My GROUPON review

28 Apr

I’m a frequent user of Groupon. Have you ever checked Groupon in your area? In my case, I often check Groupon in Tokyo, Kawasaki and Yokohama area. πŸ˜‰ Groupon allows steep discount by gathering certain number of people and let them pay in advance by credit card or paypal or some other online payment services. This discount rate can be more than 50% and this is the most attractive aspect for most of the users. At the same time, shop/hotel/restaurant owners can let people know the simplest fact that they exist in the neighborhood by offering such a big discount through Groupon.

A trial lesson of arranging preserved flowers was one of them. I found it on Groupon. Preserved flowers are often sold at flower shops but they are very expensive. I was delighted to find that I could have one-day lesson at 1980yen (62% off from official price of that school) with everything included.

It was in Kichijoji, Tokyo. The lesson was given by a school named Blanche Neige.
Luckily other 2 people canceled that time, I was an only student who could easily ask the instructor to take my pictures for TKE blog. We enjoyed chatting casually and relaxed. She seemed to be interested in what I am doing with TKE blog. πŸ™‚

First I selected 3 preserved roses and 2 kind of preserved leaves from several different colors. (I was busy choosing mine and completely forgot to take pictures of the colorful flowers and leaves.) Since it was just a 2-hour trial lesson, I was not able to learn how to make preserved flowers. They were already made.

This is a picture that shows when I put ribbons on the surface of the pot by sticking them with a special glue.

I remembered one time when I had a trial lesson of flower arrangement using fresh flowers. That was terrible. I totally messed it up. -_- But this time as I didn’t use water, it was no problem. ^ ^;

This is a picture that shows when I roll a tape around the wire.

It was fun to insert one by one…

I finished it so soon.

I’m pretty much satisfied with what I made! ^_^

These days I’m slowing down my work and having fun by myself. I loved this experience and I hope to come back here to make something more, because it’s less expensive if I make it than I buy it. Moreover making it by myself is so much fun to me. Of course, from next time it’s no longer 1980yen, (Groupon is purchasable only 1 time per coupon.) but considering that the preserved flowers will last for over 3 years, it’s not bad if I had to pay 4000-5000yen for another work. ^ ^;

BTW, it’s said sometimes Groupon ends up with less participants (people who buy the coupon) than aimed. Then discounted coupon is not issued and your money is to be returned. So far some people had uncomfortable experience with them especially who ordered Osechi through Groupon Japan. Because it was so shocking, I believe there are still many people who have negative image against Groupon. But as for me, I totally enjoy it. πŸ˜€ If I have a chance to travel other part of the world where Groupon is also available, I’ll definitely try some from there!

Have you had a nice or terrible Groupon deal in your area? What was it?

16 Responses to “My GROUPON review”

  1. Lore April 28, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I recive mails of groupon everyday, but I never read it, I delete it directly, maybe from now I pay more attention to this mails.
    There in Japan, do you have the mother's day? Here in Spain is an important day, and it is in the next week, exactly the first sunday of may. In every shops has many things that you can gift, and some of this looks like your flowers. They could be a nice present πŸ˜‰

    • kirin April 29, 2011 at 12:20 am #

      Yes, we have Mother's Day in Japan, just like yours. ^ ^
      On Mother's Day, we send carnations and/or some little gifts to a mother. The preserved flower school also offered me one-day lesson of making something with preserved carnations. I'll think about it for next year. ^ ^

  2. Salma April 28, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Wow, so kawaii! I'm so impressed by this, Kirin.
    It's so wonderful when a person finishes making something by himself/herself . You know, as if he/she tastes the fruit of his achievement.
    Keep up the great work πŸ˜‰

    • kirin April 29, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      Thank you Salma!
      I was very happy I didn't screw it. lol

  3. Angel April 28, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Groupon is available in the US. πŸ™‚ I like it, I've gotten some good deals! Your flowers came out so pretty~ ❀

    A friend of mine got a parachute lesson with his girl friend and then when they landed on the ground, he proposed to her! It was cool because he found that deal through Groupon. Otherwise he never would have thought to propose to her while sky diving. πŸ˜›

    • kirin April 29, 2011 at 12:22 am #

      How wonderful! Thank you for sharing that story! That's very cool. πŸ˜‰

  4. Nohema April 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Hi Kirin!

    I was also a frecuent groupon user here in Mexico City up until last december. This year however the coupons they have offered so far haven't interested me so much. Plus the customer service is awful! I recommended them to at least 5 people and I never got any of the free credit they promised to give me, and when I talked to a customer service representative she was very rude!

    Now I'm a big fan of Let's Bonus a similar company based in Spain. They work in a likely fashion but their customer service is so much friendlier! The downside is that their coupons are not so interesting to me (they mostly offer coupons for night shows, night clubs, cosmetic clinics and such). Anyway, if at any time Groupon offers anything I like I would buy it because so far my experience with the businesses that groupon promotes has been great!

    • kirin April 29, 2011 at 12:27 am #

      I didn't know the service you call Let's Bonus. Probably it's not marketed in Japan. But I think the Groupon's customer service should be reviewed when they have to compete with companies like Let's Bonus. So far, I had no problem with Japanese Groupon. It's possible the customer service you talked was just very bad. 😦

  5. Cath April 28, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Yes, Aaron got me a groupon for this year's mother's day. It's a voucher for a swimsuit. I wonder if it's really a present for me, or for himself. πŸ˜‰

    • kirin April 29, 2011 at 12:29 am #

      He is smart, that's a present for you and for himself as well. lol He maybe expecting you to buy a sexy one. hehehe :p

  6. ilovemamegoma April 28, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I like Groupon! I didn't know they had it in Japan. So far I have only bought two. One was for The Body Shop, where I paid $20 and got $45 worth of products. The other is for a local hot spring that I haven't been to yet. There are a lot of deals for restaurants–good for a college student like me who doesn't have very much money but still wants to eat out sometimes!

    I like your flower arrangement. One question, though. What are preserved flowers? Are they real flowers? I would like to try flower arranging sometime. It looks fun.

  7. ichigoichielove April 29, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    I had a good experience with Groupon indirectly! A friend of mine booked a Chinese lunch which we had for only 500 yen (usual probably about 1500 yen, I think?). It was really good! Actually, you can see what it looked like here, hehe http://ichigoichielove.blogspot.com/2010/12/last-
    I think it was a good deal and really great so I'll definitely try it again. So far I haven't found anything I'd really like to try yet, but I'm on the lookout!

    That preserved flower lesson looked really fun!
    As mentioned in the comments already, preserved flowers aren't really that well known "back home".
    I think it's more common to use dried flowers in the West. The first time I ever really noticed preserved flower arrangements was in Japan. πŸ™‚

    • kirin April 30, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      Thank you for telling me preserved flowers are not so well known back home. What a surprise! (0_0)
      I'm glad you had a great Groupon deal already. I'm having a 700yen lunch (discounted from 1700yen) with a friend of mine tomorrow, which is again from Groupon. ^0^

  8. ilovemamegoma April 29, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Ah, I see. I can see how Japan would have developed it most and made it their own technique because of the history of flower arranging.
    The preserved flower technique may be well known in western countries but I have never heard of it before. It may just be me, haha. I like the idea of preserved flowers. Fake flowers don't look very real.

    • kirin April 30, 2011 at 6:15 am #

      It seems it was not just you but preserved flowers are not so well known in Europe, according to below comment from Lisa. ^ ^;

  9. Agriya Groupon clone August 11, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    I am extremely happy that you are a frequent user of Groupon. Groupon is a daily deal website that has centralised market in United states.

Leave a Reply

