Futakotamagawa RISE shopping center

22 Jun

Shopping mall
Futakotamagawa RISE shopping center
nearest train station: Futakotamagawa
address: 2-21-1 Tamagawa, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo
phone: 03-3709-9109

Futakotamagawa station changed a lot since this shopping center opened in March 2011.

I had a chance to go there the other day, so I checked out the area. ^ ^ I’ll give you a short tour to show you the inside. 🙂

I couldn’t check out everything in the day but let me share with you what I saw on that day!

Dogwood Plaza is located next to Rise shopping center and it’s considered a part of Rise shopping center. From its name “dog” I expected stores for dog and dog owners, but later I learned it’s a name of a flower. lol I’m still learning English even from shopping, haha~.

Some nice cafe…Antico Caffe Al Avis ❤ I'd love to try this cafe next time!

Or this cafe…Cocktail-Do Coffee?

I guess I saw this store in Atre Kichijoji the other day also…but it looks like a foreign brand shop??

Many apparel shops of course! 😀

Tutuanna is underwear and socks store but I personally don’t like their quality. I’ve purchased leggings before but the fabric material was not very good, compared with the equivalents at a similar price from other brand. I guess it’s the matter of the ratio of which fabric is used how much percent, and that was not my taste after all. :p

Francfranc is a casual interior shop loved by young single women or a couple. You can find their branch stores everywhere.

Keyuca is also a popular interior shop but its taste is natural, very different from the concept of Francfranc’s. I think Keyuca’s products are more expensive and durable compared with those of Francfranc’s.

Kiddyland! But of course, smaller than the one in Harajuku.

Kiiroitori!! XD

Snoopy Town shop. I don’t hear anyone who is so crazy about Snoopy but Snoopy shop never disappears, which means he is certainly popular in Japan…

Swimmer!! I see how Swimmer is popular! I know that!! ^_^

How cute! I always love to see their stores… ^ ^

212 kitchen store is a kitchen tools store like Cuisine Habits but I think 212 is more popular.

3 coins shop. Remember? The one of the 300 yen shops. ^ ^

This corner is like the one you can find at Sony Plaza: the collection of reasonable cosmetics brands.

Aoyama Flower Market is a flower shop that we can often find in some shopping malls and train stations.

Eyeco is originally a name of a magazine. I think they also have a store to sell the products they introduced in their magazines.

Uniqlo is saving electricity, which is why their logo is dark…^ ^;; You see this is what I meant in the post the other day.

A shop that sells handcraft goods, tools and materials. I’m not familiar with this store “Mano Create” but it must be something like Yuzawaya. ^ ^;;

Lunch is a cotton underwear shop, which is the same as Un Nana Cool but they have a little bit of different series.

Finally I’ll stop with this store, “Rootote“. I think they started from a small tote bag first, but gradually they increased items and now they have large sized bags as well.

Somehow I have none of their bags even though I like to browse their collections from time to time.

OK, it’s the end of my tour. I can see all these shops will be easily replaced if they don’t perform well, but at a moment I was able to find many shops that I liked. Next time I go there, I’ll take more time to enjoy my personal shopping. I like such places as Jiyugaoka, Futakotamagawa, Kichijoji, Yokohama, Shimokitazawa more than the places like Shibuya, Shinjuku, Ikebukuro, Ginza, or Ueno because there are less people but enough stores for me to shop and eat. ^ ^;;

There’s Takashimaya shopping center located on the other side of the station, but it’s targeted for affluent madams, moms and kids. It was not really my taste, and so I didn’t have a reason to go shopping there for a long time but now with Rise newly built, I think I can enjoy shopping in an ample space avoiding crowds. ^ ^

What kind of stores do you like to shop at or expect in a shopping mall?

23 Responses to “Futakotamagawa RISE shopping center”

  1. Ricky June 22, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    I love posts like these, I feel like I just visited that mall through all those pictures! Thank you!

    • kirin June 25, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      Thank you! It's nice to hear your comment. I will make a post like this when I visit a new mall next time. ^ ^

  2. Lisa June 23, 2011 at 3:17 am #

    It all looks amazing. We don’t have shopping malls as nice as that in Australia.

    • kirin June 23, 2011 at 5:45 am #

      I see. When I was living and travelling in Australia, I missed kawaii stuff that I would be easily able to find in Japan, but now in Japan, I miss the outback, wild nature, unique animal, beautiful oceans in Australia. I really loved travelling from Perth to Darwin. I'll travel in Australia again this autumn! ^ ^

  3. Phil June 23, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    Are you sure this is Japan?! Not a single kanji in sight!

