Going out with Pi-chan

4 May

If Pi-chan was a very small-sized dog like chihuahua or Yorkshire terrier, I would go out with her more often. She is smaller than average Shih Tzu dog, yet she weighs nearly 4.5kg, which is not light enough to make me feel like taking her out with me for shopping. But sometimes I really need to take her out for shopping, because I want to see how the dog apparel would fit her. When I’m with my husband, I will ask him to carry Pi-chan, but this time he was too busy to go out with me and I had to carry her by myself.

Since spring came, I’ve been concerned about a certain thing. The sunshine is so strong that it might drive Pi-chan develop cataract in the near future if I failed to make her eyes’ exposure to it as minimum as possible. Last winter, I happened to have a short conversation with a Shih Tzu owner who had 2 Shih Tzu dogs. She told me I must protect Pi-chan’s big black eyes from strong sunshine whenever I walk her in spring and summer. Because she didn’t do that with her 1st dog, her 1st Shih Tzu dog suffered from cataract while he was still very young. That’s why she never fails to put a cap on her 2nd Shih Tzu dog on sunny days in spring and summer.

I was not sure how a cap can fit Pi-chan. Thus online shopping was impossible. I needed her to try it. There’s one available at Pet Paradise.

Disclaimer: The photo is quoted from Pet Paradise Rakuten Shop

I could go to one of any Pet Paradise branches, but I chose Grandberry Mall where we are basically allowed to walk around with a leashed dog. That’s easier, I can keep her walking, instead of my carrying her in a bag.

I prepared Pi-chan’s carry bag. Then Pi-chan enered it happily. 🙂


Here’s a photo in a bus, on the way to a Denentoshi line train station. Pi-chan was such a good girl, behaving herself. Did I have to pay a fare for Pi-chan? No. As long as a pet is in a cage (maximum length:70cm, W+D+H= max.90cm, gross weight= max.10kg), most bus and train services in Japan do not charge a fare for your pet, except for JR. If you take JR line, regardless of express, Shinkansen (bullet train) or general ones, you have to buy a “Temawarihin kippu” (personal item ticket) at 270yen for your pet. (The pet ticket cannot be purchased by the ticket vending, you’ll have to talk to a human.) But as for myself, Pi-chan keeps quiet and still in the bag. People will not always notice that I carry a dog, when I cover the meshed window in a train station. To tell you the truth, I’ve never purchased the pet ticket when I take JR line with her. Anyhow that was a basic rule. :p

Here we are at the mall. The mall is connected with the station gate. When we check out the gate, we are entering the mall. It’s in Minami Machida station.

Pi-chan looks around…

and ready to walk! This is why I chose to come this mall. As Pi-chan behaves herself, never makes any noise inside the bag, the time of travelling to the mall is not a big deal to me. It means more that I can walk her inside the mall. 😀

You can see dogs everywhere. ^^

There are 2 pet goods shops. One is JOKER, the other one is PET PARADISE. Unfortunately Joker had neither a cap nor a pair of sunglasses for a dog. Moreover, Pi-chan was shaking in my arms because she was scared of too many strange people and dogs? I don’t know why but she didn’t seem to like that place.

She entered Pet Paradise with no fear. I don’t know where this difference comes from…

However she started to shiver once she was placed in a fitting place. Unfortunately no pictures were allowed to be taken, there’s no photo of Pi-chan’s wearing a cap or a pair of sunglasses there. (This is a sneak photo I took while people were not there.^^) Anyhow it was unfortunate that both of them didn’t fit her. 😦 It’s not the problem of size, but I could see the cap would not stay at the same place if she shakes her head. The sunglasses moved while she walks, and they caught her facial fur inside the glasses (they are like swimming goggles) that may touch her eyes. I didn’t like that. 😦

I saw many people using a pet stroller like this to carry multiple small dogs or one middle sized dog. If I had one more dog, I’d need this and a car to carry everything. But I’ve already decided to have Pi-chan only and give all my attention and love to her while she is alive. 🙂

I’m still wondering what to do against sunlight…Probably I should walk her in the evening after sunset as often as possible. I liked to walk her in a daytime for a change, but if I can protect her eyes, it makes sense to me to do that in the evening. I’m happy to arrange my schedule for her health. 🙂

Have you been out for shopping with your pet? How was that? Was it fun or were you tired? ^ ^;

I’m totally tired. lol

21 Responses to “Going out with Pi-chan”

  1. Los Angeles Movers May 4, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Every pics is looking so awesome. I am really impressed and want to allocate it with some of my buddies 🙂

  2. Cat May 4, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    My dog doesn't like going in the car, or in little bags, but I may try it again….I think he's slighty smaller than your dog. He's a Brussels griffin and his name is Teddy,

    In Japan if you wanted to go on vacation, are you allowed to bring your dog? (Like if you're coming from America.) Would you happen to know a website or some help? I don't even know where to start. I would love to travel to Japan for a long vacation, or live there for a short time, but I wont leave my dog. Would you happen to know how bringing in another dog from another country works?

    ❤ Thanks!!

