Sakura -Meguro River-

8 Apr

Spring has come!!! (I can finally share Sakura pictures, for those who have been wanting to see them badly!!!)
It’s Sakura (Japanese cherry) season. People go on a cherry blossom viewing and many of us enjoy picnic under cherry trees. We will never be bored of this no matter how many times we repeat it every year.

Look, how fabulous and beautiful! 🙂 Sakura trees are on both sides of the river.

The blossoms were not in full bloom yet as of this day. Ah…6th Apr. I mean.

Ri-chan (Lisa) and me. We can finally meet in Tokyo anytime we like since she moved to Tokyo the other day from Miyazaki. (I was planning to travel to Miyazaki during the winter but I couldn’t make it.)

In the evening, normally the light is on, but now we’ve been saving electricity to avoid blackouts since the 3.11 earthquake and Fukushima crisis…you know. I hear the light is off at the evening this year…it’s kinda sad, but we cannot help it. 😦

Speaking of Sakura, “Someiyoshino” (the ones in above pictures) are the most common type of cherry trees in Japan. I don’t know what the name was for this very pink colored Sakura, but it’s also very pretty.

There were many stalls and street vendors around. But we chose to eat at a cafe later.

We are having good time in Tokyo, but it doesn’t mean we forget about the refugees from the 3.11 quake and tsunami.

We walked from Nakameguro to Daikanyama and settled at Monsoon Cafe.

Lisa had a curry lunch and I had a gapao lunch. With buffet drink, salad, side dishes and sweets, it was 1000yen each. Quite reasonable I think. 😀

After the late lunch we walked Saigoyama park in Daikanyama. It was also very lovely and peaceful…

Then we kept walking till we reached Shibuya. We walked a lot that day, from Nakameguro to Daikanyama and from there to Shibuya where we took purikura together. I’m so clumsy and very slow at playing with purikura machines, I always rely on my friends who do better than I do. ^ ^; *Thank you Ri-chan!* (If you see some dots on the below picture, that will be from my scanner…sorry!)

That was too bright, it looks like I have no eyebrows in spite of their colors! Ri-chan, I’m happy you live close to my area now. We can hang out frequently! Thank you for that day.

23 Responses to “Sakura -Meguro River-”

  1. nao April 8, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    wow! loved all pictures! thank you for sharing. ^^

  2. Sanaa April 8, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Hi, Kirin! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Oh! How it is so nice post!. and How they are so nice pictures!. I love it a lot. Actually! I cant find words to express how these pictures are nice and so beautiful.
    Oh! you used so nice descriptions to describe these pictures.I lived this moment with you. I think all poeple who read this nice post will live this nice moment with you too!
    I like Sakura pictures a lot ,always these kind of flowers look so beautiful. it is something so nice from nature. that it is always so kind with us.it gives us the best of the best.
    I see how Tokyo so nice city. I heard a lot about that japan is so beautiful country.It is really! GOD bless and protect japan!.

    Yes, I see the beautiful nature in Tokyo. and I can see the charm of the nature in japan too. but what I see more the clear message from Tokyo and al whole japan , that we are Steadfast in the face of the earthquake, we will survive . we are strong for al japanese, to see the nice smile on the faces of all our japanese poeple.Japan fights for you all japanese!
    Our heart and prayers with you japan! and tomorrow the best futur will be yours!!~~.I beleive on that!

    Kirin thanks to you a lot dear. and You look so beautifull in your pictures really.God bless you always!
    I really can feel the charm of nature through your nice pictures! Thanks a lot! 🙂 🙂 🙂 .

    Please! Kirin be happy and smile. Tokyo smiles through the spring. because Tokyo wants to see you smile.!!~~

    Take care good!….Have a nice day!!~~

    Sanaa.

    • kirin April 9, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      I'm so happy you can sense Sakura from those pictures. ^ ^
      It was good to see Sakura during such hard time. It's healing and relaxing…
      Thank you always for caring about us and Japan.

      Take care,
      Kirin

      • Sanaa April 9, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

        You are always welcome!
        Actually, always the real beauty touch us a lot, and make our hearts full of love..Thanks about your pictures alot.
        and always the japanese and all the human deserve al the best!~~
        You too please take care good.

        I wish you a very nice sunday with al your family!~~

        Sanaa. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. sedonia2 April 8, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    How absolutely beautiful those flowers are! That must be magical to be amidst the cherry blossoms.

