They sell totoro-shaped cream puff:)

    • kirin September 24, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      Wow!! So cute!!! Thanks for sharing!!!!! ^_____^

      • linhlyn September 25, 2011 at 2:24 am #

        Your welcome. I think i will try to go to this shop one day. However, my poor Japanese can't call and order them in advance. 🙂 If you go to the shop, please share with us!:D

      • kirin September 26, 2011 at 9:30 am #

        I roughly checked out the place but it seems it's not a cafe but just a cake shop, which means you cannot eat in but you'll have to take away. (In that case you just point the cake and so it's easier ^ ^) Anyhow…I'll try to report and review it in TKE later. Thanks!! ^ ^

  12. linhlyn September 26, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    ahh no, I mean that people have to make phone call to them to order as they sell the cakes really fast. Their products are sold out quite fast.So I read somewhere or on the website that you should call them in advance. So, making phonecall is quite a challenge for me:)

    • kirin September 27, 2011 at 8:56 am #

      Oh really?? Thank you for the information. I'll check with them before I visit the place. Also when I write a post, I'll try to include sample conversations what you may have to say and what will be asked over the phone.
      Thanks!! ^ ^

  13. linhlyn September 27, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Ahhh, Arigatou! Your convo will help me alot! ❤ Hontouni arigatou:)

    • kirin September 28, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      It's my pleasure. I appreciate that you introduced me that place. ^_^

Leave a Reply

