Kurashiki Hamburg

4 Jul

Kurashiki Hamburg
nearest train station: Futakotamagawa
(Futakotamagawa RISE 7F)
phone: 03-5797-5309
open: 11:00am – 11:00pm

While I was browsing Futakotamagawa RISE the other day by myself, I had to have my lunch somewhere. Since the shopping mall is still new, there was a long line of people waiting to enter at each restaurant. I’ve never seen “Kurashiki Hamburg” so I tried it for the first time. πŸ™‚

It’s a hamburg restaurant. I can say it’s like a family restaurant specialized for hamburg dishes.

I didn’t want to wait for more than half an hour. Compared with others, this restaurant had less people on that day. Also I wanted to eat rice more than noodle or bread. I know I can make a combination with steamed rice at a family restaurant. I somehow like such combination. Western food with steamed rice, more than bread. ^ ^;;

It’s quite reasonable! This price is impossible considering that its location is in Futakotamagawa. Is this another example from recession? Whatever… ^ ^;;

The interior looks better than average family restaurants such as Denny’s, Jonathan’s or Gust. ^ ^;;

I ordered a set of a hamburg with a green perilla and grated Daikon (Japanese radish) with special sauce (for 680yen) plus Japanese set from a bowl of steamed rice, salad and miso soup (for 290yen). I guess they put a little too much of miso, it tasted salty and I didn’t like it. The miso was too strong for me to taste the dashi. 😦

I think it’s nice they serve the hamburg in a hot plate that is kept heated until the very last bite. This service and under 1000yen is cool! It must be better than ordinary family restaurants.

Zooming in…Well, actually the hamburg was smaller than I thought. :p

But, look at how juicy it was. It looks like a lot of oil too, but as it’s kept warm and fat melted, I didn’t feel the meat too oily.

Do you like hamburg? I think it’s quite popular in Japan, and of course, I love it! πŸ˜€

17 Responses to “Kurashiki Hamburg”

  1. aaninoue8 July 4, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Waaahh.oishisou..yummy2..i lovveee it but didnt eat often..once a month is enough for me..really like it but because it has high fat contents etc etc i reduce the intake..heee so i really looking forward evrytime its time for ハンバーグ!! XD

    • kirin July 5, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

      ハンバーグ!Right!! You write Japanese~~. I wonder if I should've mentioned it's hamburger but in Japanese it's hamburg so…you know what I mean. ^ ^;;

  2. Lisa July 4, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    That’s really different to hamburgers in Australia. I would like to try it.

    • kirin July 5, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      Haha! Yes, it's arranged into Japanese way. I think the size is also very small compared with Australian one. ^ ^;;

  3. Dutchie July 4, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    Looks yummy ! However, I think the restaurant has made a small but crucial mistake. Hamburg is a city in Germany. Hamburgers r the meat patties served on a plate ;-p

    • kirin July 5, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      Oh, sorry for that part. I should've called it hamburger in English. Hamburg is a Japanese. We call it hamburg. ^ ^;; Sorry for this confusion.

  4. Salma July 5, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I love hamburg, but not so much. However, the hamburg of this restaurant looks oishi (^_^), and I remember seeing a restaurant like it in Hiroshima when I was there.

    • kirin July 5, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      I've never been to Hiroshima. >_<;; As Japanese I think I must visit Hiroshima Peace Memorial and Itsukushima shrine. I guess I know pretty less about my own country or culture…what a shame!

      • Salma July 5, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

        You know? I have never been to the Pyramids, Luxor and Aswan although I'm Egyptian ( I visited other places in Alexandria in particular, but not so many ones in Cairo and Giza) . I saw the Pyramids far away while passing by them by car but never visited them closely (Shame on me too). So, it's the same case as yours. πŸ˜‰
        I remember visiting Hiroshima Peace Memorial several times and the Peace Park too.

      • kirin July 7, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

        Thank you Salma for sharing your own experience!
        Wow! Your case is the same as mine! I was going to travel to Egypt, exactly the places you mentioned last Feb. Hmm…I wonder if I can have another chance this year. ^ ^;; I really wanted to visit there then~~*s*

  5. Amika July 5, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    The dishes look really yummy. I loved all the photos.

    Is it common to cook the hamburger to well done in Japanese dishes? Just curious…
    (Only our fast food restaurants & some chains do that in the United States). Most restaurants ask you how you want your meat cooked (rare, medium rare, medium, medium-well or well done). Well done is when the meat is gray. Rare the meat is redish pink & cool in the middle. Depending on where you travel in the US (which state & city you are in) – sometimes the state or city only allows well done meat. The states are weird that way.

    I guess I'm blabbering too much.
    I love your posts – I love learning about Japanese culture. Thanks for sharing with us!

    • kirin July 7, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Thank you for your comment, Amika.
      In Japan, if you visit an authentic steak restaurant where they also have hamburgers, you'll be asked if you like rare, medium or well-done. But such a restaurant is just a casual one, there's no choice. Well-done most of the cases. ^ ^;;; Thanks for asking!

  6. ichigoichielove July 7, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    γŠγ„γ—γγ†οΌοΌοΌ
    I'll definitely have to try it out sometime!! πŸ™‚

    • kirin July 7, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      γƒγƒ³γƒγƒΌγ‚°γ―γ‘γ‚‡γ£γ¨ε°γ•γ„γ‹γ‚‚οΌŸ ^ ^;
      But it's good for the price, I think.

      • Tami July 9, 2011 at 9:42 am #

        Wow… looks yummy..
        A friend of a co-worker of mine is all over these hamburg things ("Hacksteaks" in german), going as far that he would compare other food price wise and say "no way i gona order this, i could get 3 Hamburgers for that!"

        Tokyo Restaurants seem really nice, when i see the dishes on all the blogs posted here and there and compare em to some here… uhhh… envy!

      • kirin July 9, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

        I hear people from Europe sometimes mention that we can get a good meal at a very reasonable price. Good meal here means a set of meat or fish, salad, rice or bread and soup or drink set for a very reasonable price compared with Europe.
        I see this is so true, thinking of the fact I could only get sandwiches and a bottle of water in Amsterdam at a cost that could be worth 2 reasonable meals in Japan. Basically drinking water is free in Japan. So you can still eat a set of meal from meat, salad, rice and miso soup for 500-600yen. You don't even need to pay for water, as it's served for free.

  7. b&b breakfast July 11, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Lovely Posting for Food. Awesome

Leave a Reply

