Japanese kabocha (pumpkin) recipe

28 Jun

Let me introduce authentic Japanese vegetable dish that we often like to have as a side dish.
You may have noticed that Japanese cuisine tends to be salty. Miso soup, grilled fish, Japanese pickles, dish seasoned with soy sauce, teriyaki, and etc. Hence it’s nice to have something sweet as a side dish.

So today, it’s simmered pumpkin. This recipe is made with a little bit of stronger taste. If you prefer lighter taste, please decrease a little bit more of soy sauce and sugar.

Ingredients for 2-3 people
-quarter cut pumpkin (350g)
-1 cup of water
-1tbs of soy sauce
-1.5 tbs of sugar

Pour water, sugar and soy sauce into the pot. Get rid of seeds and unnecessary part from the pumpkin and cut it into 3-4cm cubics. Then put them into the pot.

Place an “Otoshibuta” which means a lid resting directly on the food. (“Otoshibuta” is useful when we want to simmer vegetables or meats effectively.)

Keep simmering over medium-low heart for about 10 minutes until you see nearly no soup left.

As is always, you can use aluminum foil as a substitute for “Otoshibuta” if you don’t have it.

Done! (You see no soup left.)

Some people like it with soup. You can find your way. πŸ˜‰

Hope you like it. ^ ^ Again, many thanks to my friend Chika who always collaborate with me for the Japanese cooking posts!
Please feel free to request us if you want to know any specific Japanese home cooking recipes.

10 Responses to “Japanese kabocha (pumpkin) recipe”

  1. winnie June 29, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    Hi Kirin,
    I love to eat Pumpkin!! This is interesting!
    I normally Steamed or cooked as soup or even put into rice to steamed together.
    I will try this today if I can find Pumpkin in supermarket later .
    Thank you for sharing!!

  2. winnie June 29, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    Hi Kirin,

    I had cooked the Pumpkin in lighter taste.
    My hubby and girl liked it very much, so do I.
    I do not have Otoshibuta so I used aluminum foil .
    I am so happy that I can have the Pumpkin in this way too.
    πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 29, 2011 at 11:56 am #

      Oh hi winnie,
      Thank you for your feedback!
      I don't have Otoshibuta either, so I always use aluminium foil. ^ ^;
      I'm happy to hear that your family liked it!! Thank you. πŸ˜€

  3. Veronica June 30, 2011 at 3:59 am #

    Wow! Kabocha is my favorite! It is so delicious! I prepare it very similar to your recipe ^_^
    My Japanese neighbor introduced it to me and I am forever grateful to him πŸ˜€

    This blog is so interesting and helpful.
    Thank you for all your hard work and for sharing all this information!

  4. Feli July 1, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    You mentioned sugar in your ingredients list. Can refined sugar be used instead of brown sugar? Cause from your picture i see that you used brown sugar so i was wondering if it would work and produce the same/similar result if refined sugar is used instead.

    • kirin July 2, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Oh, sure!! ^ ^

  5. fxgeorges July 3, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Your timing is impeccable! I've been staring at this beautiful little kabocha for a week and am delighted to know that I can cook and freeze it for future dishes. The Kabocha no Nitsuke is definitely going to appear in this week's bento. Ah, the colors of autumn.

    • kirin July 5, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

      How wonderful! You bring it with bento?! Cool!!

  6. best soy sauce February 6, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

    This is a beautiful and charming presntation. particularly this vegetables really healthful. i like this pumpkin. is my daily food. it has many vitamin. i think all of the people like this food. whatever, if you want to buy some of useful and healthful soy products so you can check out our best soy sauce.

  7. Salud centro médico April 2, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    Making process of Japanese kabocha (pumpkin) recipe seems to me quite easy! I hasve to try this in my home in near future. As a food lover I like to read about this recipe. Thansk for this allocation!!!

Leave a Reply

