How to make Tamagoyaki

12 Apr

Let me introduce you how to make Tamagoyaki, using the dashi you learned in an old post. Tamagoyaki is one of the most popular dishes for bento!!
(Many thanks to Chika, who contributed to these pictures!)

First, prepare 3 eggs, dashi (30cc), soy sauce (1 tsp), sugar (1.5 tbs) and a pinch of salt. If you don’t have dashi, you can use water alternatively.

Mix up above ingredients well.

This is a frying pan especially designed for making Tamagoyaki. (for example 15cm x 18cm) If you have this pan, it definitely makes it easy to make Tamagoyaki but you can of course do without it, with normal frying pan.

Spread a little bit oil and then 1/3 of the mixed egg.

Use chopsticks to roll the heated egg to your side. (You can do it easier if you use a turner or something.)

When you roll it up to your side, move it to the other side again and pour another 1/3 of the mixture of egg. Repeat the same way: roll it to your side.

Here’s a video that shows what it means.

Repeat again until you finish the mixture of egg.

Done!

Cut it into some portions, with 2cm width of each for example.

This is one of the ways to make Tamagoyaki. It’s one of Japanese comfort foods. Some like to make it very sweet. Some like no sweetness. Some like to add Unagi or something inside the Tamagoyaki. It depends on mothers, regions, and preferences…you know. πŸ˜‰

Lastly let me confess that some Japanese people (like me!) end up using Shirodashi to skip making dashi by themselves.

*Disclaimer: Yamasa

Do you like Tamagoyaki?

16 Responses to “How to make Tamagoyaki”

  1. Junko April 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    yummmy! sounds good i will try this.
    how do you like your tamago?
    i had store bought tamago-nigiri
    and it was wayyy to sweeet ;[

    • kirin April 13, 2011 at 6:54 am #

      Some people make tamagoyaki very sweet. It depends on your taste. πŸ˜‰

  2. winnie April 12, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Hi kirin ,

    I tried to make this before. It do not look nice. I want very nice one. Hahahaha
    As I had told you before, i seldom or almost No fried at all. .I used steam and boil or stew to cook the food..
    So my frying skill is very average.
    We do love Tamagoyaki.
    I will do this again using the information you gave.
    Thank you for sharing .

  3. angelichigo April 12, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    I will definitely try this out! LOL @ the last part of the video though

  4. fxgeorges April 13, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Much easier to do this on a special pan. Also, ifο»Ώ I recall correctly, eggs need to be put through the strainer after you mix 'em up. πŸ™‚

    • kirin April 13, 2011 at 7:56 am #

      If you put it through the strainer it'll be better, but I don't think most of us actually do that. When you make steamed egg hotchpotch, you'll have to use strainer, though.

  5. aime April 13, 2011 at 2:22 am #

    It looks really delicious πŸ™‚
    I am going to make this when i get up this morning.
    By the way, when you proclaimed it was "comfort food," do you mean it is the kind of food that will make you gain weight if you prepare it every morning ?

    • kirin April 13, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      Ah, I meant it's one of the very popular home cooking recipes and every mom will make it. Sorry if my English was not correct. ^ ^;

  6. eiuegso April 13, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    yum! It looks so good, but I am kind've intimidated by how neat and easy you've made the whole process look! It'll take a lot of practice for me to get them looking that good… that's for sure! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

    • kirin April 13, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      Thanks! With that special pan, it's not so difficult, haha! ^ ^

  7. Stephanie April 14, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    It looks yummy and easy to do !. Se ve rico y fácil de hacer

    • kirin April 14, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      Thank you so much for writing both in English and Spanish. I like to read simple sentences like this in Spanish because I can only understand a little bit of it. I can only understand "y facil de hacer". haha! poco a poco estoy estudiando espanol.

  8. Apple April 14, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    omgg!! Kirin!! You made this?!?!? It looks PERFECT!!

    I tried making this using normal circular pan but it's so hard to control!

    When I was working in ramen shop last time, my boss taught me to make Dashimaki Tamago with the special pan. He even bought a smaller pan for me to learn! I wish I had that pan now! haha!

    • kirin April 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Actually it's done by my friend Chika, but I can do it if I use the special square pan. When I tried to make it using the normal circular pan, I was not able to make it in a good shape. As you say, it was very hard to control without the special pan. ^ ^;

  9. Apple April 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Oh! And I like my dashimaki tamago sweet and with pink salmon flakes and negi~! ^^ Because yellow, pink and green goes so beautifully together! How about you? πŸ˜€

    • kirin April 14, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      I like simple Tamagoyaki with so-so sweetness, too much sweetness is not my taste. ^ ^;
      But I think your dashimaki tamago will look so beautiful especially in a bento box!

Leave a Reply

