How to make stewed hamburg steak

18 May

Hamburg steak is called “hambaagu” in Japan and is often cooked at home. It’s considered Yoshoku, or western cuisine arranged in Japanese way.

Ingredients for 4-5 people
-hamburger patty
(minced pork 350g, minced beef 150g, egg x 3, mid-sized onion x 2, breadcrumb 4tbs, some milk, grated garlic 1 tsp, salt 0.5tsp, some pepper)
*Minced meat mixed from pork and beef is quite common in Japan.
*Some milk…enough to cover the breadcrumb
-sauce
(water 500cc, ketchup 6tbs, Worcestershire sauce 2tbs, sugar 1tsp, soy sauce 1tsp, bay leaf x 1)

Put the following ingredients into the bowl and knead the dough.
-minced pork and beef
-finely-chopped onion
-egg
-breadcrumb soaked in milk
-grated garlic
-salt and pepper

Make golf ball sized patties, prepare a frying pan with a little cooking oil on and cook both sides of the patties until brown on top.

At the same time (while you do above) put all the ingredients to make the sauce into a deep pot and warm it. (Do not boil but just keep it warm.)

Enter the patties into the pot.

Use aluminum foil as in the below photo to make a drop-lid for simmering and place a lid over a pot while turn the heat high. Once it’s getting boiled, make the heart medium low or low and simmer for 30 minutes. (You can add ketchup if your kids like sweeter taste, for example.)

Done! This is suitable for bento as it tastes good when it’s cold too. I’m sure kids will love it too!! 😀

Hope it’s not too difficult and you like it. ^ ^

11 Responses to “How to make stewed hamburg steak”

  1. Edith May 18, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Ahh, it look delicious. I don't eat meat put I have to say it looks very good. Also I really want to thank you for your blog, I look on it everyday. Your my favorite blogger and I love the Kawaii things. I hope you never stop blogging. ^-^

    • kirin May 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

      Thank you Edith.
      How sweet you are! Haha, I hope I can continue blogging at TKE! You know what? Such sweet comments like yours are my energy that makes me keep blogging. Without them, I may have stopped at some point. So, my readers play an important role!! ^__^

      (I visited your blog and tried to leave my comment but no NAME/URL option so I couldn't. But I found that Japanese school girl book looked interesting!)

      • Edith May 20, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

        Thank you for trying leaving a comment, the book is really great.

  2. winnie May 19, 2011 at 6:36 am #

    Hi kirin,

    I like this !
    Thank you for sharing .
    It look so Yummy.
    My family like Hamburg steak and I like Tofu Hamburg steak.
    🙂

    • kirin May 19, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Hi Winnie,

      Thank you! I love this too!! 🙂

  3. Oreo May 22, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    thanks for sharing this! i've been trying to cook more and can't wait to try this 🙂

    • kirin May 22, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      Yes, please give it a try~~~!
      I hope you like it, too<3

  4. jess May 30, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    Thank you for sharing this recipe. I tried it few days after you posted and my husband and my sons love it. My husband is a Japanese and he prefers to eat Japanese food so he was so happy to eat this stewed hamburg.

    Cheers,
    Jessica

    • kirin May 31, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      I'm very happy to hear my post finally made your husband happy! ^_^

  5. Tom June 2, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Kirin!
    I tried this today and it was amazing. Really really nice! My flatmate who doesn't eat anything with ketchup in ate it all and said he really liked it too! I'll definitely make it again 😀

    • kirin June 3, 2011 at 4:48 am #

      Thank you for your comment!!
      I'm very happy to hear that. ^__^

Leave a Reply