  3. that girl May 4, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Looks like fun! Your dog sounds like a very well behaved travel companion. 😀

    • kirin May 5, 2011 at 2:33 am #

      Thank you. ^ ^
      Only that I was tired carrying around 4.5kg weight of bag. ^ ^;;

  4. sedonia2 May 4, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    As always, Pi-chan is a delight to look at. My favorite is the picture of her peeking out from inside the bag, almost hidden. 😀

    • kirin May 5, 2011 at 2:35 am #

      Haha, you like that one?! I'm also peeking her from outside. lol

  5. Mutsumi May 4, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Aw, Pi-chan seems to be such a good girl ♥ and she's unbelievable cute!

    I hope you're going to find a suiting cap or sunglasses!

    In Germany we always have to buy children train tickets for dogs…can't believe you have to pay for a pet. They are just sitting at the floor anyway…
    I didn't go to the city with my dog, she was a little to big, haha ♥

    • kirin May 5, 2011 at 2:42 am #

      Thank you Mutsumi.
      Yeah, large dogs cannot travel by train because they may not fit into a carry bag. I think people who have large dogs will travel by car. ^ ^

  6. Tokyochel (rachel) May 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Pi-chan is too cute! She sits so nicely in her little bag. What a good girl! My dog would be running around, trying to play with all the other dogs. Good luck finding her a hat or sunglasses. It sounds like a tough situation.

    • kirin May 5, 2011 at 2:47 am #

      I trained her to stay quiet and still in a bag while she was a little baby, because I wanted to go out with her like this. ^ ^
      But as she is not so light, I don't feel like carrying her around after she grew up. Even while she was a baby, I was always worried if she feels OK inside the bag. As it turned out, I rarely have traveled with her so far. :p

      I guess I will make a cap for her by myself. It'll be tough also, but I met a man who made a cap by himself for his dog. He doesn't have a sewing machine, he is quite a beginner, according to him, but what he made looked like very very professional, people will be happy to buy it if it's on the shelf of a dog goods store.

  7. sanaa May 5, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    Hi dear Kirin,
    Oh! Thanks a lot about theses nice pictures……Wow Pi-Chan look so so so beautiful and cute, GOD bless her to you!^^
    wow so awsome to see all these nice and cute dogs are walking in street with their owners!

    She really looks very friendly and it seems that she has so kind heart, when I see her eyes on pictures i cant touch.

    GOD bless her To you!

    • kirin May 6, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      Hi Sanaa!
      Thank you for your sweet comment!
      Yeah, it's nice to see happy dogs with their owners. I'm glad you liked these pictures.

      Have a nice day. ^_-

  8. lluvia May 5, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    ¡Tu perrita es tan mona! (Your doggy is so cute!) And so obedient 😮
    I find it both solemn and cute when she look at camera ^^
    I can't go shopping with my pets because I have a cat. It's interesting to know more about the little world of Pi-chan and dogs in general.

    • kirin May 6, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

      Gracias lluvia. 🙂
      Ah, right. I've never seen cat owners carrying a cat while they shop. ^ ^; Also I've never seen cats dressed with clothes like dogs are. Pi-chan post appears once in a while, and you can also read old posts from category -> Pi-chan (at the sidebar) if you like. ^ ^

      Thank you for your comment<3

  9. StephanieMvl May 7, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    she is so so so so so so so cute !!!!!!. Es tan linda. A pet stroller? never saw that before, that's a great idea for dogs. Una carreola para mascotas ? no había visto eso antes, esa es una idea genial para los perros

    • kirin May 8, 2011 at 6:37 am #

      Thank you! A pet stroller is a common things here, especially most of us like to keep small dogs. In Japan not many people can have a house with large garden, most of us end up having small dogs instead of a large one.

  10. Steven Stier May 7, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    This is one aspect of living in Japan that I never thought about. In America we just load the dogs in the back of the car or truck and drive to the pet store or park. But using public transportation would complicate things. I do not think that dogs would be allowed on a bus here. But I do not really know this for sure. I love your blog so much because of articles like this one.

    • kirin May 8, 2011 at 6:44 am #

      Thank you Steven. ^ ^
      I must say this is a sort of city life in Japan. If you go to countryside, you will not use public transportation but drive your own car to a pet shop or anything. You may have a large garden where you can let your dog run. But city life in Tokyo and nearby area is completely different. We don't like to drive in Tokyo because we have to have hard time finding a parking space and many stores don't even have a parking lot. Trains and buses run on time every 5-10 minutes, so public transportation is easier and reasonable.

      As for me, I don't even have a car. Bicycle, bus and train carry me everywhere I need to go. ^ ^

  11. Bunnie May 8, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Does Pet Paradise stock Doggles products? They make goggles and caps for dogs and are supposed to be very good quality and fit on dogs. http://www.doggles.com

    • kirin May 8, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

      LOL the sunglasses for a dog are called doggles!? Yes, those are what I'm looking for and this time Pi-chan tried them but didn't fit well. 😦 BTW those large dogs with doggles look so cool! Thanks for sharing, Bunnie. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

