Himeka – Japanese anison singer from Canada

2 Jun

I know there are many people who learn Japanese from anime, TV dramas or J-pop, but when I heard how she sings I didn’t even notice she was Canadian who speaks Japanese as a foreign language.

Himeka made her debut as a Japanese anison singer in 2009. Her real name is Catherine St-Onge and she is from Canada. In 2008, she came to Japan to become an anison singer. She won first prize at “the 2nd all Japan anison grand prix” held by Animax.

She likes anime since she was little. She learned Japanese through Japanese anime and anime songs.

Her first anime song as Himeka was “Asu eno kizuna” (the first Youtube video above.) as the opening song for Valkyria Chronicles.

Her next anime song was “Hateshinaki Michi” as the ending song for Tegami Bachi

HIMEKA speaks about her dream and etc. (with English sub.)

I’m quite impressed with her language ability but I think we can all learn something well through the things we like. BTW, I started to learn Spanish little by little by watching some Telenovela online or TV in Japan. That’s why I sometimes write a little, maybe imperfect Spanish here and there in comments or messages in the sidebar. ^ ^; If you are Spanish speaker, short easy Spanish comments are much welcomed. (As I don’t understand long complicated ones! lol)

Anyhow I’m happy for Himeka who made her dreams come true in Japan! Our universe will help us when we are connected to what we like. Thus I think the key is to pursue what one likes.

Do you like to learn Japanese or any foreign language from TV or music?

33 Responses to “Himeka – Japanese anison singer from Canada”

  1. Xcell June 2, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    so fluent @.@

    I watch anime and dorama too, I wonder when can I speak as fluently as she can πŸ™‚
    any suggestion where should I start πŸ˜€

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:25 am #

      I think this way : First input the language and then output it.
      Even if you don't understand it well, just keep listening and then you will gradually get short sentences. Then speak it out little by little. Well…that's how I am learning Spanish by myself now. ^ ^;;

  2. Salma June 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Kirin, I miss your blog very much! (It's a week since I didn't surf it or any other website on the net because of my exams).
    Oh yes, I've begin to learn more and more Japanese words and expressions from watching Meitantei Conan in Japanese (but translated into English). This translation is helpful in order to make me know the meaning of such expressions.
    I also enjoy learning languages in general through songs, as I actually did in knowing more Japanese words from anison songs ^_^
    In addition, I began to acquire some French and Spanish words from songs too πŸ˜‰

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:26 am #

      Cool, I like to get used to foreign languages through songs as well! ^_-

  3. Angel June 2, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I've heard of Himeka before and I think her story is so amazing. *o* I wish that could happen to me lol, but I can't sing.
    I've learned a few little phrases here and there from watching anime and listening to Jpop music. But I couldn't really have a conversation. I will be taking Japanese in University next year though. πŸ™‚ I'm very excited! I want to Major in Graphic Design and Minor in Japanese Language~

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:27 am #

      That sounds exciting!
      I wish to be a student again~~!

  4. sedonia2 June 2, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    That's reaaly cool. She has a nice voice. I'd never have known she wasn't a native Japanese singer if you didn't tell us! πŸ˜€

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:28 am #

      You see!? Same here. I was quite surprised to hear her singing when I was told that she was a Canadian! *w*

  5. Laura AutΓ³n GarcΓ­a June 2, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    ¡Maravillosa! Her voice is so beautiful! Really, I loved it!
    The best part is that her dream came true πŸ™‚
    It's great you are learning Spanish! I am looking forward to the day I will start learning Japanese. At the moment, studying anything else but my degree, is impossible V_V

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:33 am #

      When you are a Spanish speaker, pronouncing Japanese is quite easy! And vice versa! I find it so easy to listen to/ pronounce Spanish compared with the time I studied English.

      • Gabriel (Macaé) July 21, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

        I guess that is true for Portuguese as well, somehow. I think our syllabes have less consonants. Also, your γ‚γ€€γ„γ€€γ†γ€€γˆγ€€γŠγ€€have sounds very similar to our a i u e o.
        Our R is alike too.