    • kirin April 9, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

      I hope these Sakura photos help inspire your imagination for your work. 😉

      • sedonia2 April 9, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

        Thanks, Kirin. Actually, they already have. That e-book I sent you a few months back, Sudden Bliss, I have a scene where the main character, Koji, goes to Ueno Park during the festival and is watching the people celebrating.

  4. ichigoichielove April 9, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    No, thank *yooooou*! XD I still can't believe how lucky we were with the weather as well as the blossoms! Just perfect!
    And thank you for taking me around Daikanyama and showing the way to Shibuya haha, it's great because I love walking, so it's good to (almost) know the way there. If I have time and the weather's nice I'll probably be doing more walking to Shibuya in the future – that way I can justify eating sweets with my coffee when I go café hunting. 😉
    Looking forward to our plans on Thursday too! 🙂

    • kirin April 9, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      That's so true. Look at the weather these days, it's windy or rainy. That day we went out was perfect weather, even though Sakura was not in full bloom yet.

      Yes, I'll be looking forward to the Thursday. ^___^

  5. Walter April 9, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    wow , you two really look like the latest J-rock stars ^^ Kawaii !
    YOur scanner is dirty ?
    I liked the beauty spot under your left eye on the first picture.
    The cherry and pear trees in my garden are blooming too. Perhaps I'll blog a few photos of the blooms before they disappear.
    Thanks for the nice pictures 🙂

    • kirin April 9, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Haha, I didn't notice until I saw those pictures that my scanner was not clean, but as always I was running out of my time. There were actually more photos I took on that day, but I had no time to upload them and write about them on this post.

  6. Salma April 9, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Very nice Sakura pics, and the blossoms made me recall back the beautiful natural views I saw in Japan when I had been to there 😉
    I wish you, your family and everybody in Japan happy spring ^_^

    • kirin April 11, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      I think it was still good that it's going to be spring and warm. I have no idea how Sakura have been saving our damaged mind from the 3.11 quake and Fukushima threat…

      I'm glad to hear those pics help remind you of some good memories you had in Japan before. 🙂

      • Salma April 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

        I really feel what you and everybody in Japan feel nowadays, and I can't deny my sadness for what happens.
        I hopefully pray and wish everything is going to be better. 🙂

  7. John April 10, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    Thank you, Kirin-san for the beautiful sakura pictures. I hope it's a sign that Japan can move forward after the recent tragic events. がんばれ日本 !

    I'm looking forward to seeing sakura myself early next month when I will be on holiday in Japan and visiting Kakunodate. 🙂

    • kirin April 11, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

      ありがとう!がんばれ日本!!
      I like your message: It's a sign that Japan can move forward after the recent tragic events. I do really hope so!!!
      Thank you so much for your comment, John.
      I hope you have great holiday there. There maybe some aftershocks considering the scale of the 3.11 quake. But I believe Japanese people are always helpful and supportive. This time, many Japanese people died after they saved foreigners/ employees lives.

      • John April 11, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

        Thank you, Kirin. I'm sure I will have a great holiday in Akita-ken – friendly people, beautiful scenery and good food. Just a few of the many pleasures of visiting your country!

      • kirin April 13, 2011 at 8:05 am #

        I really wish Japan should recover from the tragedy and attract more foreign tourists like you as soon as possible. Thank you for having interests in our country. ^ ^

  8. Angel April 10, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    You guys look so cute in your pictures!
    Hee hee.
    I have never seen cherry blossoms in real life. I think I would tear up at the beauty of seeing it in real life.
    I would love to see them one day. ❤

    • kirin April 11, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      Thank you Angel!
      I really hope Japan can recover to be better place, so you can someday visit Japan to explore these beautiful cherry blossoms by yourself. It's really so fantabulous!!! ^___^

  9. Exam Result 2011 April 11, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    wow very beautiful Flowers and nice location. really fantastic this post and colorful recipes. It looks so delicious. amazing your idea .thanks

  10. Frida April 18, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Hi Kirin! These pictures are so beautiful!
    I wish I was there, too!

    • kirin April 19, 2011 at 9:44 am #

      Please visit Japan when everything is settled and we are recovered from everything. Sakura stays there. This is a view I can enjoy every year at Meguro River. I have seen them every year but never get bored at all! ^____^

Leave a Reply

