Sanrio Character Ranking 2011

18 Jun

The other day, I happened to find this cute ad in a train station.

When I googled, I found the Sanrio Character Ranking for 2011.
I didn’t know they had this event every year (it looks like so).

BTW, you can also vote for your favorite character by hitting the white button under each character, or by Japanese cell phones (by reading the code provided) if you are in Japan, or you can simply tweet it. In this page, you can play with game, movie or fortune telling and you can also download kawaii computer wallpaper or calendar for free from the 2nd column of that page.

I clearly can recognize some characters I loved while I was a kid! I see how Sanrio characters made my life cheerful. It was always fun for me to go to a Sanrio store and buy a notebook or a pen that I used at school.

I liked these characters.

1) Tahboh (What is his name in English by the way? Same?)

2) Tuxedo-sam (I remember I had a small soft toy and many small goods of this character!)

3) The RunAbouts (?) That’s how I read its name in Japanese, but I really liked it without even knowing its name! lol I kind of collected goods of this character’s.

4) Goro Pika Don (They represent the Gods that make thunder. “Goro” is a sound of thunder at the beginning, “Pika” is lightning, and “Don” is a sound when the thunder strikes.)

5) Seven Silly Dwarfs (Again, I didn’t know its name, but I liked this character.)

The sad thing I remember was Tahboh was banned, because it was blamed that Tahboh makes fun of physically-challenging people. I remember Tahboh disappeared from Sanrio shop and I couldn’t get it anywhere any longer. I had a Tahboh pen case then. He is such a nice and relaxing character that makes people feel relaxed and slow down. I guess it was because I saw many nice characters that I feel familiar from childhood that I decided to write a post about this. All these characters are so old and not available today.

What Sanrio character do you (did you) like? I see how Hello Kitty is powerful nevertheless it’s also such an old character!

27 Responses to “Sanrio Character Ranking 2011”

  1. Sara June 18, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    When I started primary school, I remember I was given a set of アヒルのぺックル pencil eraser tops for my first day of school and I was so happy, but a few days later, someone had stolen it 😦 But I loved it so much! 🙂

    I think during my time it was アヒルのぺックル and Bad Badtz Maru and けろけろけろっぴ and あさるのもんきち。

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:14 am #

      Kerokerokeroppi was also very popular. ^ ^

  2. Magali June 18, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    thank you for the info, I will share this with my friends French!
    but it's hard to choose one or two characters … >_<

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:19 am #

      Thank you for your retweet!! I hope your French audience will love the post. ^ ^

  3. sedonia2 June 18, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I'd have to say that Hello Kitty is still my favorite – for 33 years now!

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:20 am #

      Ohh…you're such a loyal fan of HK! @w@

      • sedonia2 June 19, 2011 at 2:28 am #

        lol. Yes I am. I have HK stickers all over – on my computer, on the console in my car. I love her. (hey – btw – at this moment I'm watching a really good drama with Kimu Taku called A Sleeping Forest. (Nemureru Mori) Have you seen it?

      • kirin June 20, 2011 at 5:09 am #

        That's an old drama from 1998! But I don't watch TV very often so…I didn't watch it either. ^ ^; I know my blog readers watch more J-dramas and listen to more J-pop than I do. haha!

  4. that girl June 18, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    I always loved Nyago the cat, Purin, Landry the raccoon, Spotty Dotty, Cinamaroll (they called him Baby Cinnamon here for a while), Pocchaco, Kerropi, and Chi Chai Monchan! 😀

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:20 am #

      Cinamonroll is so cute<3

  5. Fran June 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    What! Tahboh is actually based on disabled people?? Or was his character just carefree and silly…funny fact of the day lol. My favorite sanrio characters were bad badtz maru, cinnamon roll (that long eared dog? or was it a rabbit ..hm.) and Keroppi! But now when I look at them, I see how simply they're drawn…I prefer characters from Ghibli now!

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:21 am #

      Ah, Ghibli characters! Ponyo or Totoro…they are so cute<3

  6. Angel June 18, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    I've never seen Tanboh here before. :O I don't know his English name. There are probably many characters that haven't been introduced here in the US.

    Hello Kitty is super popular here of course. lol! . My Melody, Keroppi, Badtz Maru, Charmmy Kitty and Chococat are also popular in the US.

    I've always like Cinnamoroll, Hello Kitty and Pochacco! ^_^ ❤

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:24 am #

      Pochacco! I didn't even know his name! ^ ^;;

  7. TokyoChel June 19, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    Wow, I thought I knew a lot about Sanrio, but I have never seen some of these characters. I also didn't know they rank the characters each year. I guess this helps Sanrio to decide which character people want to see and buy more of!

    • kirin June 19, 2011 at 2:25 am #

      I also just found out how less I know from Sanrio characters, even thought they have amused my childhood so much!!

  8. Sex Without Borders June 19, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    I love Chococat and Kittychan! I didn't realize there were so many cat Sanrio characters!

  9. lluvia June 19, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Lot of characters! 😮
    I didn't know Sanrio had that big collection of characters. Maybe only the most popular are selled outside Japan? It's possible that I had a doll like Tuxedo-sam as a child, but I don't know if it was original.
    If I could choose I think I like Goro Pika Don the most. I like mythology! and they seem a ちび version of Lum Invader, from the manga Urusei Yatsura o.o Perhaps the aesthetic is related?
    It's sad because I can't know the stories behind the Sanrio characters, and they weren't part of my childhood. Despite that are kawaii ^^ I think the most popular characters here are undoubtedly: Hello Kitty, Cinnamon Roll, My Melody and Kuromi.

    • kirin June 20, 2011 at 5:11 am #

      Hello Kitty, Cinnamon Roll, My Melody and Kuromi…I think they are popular here now too. It's possible Sanrio didn't promote their characters in early times when Goro Pika Don for example was popular in Japan.

  10. Feli June 19, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    I liked Hello Kitty,Charming Kitty and this rabbit/bunny with long ears,blue eyes and is white in colour.I saw it in Scandal's CUTE! PV but i have no idea what's the name of it D:

  11. Sara Mari June 20, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I like all the characters that remind me of my childhood including Keroppi, Pekkle, Batz maru, Pipo, Nyago, Choco cat, Pochacco and Purin. We had a Sanrio store at the Mall of America since I was in elementary school and I filled up sooo many point cards shopping there haha.

    • kirin June 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      Oh, then your childhood is similar as mine ^ ^ I don't remember if I had a point card then but what I liked about the Sanrio shop at that time was that they put a little toy (a small toy we could get from gachapon or something) on the wrapping paper every time we bought something. Ah~ I miss such a little happiness…^ ^

  12. ichigoichielove June 20, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    I like Hello Kitty, but my favbourite is, and always will be Choco cat!!
    But he's not popular in Japan at all… (You can find quite a few accessories with him in the US though!)
    Although recently I've started to like Cinnamonroll a little too, but I think I'm being brainwashed… ^^;

    • kirin June 21, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

      I see! Choco cat is not popular in Japan! It's interesting some characters are popular over here but others are not, although they are all created in Japan… ^ ^;;

  13. Feli June 20, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Thanks for helping me find out the name of the adorably cute Cinnamonroll !

    • kirin June 21, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      My pleasure! Your explanation was clear and easy for me. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