        But I just think like this, not sure =)

      • kirin July 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

        Oh, I see! Yes I think you're right, Portuguese too! Moreover, some Japanese words are borrowed from Portuguese such as carta, pan(bread), kasutera (I don't know how you spell it but it's like a sponge cake).

  6. Kaoru June 2, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    I LOVE JAPANESE DRAMA A LOT….thereby, most of my knowledge are from Japanese drama…or sometimes music helps too…by reading the lyric and listening the music at the same time helps a lot (pronouncation).
    of course,attending Japanese classes for grammars, etc is a must…..but the best way to learn, is speaking.

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:34 am #

      You seem to have fun learning Japanese, which is gooood!! ^0^

  7. damaoscura June 3, 2011 at 12:39 am #

    Hola Kirin!
    Me alegra mucho que estes aprendiendo español ! Mucha suerte y pide la ayuda que necesites.
    Puedo enviarte si lo necesitas links de Youtube con videos de series de animación japonesa
    en español, asi practicas con algo que ya has visto primero en japones.

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:41 am #

      Hola damaoscura!
      Gracias por escribirme en espanol. (I don't know how to type ' or ~ above letters, so my Spanish will be without them.)

      Que es una buena idea! Si! Por favor! Me gustaria tener los Youtube videos de japonesa en espanol.
      If it's not a bother to you, will you mind sending me the links from the contact form?
      http://tokyokawaiietc.com/contact

      Muchas gracias por tu ayuda. ^ ^

      • damaoscura June 3, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

        Hola Kirin!
        Por supuesto, ahora mismo me pongo a prepararte una lista de links que te enviaré en los próximos días.
        Mientras tanto te mando este enlace (link) a una página (site) donde te explica como escribir en español con tu
        teclado (keyboard) normal. Espero que esto te ayude. http://www.lingolex.com/spanishascii.htm

      • kirin June 4, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

        Gracias! I'll check it out later. ^ ^

  8. ilovemamegoma June 4, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Wow! I'm surprised how good she is. For me, when I listen to Utada Hikaru, I get motivated to learn more Japanese! Because I love her music, I want to be able to sing along and understand her songs. Of course this isn't the only reason I study Japanese, but whenever I feel overwhelmed, this is a good way to get motivated to keep learning. ^-^

    • kirin June 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Yes, I think music is a good motivator and also fun way to learn a foreign language. ^ ^

  9. TokyoChel June 7, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    This post is very motivational. I love to sing also, and it's interesting to find that Himeka learned Japanese just by listening to it. Perhaps I will be so lucky πŸ™‚
    I love how her music video has the English translation at the bottom, and the Japanese at the top to help you follow along!
    Thanks for sharing this story Kirin!

    • kirin June 7, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

      Glad if you are motivated by this story! ^ ^

  10. Chrissie June 7, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Hello! I have been reading your blog for a long time now, but this is the first time I'm commenting (I think). I was so happy to see this entry about Himeka! She is one of my heroes! The first time I heard her sing was when my friend played the song "Asu e No Kizuna" in her car while we were out shopping; I was SO suprised when I found out that Himeka is Canadian! Her voice is beautiful, and I think her pronounciation is so great~ @_@ Similar to her, I also started learning Japanese through singing anime songs when I was in high school. I loved the way the lyrics sounded even though I didn't understand them, so I practiced every day. ^ ^ Doing this really helped my pronounciation when I started studying Japanese in university, and I still love to sing now, especially in Japanese (although I'm learning to sing in Korean and French too). I hope that maybe I can become famous like Himeka some day!

    Thank you so much for sharing about Himeka! She inspires me, and I hope her story inspires others too~

    • kirin June 8, 2011 at 9:24 am #

      Thank you for your first comment at TKE!
      Yes, I think her Japanese pronunciation is so good, especially when she sings.
      I'm sure she inspires people who study Japanese. πŸ˜‰

  11. Verónica June 7, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Hola Kirin!
    That's really great she reached her wish! Her japanese is really good! Envyyy
    And I didn't know you were learning spanish! Ánimo! ^^
    I'm from Spain and going this July to Tokyo to live 3 months (or longer? haha) and to try to learn some japanese at a japanese language school. Deséame suerte! ^^
    If you need any help or I would love if you want to meet any day in Tokyo to have a coffee or tea *^_^*
    Besos!

