Sakura -Chidorigafuchi-

14 Apr

Sakura (Japanese cherry) is so healing. Especially since this year we had 3.11 quake, tsunami and Fukushima nuclear crisis, I think I’m spending a lot more time with viewing Sakura than any other times in my life. After I had Hanami (Japanese word that means viewing cherry blossoms) at Meguro River, I had a chance to visit Chidorigafuchi with my friend Chika who often contributes to TKE with Japanese cuisine pictures.

We walked around the Imperial Palace. I’m quite unfamiliar around there. I felt like I was a foreign tourist or something. lol

Shidarezakura (weeping cherry) is so gracious. I love it. 🙂

We kept walking until we reached Chidorigafuchi. I know this place is famous for Sakura but this was actually the very first time for me to visit there!

There were cherry trees all over the area. How peaceful, lovely and beautiful…

Unfortunately there were not enough benches around.

We spread a plastic sheet on some big rocks and sat down to have bento lunch, from which we could view these Sakura trees. 😀

Ta-da~~ (^w^) Chika and her mom made these for me and herself!

Sun came out finally while we were having lunch.

It was such a lovely day! My heart was full of Sakura’s healing energy and warmth of homemade bento that Chika shared with me. *Thank you, Chika!*

15 Responses to “Sakura -Chidorigafuchi-”

  1. sedonia2 April 14, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    Those sakura are sooo beautiful! And the food looked good too. lol. Thanks for sharing, Kirin. ❤

    • kirin April 15, 2011 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you! I felt so good eating lunch viewing cherry blossoms in a warm spring breeze. ^ ^ Such a simple but peaceful happiness…friend, bento and sakura!

  2. laura April 15, 2011 at 3:07 am #

    I have always been enamored with this tradition. I keep on telling myself that when I finally go to Japan, I have to go during sakura season. These are really beautiful pictures, and your bentos look soooo delicious!

    • kirin April 15, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Oh, please come in Sakura season or autumn that leaves turn red. Summer is too humid and hot to feel comfortable enough without air-con. Winter…maybe OK, but especially if you love nature, spring or autumn should be better. 😉

  3. StephanieMvl April 15, 2011 at 3:17 am #

    Days enjoying nature are awesome and really help to relax.

    Los dias disfrutando de la naturaleza son geniales y realmente ayudan a relajarse 🙂

    • kirin April 15, 2011 at 9:51 am #

      (owo) That one is difficult, haha! Me encantan los dias de hanami. ^ ^
      Muchas gracias para siempre por escribirme en espanol y ingles. Es muy dificil para mi leer tu blog con mucho espanol…no, es todabia no, pero quiero escribir comentario en espanol algun dia. Well…I wish so… ^ ^;

      • StephanieMvl April 15, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

        Yes in the begining is hard, especially because some sentences cannot be translated literally word by word. I feel that way with some languages i wish to learn 😦 , but i know that reading really helps practicing .

        Sí, al principio es difícil, especialmente porque algunas oraciones no se pueden traducir literalmente palabra por palabra. Yo me siento de esa manera con algunos idiomas que desearía aprender :(., pero sé que leer realmente ayuda a practicar.

  4. severine April 15, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    hello,
    i read your blog almost everyday, im addict now. i love all your article. ill may soon send you some pictures for my kawaii entries poss ^^ thank you for this wonderful work
    and iLOOOOVE hanami. you are so lucky to have all this cherry blossoms around you! i have 2 trees in front of my appartement its such a delight

    • kirin April 15, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Thank you severine, you seem to love kawaii, which I can feel from your blog. But I cannot read French. ^ ^;;
      Oh, please join My Kawaii Project!! Yes, I'd love to have your post shared on TKE.

      It's nice to hear many people like Sakura! ^__^

  5. winnie April 15, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Hi kirin,

    they are so beautiful!! Make me feel like dancing under the cherry blossom tree.
    Or drink sake when the petal fell into the cup.
    Then look up onto them and Smile happily…hahahahaa..

    Thank you for sharing so beautiful pictures.

    • kirin April 15, 2011 at 9:56 am #

      Hi Winnie,

      Hope you've also enjoyed Sakura by yourself with your family.
      There are many beautiful Sakura spots in Japan! I know no Japanese people who don't like it. hahaha!! So I can totally understand you feel like dancing under them. ^ ^

  6. Jill Lutz April 15, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Kirin, the Sakura are really breath taking and beautiful!!! The cherry blossoms are so delicate and sweet! Gorgeous pics u took… also ure bento lunch looks yummy! Thanks for sharing this with us all…. I Also hope u are well. ❤

  7. kirin April 16, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    Thank you for your comment, winnie and Jill.
    Somehow sometimes my comments disappear… (*_*)

  8. Sam August 10, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Wow. Those cherry blossoms are breath taking and that lunch looks spectacular. I would love love love to go to Japan.

    • kirin August 11, 2011 at 10:43 am #

      It's only 4 months ago and the weather is so different now. Now it's summer and it's way too hot as nearly 40C. I miss this sakura season. ^ ^;;

Leave a Reply