    • kirin June 23, 2011 at 5:50 am #

      Haha! Very interesting comment, Phil.
      Actually there are less shops that carry Kanji signs today, unless the shop targets old people or it deals with Japanese souvenirs or craftwork. I think we feel that Kanji name is uncool, while English name or the name in alphabet sounds cool. ^ ^;;;

  4. kirin June 23, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    I'm glad to read your comment! Yes, the shops in this mall are more suitable for the young people, which is very different from Takashimaya. ^ ^ I hope you can visit there next time!

    • kirin June 24, 2011 at 2:40 am #

      @Shirley,

      I found 2 comments from you that looked exactly the same, so I deleted one of them and left only one, but somehow now both disappeared. So sorry for that.

      =Shirley's comment=
      I went to Tokyo last Christmas December 2010 and stayed at my boyfriend's house in Setagaya so about 30min walk away from the Futako-tamagawa station and the shopping center was still being built. Now it's finished! I am so excited to go there when I visit Japan next time!! And it's so close too! When I was there and when we didn't want to take the train anywhere, we would walk to Takashima-ya and most stores are quite expensive in there, so I am so excited this shopping center is now opened!! Thanks so much for sharing and all the pictures of the different stores there =)

  5. Sammy-Sam June 23, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    I just can't believe there're two big shopping malls so close together… so much stuff…. :S

  6. winnie June 23, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Hi Kirin,

    I went to this place last month, but did not managed to have a good look on it. Thank you for sharing the pictures
    When I was in Primary school, Snoopy is one of my favourite character.

    Same here…I like places with lesser people but enough stores for me to eat or shopping too.
    Shibuya, Shinjuku can drive me crazy with so many people.
    And I am too poor for most of the salepersons to come to me. ha ha ha..
    There are good and sincere salepersons sometimes..

    For shopping mall, I don't like too many Branded stuffs crowded together. It make the whole place a bit too dull.

    • kirin June 24, 2011 at 2:28 am #

      Hi Winnie,
      I suppose you cannot decline the flyers and etc., you are handed on the street. ^ ^;;

  7. Feli June 23, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Oooo! Thanks for posting this! The shopping mall looks so nice that i so tempted to visit it if i ever get a chance to visit Japan again and I didn't know there were 300 yen shops in Japan,i've only seen the 100 yen shops during my visit to Japan.

    • kirin June 24, 2011 at 2:32 am #

      There are several kind of 300 yen shops in Japan. ^ ^
      Also, this shop "outlet" is not exactly a 300yen shop but they sell many cute stuff at a reasonable price. When I went to one of the 300yen shop named Mikadzuki Momoko http://www.momoko300.com/ the other day, I noticed part of their goods are the same as what we can find in outlet store.

      • Feli June 24, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

        Ooo,okay! Thanks for clarifying the 300 yen shops =D WA!!! Mikadzuki Momoko's webpage is so cuteee and pink! 8D

  8. Kaoru June 23, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    nice place! ill put this to my "to-go" list for japan! how long does it take from tokyo?

    • kirin June 24, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      From Tokyo, you mean from Tokyo station?
      About 30 minutes by train from Tokyo station, and 10 minutes by train from Shibuya station. It's on Denentoshi-Line connected from Shibuya. ^ ^

  9. shimin June 24, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    Does Takashimaya Shopping Centre mean something? 😮 There's a Takashimaya Shopping Centre here in Singapore, too! Or rather, Takashimaya Department Store, sometimes? 😮

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      Takashimaya shopping center or department store here and over there are the same, same company. ^ ^

  10. TokyoChel June 25, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    I love posts like this because it gives me the sense of shopping in Japan which looks so fun! Thanks for sharing this! 🙂

    • kirin June 25, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

      Good to hear that. Now I know this kind of post is good! ^ ^

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:49 am #

      ^0^ Yey!

  11. polpol July 23, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Im so jealous….. but thank you so much for these posts now they motivate me more to save up and go to Japan next year!! ~~

    • kirin July 25, 2011 at 1:49 am #

      Yes! Save money, come to Japan and shop like crazy!! Over here it means the same, you know, I can go there any time but after all I need money to enjoy shopping thoroughly! ^ ^;;

Leave a Reply