    • kirin June 8, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Hola Veronica!
      Thank you for your comment. How nice you come to Tokyo and live here for 3 months?! Si, si, vamos a tener intercambio de idiomas en un cafe! Please contact me from the contact form so we can set up a day to see each other!

      Hasta luego.
      ^___^

  12. Nahikari June 17, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    Hola soy una chica española que te sigue desde hace tiempo, nunca habia escrito pero he leido que estas aprendiendo castellano asi que si necesitas alguien que te eche una mano solo tienes que pedirlo πŸ™‚

    Translation just in case πŸ˜€ : Hi im a spanish girl that has been following you for quite a while now, i have read that you are learning spanish so if you need a hand just tell me πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 18, 2011 at 11:55 am #

      Hola Nahikari!
      Gracias por tu comentario y muchas gracias por tu ayuda. No puedo entender todo sin la traducción inglés. jaja…
      Tengo una pregunta. Cuando estaba viendo la drama en español, creo que oído "¿Porque no te preoqupas por ti?". Pero…es correcto? (as it means, "Why don't you worry about yourself?") I mean I thought it was "¿Porque no te preoqupes…?" Sorry for a strange question…When you say "Don't worry" you would say "No te preoqupes" so I wondered why I heard "No te preoqupas" or it was my mistake?

      Lo siento por mi pobre español. ^ ^;;;;;;

      • gabrielmacae July 24, 2011 at 5:52 am #

        Hi, Kirin. It's been 5 weeks, so I don't know whether you have your answer.
        I'm not a Spanish speaker, although I had studied it in the High School for 3 years. And it really looks like Portuguese a lot of times.

        When you say "Don't worry", you'd say "No te preocupes" because that's imperative mood. It's an order.
        When you say "Why don't you worry…", it's indicative mood. It's not an order. Although we do know it's subjectively an order, grammaticaly it isn't.
        I am just asking you why don't you worry about yourself, not giving you an order to worry about yourself. Once more, we do know both of them mean the same thing in this context, but 'grammatically' they're different.

        So…

        Preocuparse: Present tense, indicative mood
        Yo me preocupo
        Tú te preocupas ====> that's what we'll use
        Él se preocupa

        I hope I could be helpful and hadn't said anything wrong. n.n

      • kirin July 25, 2011 at 2:02 am #

        Thank you so much for telling this Gabriel!!!!
        I see, preocupar conjugates the same way as hablar.
        Yo hablo
        Tú hablas
        Él habla

        And "No te preopupes" is someone's ordering someone, and so it's affected by imperative mood style!
        I see, it's clear! I only learn from Spanish speaking dramas and so I don't know much about grammar but I think I get what you mean! So imperative style conjugate as well! I only try to memorize as "Dame un beso" "Sientate" "No te vayas" "Escúchame" "Calmate"…just as they are. I never thought of those verbs were conjugated, but right!

        Obrigado!! Your comment really helped. ^____^

  13. Mekahel June 21, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    Wow, thank you for posting such an inspirational story!
    I love learning other languages, though I have never learned anything from listening to music. I hope one day I can have a career involving the use of different languages.
    I haven't picked up any Japanese from the shows I've watched except the word "But"! I find, for me, native Japanese speakers speak way to fast for me to pick up anything. Same with Spanish. My step-family is all Mexican and so I have picked up a few things but not enough to carry on a conversation, definitely not enough to post comments like you have in response to your Spanish speaking blog readers.
    At the moment I am studying Korean and hope to attend college this fall taking something that has to do with the language. My knowledge of Korean, I'm happy to say, most definitely exceeds any knowledge I have of any other language (except English of course!) I've only been studying it full time for about 6 months but I started watching Korean dramas and movies a year or so before that and was lucky enough to have picked up quite a few things from that. I've actually picked up Korean faster than I thought I would.

    • kirin June 23, 2011 at 5:27 am #

      I hear we have common words between Korean and Japanese. For example, washing machine, "Sentakuki" (but when spoken, it sounds like "Sentakki") is one of them. That's I guess because basically Japanese culture is much influenced by Korean's and China's in its history.

Leave a Reply

