My Kawaii Entry 17

24 Jun

Glad to have another My Kawaii Entry! 😀
entry #19
Cath

Yes, I am a teacher. And no, I am not an elementary school teacher. A lot of people think I am, but I’m actually teaching in a secondary school where the kids are from 13 to 17 years old.

The first photograph shows my teaching schedule and the year’s calendar. The carebear stickers are from a colleague and I bought the Mickey Mouse tape at a stationary store last year.

This second photograph shows the area just beside the schedule and calendar, and I face it most of the time when I’m at my desk.
You can see a bear-face shaped mirror. I can see who’s walking pass behind me, and check if I’m presentable before I go for a class.
There’s a bottle of perfume next to the mirror – Annick Goutal’s Le Mimosa. It’s a french fragrance (EDT) which I purchased last month. It’s important to have a nice smelling teacher!

The photograph below shows a section of the partition, that is right angle and on the left of the schedule. This is my christmas-corner. I decided to use the Christmas theme because it’s my favourite time of the year! It’s during the longest school holiday – mid-Nov to December, and I usually travel to Japan during this season. The decoration reminds me of the streets of Japan during Christmas time, and all the lovely illumination.

This photograph shows another section, right next to the christmas-corner. If you look carefully, I have many hello kitty miniature food sets. I’m not a hello kitty fan. I bought these in 2009 when I was under extreme stress. I guess I went a little crazy. There is a little grey cat at the right corner. I bought that in Japan when my daughter was 1 year old, I think. So that’s Dec 2007. When I look out of this glass panel, I can see who’s leaving the office and who’s coming back from their lessons. Some colleagues asked me why I decided to shift to this office space (my original seat was the one right behind), and I told them I am spying on behalf of my principal to see who’s leaving school early. It’s a joke, of course. Thankfully my colleagues think I have a good sense of humour.

The area shown in this photograph is directly above the previous one mentioned. The huge pink bear is a gift from the students from my school band. I think it’s for last year’s Teachers’ Day. I really appreciate the thought, of course. But over the years, I’ve learnt not to take students’ affection too seriously. Their mood changes as much as the weather. Can you see the photograph of a little girl? That’s my daughter when she was about 9 months old.

Lastly, the photograph below is the area above a shelf. I’ve placed a 3 tier shelf horizontal on the table, so it acts as a partition between my workspace and my colleagues. I have some books and resources in the shelf, and the space above allows me to put more photographs and some plants. Well, I did want to have more than just one pot. But I’ve been so busy… The little bears are mementos from a wedding I attended many years ago, and I can’t remember whose. The black and white photograph shows my friend and her daughter. It was a candid shot but I loved it so much, I asked her for permission to print it and display it. I also had it made into a canvas painting and mailed it to her in Texas. Each time I see the photo, my heart is warmed. The coloured photograph shows my son and I when we were in Japan last night. Saitama’s Royal Host. It was one of the best dinners we had during the trip.

I hope you were amused by this post. I don’t think workers/teachers in Japan are allowed to decorate their workspace to this extend? Well, I spend about 11 hours each day, and almost 200 days each year. My principal should be glad that this is almost like my second home.
Perhaps, this is also the space that I can really call my own. I share my home with my husband, and I’m more concern about his style. I can’t decorate my own home 100% the way I want. So my workspace is the only area that can express my creativity. Hahaha… I wonder if I should show these photographs to my husband!

Kirin’s opinion:
Wow! Thank you Cath for sharing the post with other TKE readers. 🙂
It’s always nice to see how people enjoy their kawaii world with their taste and collections. I see what you mean Cath, when you say you cannot decorate your house 100% as you like because it’s where you have to share with your family. I feel the same way, although in my case I am the one who mostly choose furniture and decorations for our house. But it’s still different. If I lived in my own apartment, I could have painted the wall in fancy colors and instead of TV, I would play music. Oh…sorry for my ramblings. I don’t think Japanese teachers are allowed to have so much space to decorate, even though they also work for a long time. (They have to also take care of club activity from early in the morning or to late at the evening or Saturdays and Sundays, besides their teaching jobs, conferences, meeting with PTA, and a lot of other works…) Also, in Japan there’s no “Teacher’s Day”.

So is anyone interested in participating in the My Kawaii Project and share your kawaii world to the rest of TKE readers? ^__^

3 Responses to “My Kawaii Entry 17”

  1. Cath June 25, 2011 at 8:50 am #

    I'm sorry and surprised to hear there's no Teachers' Day in Japan! Is there a particular day where students appreciate their teachers? Graduation Day perhaps?

    • kirin June 25, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

      Yeah…I think so. ^ ^;; Teacher is one of the most tough jobs in Japan, I guess… ^ ^;;

  2. winnie June 28, 2011 at 12:10 am #

    Hi,
    thank you for sharing! The Christmas corner is kawaii!
    The pink bear look like is Carebear and is cute too. I love Pink!!

    Yes, I agreed Teacher is tough job.
    For my girl's school is called"Teacher and staff Appreciation" which is not on the same date for every year.
    In Singapore, September 1 is a Teacher Day.
    It is an official school holiday and celebrations are conducted the day before.

Leave a Reply

