My first Enzyme Bath in Yokohama

14 May

Have you heard of enzyme bath before?
It’s basically like this. You can get the image from this video.

When the enzyme is blended with medical plants extracts and cypress sawdust and it gets waste material from humans, it ferments and gets warm (50-70 degrees C) naturally. When we lie down and cover our body with the sawdust, we can easily sweat and the enzyme can live with our sweat and wasted materials we leave. I don’t know how hygienic it is when people keep bathing one after another in the same bath, same sawdust…

Anyhow the other day I had a chance to experience an enzyme bath for the first time in my life, thanks to steep discount through Groupon. 🙂 It was a set of 15-minute bathing, facial pack and short body massage with a rental bathrobe and towels included. Their body massage was awful, and I wouldn’t call it a massage but I was more shocked by the smell coming from the enzyme bath.

When I told some people that I was going to have an enzyme bath, nobody referred to the smell. Everyone said “That’s nice, enzyme bath is amazing. We can sweat so much in a short time!” It was only 10-15 minutes and I was just lying down in the warm sawdust but I seemed to sweat well, according to the salon staff. My body was full of the brown sawdust when I was out and I was told I sweated that much (to adhere sawdust all around the body as to cover entire body!) but I didn’t feel I sweated that much. I often feel very sweat and fresh when I finish Ganbanyoku or hot yoga for example. But I didn’t feel so fresh when I finished the enzyme bath.

Actually I had a hard time putting up with the smell for that 10-15 minutes of bathing. Thank goodness it was only 10-15 mites. I would have given up if I had to be there longer than that. I couldn’t stop coughing because I felt as if I was choked and my nose was dying. I have no idea when it was last that I smelled something as terrible as this. It was that bad. Really! I simply wondered why nobody mentioned about this smell. Even after I went back home I could remember it and felt sick. 😦 I wonder how people can come back repeatedly, how people can work there, how they are OK breathing that smell hours and everyday…

I have to conclude myself that enzyme bath is absolutely NOT my taste! But I just liked their enzyme washing powder and so I bought it.

Have you tried enzyme bath before? If you haven’t and may try it one day, remember it does smell terribly! I personally recommend Ganbanyoku more than enzyme bath. BTW, enzyme bath is called “Kousoburo” in Japanese.

14 Responses to “My first Enzyme Bath in Yokohama”

  1. Patty May 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I've never heard of enzyme bath… but by the description of the video, it doesn't seem pleasant… what is the smell like? Is it like mulch?

    • kirin May 15, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      I have no words to describe the smell but…maybe I could say…horse dung? Horse dung mixed with natto? LOL

  2. Steve Stier May 15, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Ha Ha. People will believe the strangest things. You say it smells like horse dung? Mixed with natto? And they bury you in it so you sweat? Sure, sounds like a wonderful time! Thanks for warning us about this. However, I don't think that I would have tried anything like this. Once again Kirin proves that she will do anything for her readers. LOL

    • kirin May 16, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      I like to try something new. ^__^;;
      I've heard about Kousoyoku (enzyme bath) but I never had a chance to explore it by myself for a long time. It's my pleasure to share my unique experiences in Tokyo with my readers. 😉

  3. winnie May 15, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Hi kirin,
    I also have not heard of Enzyme Bath. Oh my…. House dung mixed with natto!! I will vomit.. I can tolerant House dung or Cow dung but NOT Natto!! "fainted"
    Saw the video , it made me feel uneasy.
    But thank you for sharing your experience and the post.
    I learnt new things again! 🙂

    • kirin May 16, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Yes, I felt I could faint or vomit because of the smell. I really wonder how people can keep doing this. But in terms of improving one's health, enzyme bath is very good. Some people even cures atopy by continuing to have an enzyme bath for several years or so.

      There was a middle aged woman in the undressing room who I spoke said she keeps coming to the salon every once a week and by continuing that, her body temperatue has risen to normal one. She used to have 35 something, but now 36 something. That was before I entered the room, I mean before I knew it smelled like that. Thus I didn't even ask how she feels about the smell. ^_^;;

  4. Lore May 16, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    I never heard about that, how can they expect that you relax with that smell? once I went to a spa but the smell of chlorine was so hard that I didn't enjoy the place.

    • kirin May 16, 2011 at 10:49 am #

      Yes, exactly! How can they relax in such a bad smell? I only wished that I could survive in the 15 minutes then. lol It's not something we should do by paying, I thought it's some kind of torture!

  5. Ayu October 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Hi
    I have the Enzyme bath salon at Shinjuku sanchoume St. near the ISETAN department store.
    The salon is OGAKUZUKOUSO (Enzymebath) HELIOS. http://ogakuzu-kouso.com/
    smell??My enzyme is so good and relax. you can get feel better than now!
    Please come

  6. Wiebke January 22, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Sounds like you went to an inferior place. I go every year to “Osmosis” in northern California, USA. They have a cedar enzyme bath that’s amazing and so clean smelling! The place is clean and the staff is wonderful! After the bath you can have a 75 minute massage! Blissful! If you get a chance you should try the bath at Osmosis!

    • kirin January 24, 2012 at 1:29 am #

      Sure, thank you for the information. 🙂

  7. David July 28, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    This is not an enzyme bath. It is more of a sona using heated sawdust. I make my own enzyme bath using my own homemade eyzymes from all types of fruits. I run a tub of very lightly luke warm water and add one liter of enzyme juice then I soak in it for about 30 min to 1 hour. The best effect is when I go in my home sona and then immeditely into the enzyme bath. I can tell you there is hardly no smell and you've never had your body so clean. The health benifits are astounding.

  8. designer furniture February 24, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    This is too much pretty post! By reading this post, I came to know a bit about an enzyme bath story. Hi dude, hope that your sharing would be beneficial for the people who will face just same like you. Thanks!

  9. Send Me Free Stuff May 15, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

    No man, i have not tried enzyme bath yet! But by reading your article about enzyme bath it seems to me that i have to use this horribly and i will try to get some sort of experience like you. So I just want to give thanks for exposing your story and hopefully you will inform more about yourself as well.

Leave a Reply

